It’s late October…

Butterfly 'Red Admiral'but this morning was sunny and warm, and it was wonderful to see a Red Admiral butterfly fluttering round. I don’t appear to have photographed one on the plot, and this one was taken elsewhere on the site in June 2012.

Bamboo canesI sorted out the bamboo canes, tied them up then stood the six and eight foot ones next to the shed.  I often see a robin perched at the top of these looking round and singing away.

Although it’s been wet and windy some days there’s been no frosts so the nasturtiums are still doing brilliantly.

Nasturtiums in late October

As I’ve mentioned previously I buy most of my vegetable, and some flower, seeds from MoreVeg as they sell them in small quantities, which is ideal for me.  Earlier this week I enjoyed reading this blog post all about them.

Lastly don’t tell anyone but tomorrow I’ll be a year older.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to It’s late October…

  1. Thank you for including the link, Flighty. Have a good birthday.

  2. Mark Willis says:

    Many happy returns of tomorrow! Thanks for the tip about where to buy seeds in small quantities. Should be ideal for me. I’ll see what they have to offer.

  3. Caro says:

    I saw Helen’s post about More Veg – interesting to see the face behind the business! I’m all for promoting small family run businesses, I think it helps us all in the long run. Happy birthday for tomorrow, Flighty – hope it’s good one, Caro xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    Happier One Year On! Splendid Wishes 2 Uuuuuu!!
    As I read your post the first thought that came to mind was your steadfastness in writing with regularity.
    A wee flashback in our communications suggests, (only suggests mind you) that you may have posted a Red Admiral pic much earlier this year, about April – May time?

    Your nasturtiums are bonny. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks! I started this blog in May 2007 and have posted just about every Thursday and Sunday since then, this being the 893rd one!
      You may well be right, I will have another look to see if I did.
      They sure are. xx

  5. Jo says:

    Those nasturtiums are looking splendid still and how lovely to spot a Red Admiral, I can’t remember the last time I saw one. Happy Birthday for tomorrow, I hope you have a wonderful day.

  6. Doris Potter says:

    Dear Flighty, I love your butterfly and nasturtiums and wish you a very happy birthday for tomorrow. Enjoy your day! 🙂
    Doris xxx

  7. CJ says:

    Happy birthday for tomorrow Flighty, I hope you have a lovely day. I’m an October birthday too. I pulled out some canes today in the garden, and took out some annuals that have been flowering all summer. I have one neat and tidy and empty bed now, ready for the next thing. Your nasturtiums are still going strong though, they look amazing. CJ xx

  8. Your nasturtiums are looking great, mine are a little tired looking now but, still alive for the time of year. Happy birthday for tomorrow! x

  9. Chloris says:

    I have had so many red admirals this year. They feed on the rotting fruit that I have left lying around so untidily.
    Happy Birthday! I hope you get balloons, fireworks, a cake with candles and all nice things.

  10. Glo says:

    Hope you have a very Happy Birthday, Flighty ~ Did you count all of your beans? Wonder if there were as many of them as there would be birthday candles on your cake 😉 I’ve left you something on my blog!

    Lovely nasturtiums by the way, and if you think of carrying on your alphabet posts, your Q could be some of the questions you’ve received re your plotting and planting … just a thought.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo many thanks. Not yet! I’m sure there are. So I see, and thanks again.
      They’ve really done well this year. I’m determined to resume the Plot A to Z soon, and finally reach Z before I start plotting again in earnest next spring. xx

  11. nikkipolani says:

    Welllll, your secret’s safe with us. At least until tomorrow! Lovely shot of the admiral and three cheers to nasturtium colors!

  12. elaine says:

    Happy birthday – doesn’t the year go fast – hope the weather stays fine so you can do a bit of plotting – I did spot a butterfly yesterday but it was going by so fast I couldn’t spot what it was.

  13. oanh says:

    Happy birthday, Flighty! Your nasturtiums are looking wonderful. I’ve ripped all mine out to start planting tomatoes where they were, but before my seedlings have got big enough, some little nasturtiums have popped up! I’ll let them stay so long as they don’t choke out my tomatoes! And your bamboo canes are very inspirationally neat!

    • Flighty says:

      Oanh hello, and thanks. Most of my nasturtiums are self-seeded. Rather have too many seedlings than too few, they’re easy to pull up if unwanted. There are about 70 canes which only take up square foot or so of space. xx

  14. snowbird says:

    How lovely to still have butterflies around, and good that they still have food on your plot!
    Wishing you a wonderful birthday Flighty, now you have a drink, or a hot cuppa on me! xxxx

  15. Happppeeeeee birthday Flighty. xx

  16. Carrie says:

    Very best wishes for your happy birthday xxx

  17. Barbara H. says:

    Stopping by from nikkipolani’s to say Happy Birthday!

  18. Oh I’ll have to check out the MoreVeg website before I place my order with the allotment 🙂 everything is looking fantastic xx

Leave a Reply

