Tree following – October 2014

Green leaves and yellow stems on the willowAs yet the willow tree leaves show little sign of changing colour.  What is noticeable is how well the thin yellow branches show up, almost like veins, against the green leaves.

Over the past couple of weeks I’ve seen a surprising number of birds on the willow.  There have been crows, feral and wood pigeons, magpies, starlings, a robin, a couple of blue tits and a handful of goldfinches.  Some people don’t think much of starlings but close up you can see just how colourful their markings are, as shown in this terrific photo by Sunny Day Photography.

The willow tree early October 2014

Links for other tree followers posts can be found over on Lucy’s Loose and Leafy blog.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Tree following – October 2014

  1. Joanne says:

    I quite like Starlings but they can be a bully at the bird table. We have a large number of them here & quite often see ‘murmerations’ around about this time of year.

  2. Jo says:

    I think the warm September has helped the trees hang on to their green leaves a little longer this year. We get lots of starlings in the garden when I hang out a suet block, they go mad for it.

  3. We get them in my garden too. Fighting with everyone and themselves. We have what my husband calls the gang of ten, well there’s more than ten, but they are sparrows. Cat quite often eats one. Sometimes I feel as though by feeding them, she is used them as a snack between meals 😦

  4. VP says:

    Yes, my followed tree is hanging onto its leaves too. It’s all rather strange as trees elsewhere on the estate were showing signs of drought stress all through September and dropped lots of brown crispy leaves. I had to sweep our front drive in early September – the earliest I’ve started to clear leaves since we moved here 15 years ago.

  5. CJ says:

    We’re big fans of starlings here too, and they’re amazing in their murmurations. A couple of years ago we could see them every evening from the upstairs windows. Utterly mesmerising. I do hope they return. CJ xx

  6. Hollis says:

    That is such a spectacular tree … the canopy … I’m curious to see it when the leaves have turned.

  7. wellywoman says:

    We’ve just come back from Scotland and the trees have started to turn up there but the trees are still quite green here. Apart from the stormy weather this week and the shorter days it still doesn’t feel like autumn. I love starlings. They sit on the telegraph wires above the back garden chattering to each other. I so agree about their markings, they are very beautiful little birds. Have a lovely weekend. x

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Wow, I had no idea starlings look like that! And glad to know the birds are having a good time in the willow tree.

  9. elaine says:

    Magnificent – ours is getting to that size – which is just a bit too big for the garden – we are having it pollarded, very soon.

  10. snowbird says:

    How thick and bushy it still looks and as you say no sign of those leaves changing colour. The starling pic is wonderful, reminds me of our tame little starling at the rescue, it has it’s adult plumage now and looks just like your pic. I love the colours on their feathers when the light bounces off them.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I’m sure that it won’t be long before the leaves do start changing colour. Starlings plumage, both the colours and markings, is quite amazing when looked at closely. xx

  11. I rather like starlings, I enjoy their chattering and the way they travel in such large flocks. Willow stems can be so very beautiful, particularly against a deep blue winter sky. I look forward to seeing next month’s post, I wonder if there will be a riot of colour, or if all the leaves will have dropped by then?

  12. Chloris says:

    Your tree is lovely but not very autumnal yet. I envy you the starlings, we used to have loads but they have all disappeared from here. I wonder why.

  13. Lucy Corrander says:

    I wonder what the weight of fallen leaves would be if it were possible to measure. Pretty hefty I would guess.

    • Flighty says:

      Lucy probably not as much as you think, and it also depends on if they’re dry or wet. I would like to collect them for leaf mould but they blow everywhere sadly. xx

Leave a Reply

