Autumn delights

I’m still picking lots of climbing beans – two varieties of runners, St George and one unknown,  Borlotti beans and an unknown variety of French bean –  from the green wall.

A wall of climbing beans   Climbing beans

The last sweet corn cobI’ve still been picking, and enjoying eating, a sweet corn cob most days but sadly this one today was the last one.

I did this guest blog post over on Living Paintings last week all about this impressive to grow, and delicious to eat, vegetable.

 

This morning I noticed this strawberry flower,  the still flowering dwarf white lavender and one nerine bowdenii flower.

Strawberry flower    Flowering white lavender   Nerine bowdenii

The first of my three Michaelmas daisies, an aster novi-belgii, began flowering early last week and this morning looked like this.

Michaelmas daisies

It looks like it’ll be dry and relatively warm throughout the coming week so I’ll be making the most of it doing plenty of autumn plotting.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Autumn delights

  1. Jo says:

    It’s lovely to have some good weather this late in the season. I’ve grown St George runner beans too and I’m still picking them, they’ve done really well so I’ll be growing the same variety again next year. Your corn has done really well for you, I shall pop over and have a read of your guest post now.

  2. lizard100 says:

    I also have unknown bean varieties. Your green wall looks fantastic.

  3. Mark Willis says:

    The Michaelmas Daisies are in full flower along the verges of the M25 at present. We were debating the definition of the word “weed” as we travelled, because the flowers looked so nice in the sunshine that even though they had almost certainly not been deliberately planted, they looked as if they might have been.

  4. Caro says:

    Sounds like sweet corn will be on your growing list for next year as you’ve enjoyed this year’s crop! I hope to get some gardening done at the end of the week so could do with this lovely weather lasting a bit longer. I’ve been down to the Hampshire coast this weekend, driving through the Meon Valley, and noticed both lots of asters and berry laden shrubs with one or two trees starting to turn red. Autumn is definitely on its way!

  5. menhir1 says:

    There seems to be a great extra bit of growing time which you are well and truly able to take advantage of. I’ve just picked the last of our radishes; the many varieties of salad leaves are vigorous and edible. It adds to the pleasure of growing, doesn’t it. 🙂

    xx

  6. pianolearner says:

    Wellywoman picked a ripe strawberry fruit today!

  7. Patrick says:

    Enjoyed your post and eager for autumn to go at full speed. That’s the first michaelmas I’ve seen this season. Can’t wait to see the real thing.

    • Flighty says:

      Patrick hello and thanks. Much as I like autumn I’d like it to linger as I’m not so keen on winter. It’s one of the first aster varieties to flower here. Good for you, I hope that you enjoy it. Cheers.

  8. Joanne says:

    I cant remember what variety of beans I grew this year but they are very nearly over. A few to pick hopefully later on this week & then they will be cut down on Sunday. I still have alpine strawberries & flowers. October is meant to be nice though I always think the first two weeks are. Have a pleasant plotting week.

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne I will leave mine standing for a while, then pick them all before composting the plants and putting away the canes. Lucky you, enjoy. I hope that it is. Thanks. xx

  9. Julie says:

    I have some strawberries in flower too.. in fact whilst weeding, before my back problem, I was picking some ripe ones as I found them and very nice they were too!.. I love Michaelmas daisies I really must grow some… especially for my lovely pollinator friends :o) x

  10. Chloris says:

    I have grown borlotti beans this year but I have been disappointed that the plants didn’ t produce more beans. Did yours crop heavily?

  11. CJ says:

    Well done for still have beans to pick. Mine are long gone. It’s a bittersweet moment to get to the end of the sweetcorn. It’s been a bit like that here with the tomatoes. Hardly any left now, and they are taking a long time to ripen. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I’m surprised as I haven’t been watering them much in recent weeks. It sure is. I’ve got two small red tomatoes left. Lucky to have any this late, and I’m not surprised. xx

  12. Glo says:

    I guess you’re still full of beans, Flighty! Such a bright summer with many vegetables and flowers. Hope the autumn weather continues to invite you to the plot. It’s been a dry and warm summer here, and we are thankful for some rain on and off now. Pot marigolds continue to bloom!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I am indeed! It’s been a surprisingly good year. I hope so too as there’s always things to do. It sounds like you’ve had a really good summer as well. That’s nice to know. xx

  13. nikkipolani says:

    What a colorful post, full of autumnal delights indeed. Like Glo, I’ve got a few pot marigolds still blooming, too 🙂

  14. elaine says:

    My beans finished ages ago and have now been taken down. I was never sure what to do with borlottis do you just eat the seed inside or the whole pod. It has been an amazing September hasn’t it.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine that’s a shame. You can use borlotti beans either way, if you want just the beans then leave them as long as you can before picking. It sure has, the driest on record by the look of it. xx

  15. Nice harvest Flighty, although the lastsweetcorn cob is always a sad moment. I’ve had a good year for beans too, though most have slowed right down now, but the dwarf French beans are still going strong. What variety of sweetcorn do you grow?

    • Flighty says:

      Janet sorry for the delay in replying! Thanks, and yes it is. I’m still picking a few beans.
      I grew Swift this year, but will probably try Seville next year. xx

  16. Carrie says:

    Lovely post Flighty, as always. So glad you have had a long harvesting season and things have gone so well. I love Michaelmas daisies that colour looks so beautiful in the autumnal light. Of course the last of the sweetcorn is always a sad time but I do so love eating seasonally and truly appreciating these windows. Love and hugs xx

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie sorry for the delay in replying. Thanks, that’s nice to know. It’s been most welcome, and a bit surprising as well. Me too, and I’m sure it does. I agree with what you say about eating seasonally. Thanks again. xx

  17. wellywoman says:

    I’ve had a few strawberries appear but the slugs have nobbled them before I’ve got to them. To be honest they never taste very nice at this time of year. Not enough warmth to sweeten them. You’ve had a fantastic crop of sweetcorn. Hopefully one year I’ll manage to grow it successfully. xx

Leave a Reply

