Twinkling stars…

is the name I give to the third variety of Michaelmas daisies that I have on the plot.  It’s proper name is aster pringlei Monte Cassino.  It’s compact, about a metre high and has masses of small white, yellow centred flowers and tiny leaves.

Twinkling stars - 1 Twinkling stars - 2

It’s the last plant to flower on the plot but it’s well worth the wait as it’s definitely a Flighty’s favourite.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
Aside | This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Twinkling stars…

  1. A very beautiful plant, I can see why you call it ‘Twinkling Stars’ as it reminds me of a firework, a mass of tiny white stars, twinkling together. I like the compact shape very much, one for me to look out for I think.

  2. Jo says:

    A very appropriate name for such a beautiful plant.

  3. They are lovely, me and mum were admiring some in a front garden today. I’ll let mum know what they are called! 🙂

  4. Caro says:

    Ooh, I love these! These sparklers are my favourite of your favourites, definitely one to add to the wishlist. All that rain we’ve had has obviously done them some good! Have a lovely weekend, Flighty, warm temperatures forecast so I’m hopeful of some garden tidying down here. caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Caro good for you. Them and various other plants seem to have appreciated the rain. Thanks, you too. Warm but windy by the look of it. Happy gardening. xx

  5. snowbird says:

    How dainty and beautiful! I love them and think your name suits them perfectly!xxx

  6. menhir1 says:

    They twinkle alright. Their official label does not do the flowers justice. What a lovely flourishing finale to the flowering year on the plot. xx

  7. CJ says:

    It’s beautiful, a mass of twinkling stars indeed, and so lovely to see them shining at this time of year, when everything else is fading. CJ xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Being white and adorably twinkly, I can see why they’re your favorites!

  9. Doris Potter says:

    So beautiful … and I love your name for them. It fits perfectly!

  10. Alison says:

    Anything with mass flowers are my favourite! I am trying hard not to get more flowers from the nursery before I can do up the soil. Alas, I succumb and got myself a pot of osteopernum. Why do flower names have to be so hard to pronounce? 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Alison good for you, I like lots of small flowers like this as well. We all do that when we go garden nurseries. Osteopermums are South African daisies, and lovely flowers. I agree that many are real tongue twisters to pronounce. xx

  11. That’s a real beauty Flighty, all the more so for flowering so late in the year.

  12. Kif says:

    asters make me so happy!

Leave a Reply

