Thanks, and a revamp

Thanks to everyone for your birthday wishes, they’re much appreciated, and especially to Nikki for the mention in her fff Oct 24 post and Glo for her delightful Just popping in…

New and old logsI wasn’t happy with the small area at top, north-west corner of the plot this year and have been thinking about doing a revamp.  I went to look at it again yesterday morning and ended up doing it.  I’ve now got a new cherry wood log which I’ve placed nearer to the roadway and tidied and dug over the area. The picture on the left shows both new and old logs, the one below after I finished.

Top corner tidied upI will probably grow pot marigolds and sunflowers in this area next year.

Have a good week!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Thanks, and a revamp

  1. menhir1 says:

    What’s the purpose of the log, and in particular, does the cherry wood have any significance? The proposed flower pots sound Gr8! You might find with a few pots and maybe troughs you’ll increase your floral and veg growth. Is it possible to have staggered heights of growing receptacles, like a ladder of them and still grow stuff in the ground, some flora etc low lying, say, under the ladder and in other spaces veg and flower growth with the usual freedom of height?

  2. Flighty says:

    Menhir the log is just a feature, but once it beds in and has grass growing round it will be beneficial to wildlife. There’s no significance to it being cherry wood, I just happened to know that’s what it is. No pots just calendula (common name ‘pot marigolds’!). I like your suggestion though not for the plot, which is too exposed, but it sounds ideal for people with balconies and patios. xx

  3. CJ says:

    It’s a pretty little corner, I particularly like logs as features. It will look lovely with some flowers next summer. Enjoy the rest of the weekend Flighty. CJ xx

  4. I’ve just come back from my veggie garden with enough beans for dinner. My butternuts are still growing strong so I haven’t wanted to dig them up yet. As the weather report is still mild for this time of year I thought I would wait.
    I think it’s good to have a revamp who knows what may come and check out your newly modelled bit.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula you’re still doing well. I’d leave the butternuts until they’re ready or there’s frost forecast.
      It needed doing, and will be left mostly undisturbed. xx

  5. Caro says:

    That corner will look lovely and colourful next year when planted up with flowers. I see you’ve already got a poppy growing there and some nasturtiums, both self seeders, so you’re off to a good start already! I’ve been thinking of revamping the veg patch here; I have to stretch across some of the beds and would find it easier to have three lines of beds rather than the two I have now. Unfortunately this means digging up a concrete path … 😦 so is unlikely to happen anytime soon! Have a good week, Flighty. Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I sure hope as it’s been a bit of a nothing much corner the last couple of years. The nasturtium will self-seed and the oriental poppy, being a perennial will regrow each year.
      I think your revamp will be a bit more major than mine, but any digging up concrete paths should now be left to the spring!
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  6. Jo says:

    It’s amazing how a log will attract all manner of wildlife. I couldn’t believe I’d got a little newt living under a small log I placed at the side of my tiny pond in the garden.

  7. elaine says:

    I think you always feel better sorting out an area which is bothering you. Hope it does well for you next year.

  8. snowbird says:

    It’s always a good feeling to deal with a patch that is becoming annoying. I like the sound of next year’s plans. It’s surprising how a log can attract so many critters isn’t it, I love seeing them rotting down.xxx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    I loved Glo’s poem — so was it beans or cake for your birthday? 🙂 Tidying up an area and a revamp sounds like just the thing. Glad it wasn’t a bigger job than that!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki me too – both of course! I have to say that I was going to leave it to the spring but glad that I did it now. Had it been a bigger job it would have been left until then. xx

  10. A lovely revamp Flighty. Looking forward to seeing it full of blooms next year 🙂 .

  11. Lady Prism says:

    Marigold…they’re going to be pretty!

  12. Oh, I can almost see your newly revamped corner as it will be next year Flighty, packed with flowers, lovely, and how satisfying to have got that done before the weather wakes up to the fact that it is mid autumn, nearly winter now…

Leave a Reply

