Flowers, seeds and blogs

The weather was rather unsettled last week but it was sunny a couple of mornings so I did do some plotting and pottering. It looks like the coming week will be much the same.

The second of my Michaelmas daisies, aster novi-belgii Lady in Blue, has now flowered. It’s small being no taller than knee height with the flowers being a rather vibrant colour.

Aster novi-belgii 'Lady in Blue'A couple of weeks ago Jo over on her blog The Good Life did a giveaway and last Tuesday I was pleased to find out that I was one of the winners.  As you can see it was for a packet of cucumber Mini Munch F1 hybrid seeds which I received a few days later along with a lovely smiley card.

Jo's card & cucumber seedsI hope that I do as well them next year as Jo has done the past couple of years.

I’ve not done a post over on my Sofa flying blog since the end of June, my excuse being that I’m now doing a regular monthly guest blog post for Living Paintings, the wonderful charity that I support.  I’m thinking about making a few minor changes on both my blogs, also how often and when I post.  I’ll let you know as and when I decide what to do.

Have a good week!

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Flowers, seeds and blogs

  1. Jo says:

    I love that Michaelmas daisy, it’s a gorgeous colour. Glad you liked the card and I hope the seeds do well for you. I’ve grown them both in the greenhouse and outdoors and they’ve both done well so I hope you have the same experience with them.

  2. Mark Willis says:

    Congratulations on winning the Giveaway! I’m sure that if Jo recommends those cucumbers they are bound to be good.

  3. CJ says:

    What a lovely colour to that Michaelmas daisy. I didn’t know what they were until you posted about them last year, now I always notice them. I didn’t visit the plot at all last week because of the rain. I did make a long list of the things that need to be done there though! I shall wait to see what blog changes you make. Well done on the giveaway win, they sound like great little cucumbers. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it’s certainly bright. They’re seem to be everywhere at this time of yea. That’s a shame but it was a pretty miserable week, and this week looks like being the same. it’s always a long list isn’t it. The blog changes won’t be anything major. Thanks, they do don’t they. xx

  4. snowbird says:

    Your daisy is a lovely colour! Yay! It’s always good to be a winner, I had them last year from Jo and they really performed well!xxx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Wow, those daisies are a happy punch of color! Enjoy your winnings 🙂

  6. Ooh, always good to win seeds, so full of hope and promise! I love the colour of that aster…

  7. VP says:

    Well done on the guest blogging front 🙂 I hadn’t heard of the charity Living Paintings until I saw their logo on your blog a while back. I must mention them to the company I blog for as it’s all about their staff’s efforts to support various charities. I’m always on the lookout for new charities to feature during the quieter fundraising periods.

    • Flighty says:

      VP thanks. I’m not surprised as they are a small charity but are such a good cause to support. Please do that as any such support will be most welcome and much appreciated. xx

  8. Oh I so want to grow Michaelmas daisies. I planted some last year but the slugs ate them so I need to plant it somewhere else. Well done on your winning. Have a great day.

  9. elaine says:

    Those flowers certainly add a bit of colour at this time of year.

Leave a Reply

