Autumn contrasts

With continuing good weather there’s still plenty to enjoy looking at on the plot such as these pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites

Yellow pot marigold    Orange pot marigold    'Cream' pot mariold

The leaves on the dogwood (cornus siberica) are turning red but it’s also showing new flower buds!

Red dogwood leaves   New flower buds on the dogwood

The teasel leaves and seed heads are certainly looking very autumnal.

Autumn teasel

Lastly these are plot neighbour Fran’s sunflowers photographed this morning. I especially like the lemon yellow one and, with her kind permission, will be saving seed for next year.

Fran's sunflowers

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Autumn contrasts

  1. Jo says:

    Your pot marigolds always do so well. I’ve still got a few flowers on my Flighty’s Favourites too. I love that lemon sunflower, it’s not as brash as it’s bright yellow cousins.

  2. Joanne says:

    My marigolds are almost finished for this year but the odd one throws up the odd surprising flower. The lemon sunflower is very pretty, I hope the seeds do well for you next year.

  3. Summer is hanging on in there isn’t it. I love that lemon sunflower, lucky you getting some seeds for next year. I’m sure it will look wonderful on your plot. Have a great weekend x

  4. Kif says:

    love seeing some of the dried seedheads at this time of year!

  5. Doris Potter says:

    Terrific photos! I especially like the perspective in the sunflower one.

  6. menhir1 says:

    …”It might as well be Spring” according to the lines of a Spring Sprung song!

  7. lizard100 says:

    The teasels are lovely. The lemon sunflowers are unusual too. We had some that were almost black.

  8. Lucy Corrander says:

    Hadn’t realised sunflowers flower so late. (Began with ‘sinflowers’. Enjoyed the mistake before I rectified it.)

  9. Julie says:

    I love all the shades, patterns and colourings the pot marigolds throw out…. we had some lemon sunflowers too… most attractive :o) xx

  10. That lemon yellow sunflower is a beauty, as are your marigolds, as ever. One of my dogwoods is in full flower too, I think its confused by the cold August followed by a warm September.

  11. elaine says:

    My marigolds seem to have disappeared – must remember to save some seed for next year. I love lemon sunflowers too that picture of them in the sun is lovely.

  12. Caro says:

    Like Elaine, my marigolds are finished and seed saved. I grew a short deep red sunflower this year (must try and get a photo of it!) but it’s too dark and barely gets noticed. I have seeds for lemon yellow sunflowers and think I’ll give those a go next year. Funny to be thinking about next year when this one isn’t finished yet!

  13. Carrie says:

    What a lovely post xxxx

  14. CJ says:

    My marigolds are finished too. Those sunflowers are fantastic. I think my neighbour has a dogwood in his front garden that’s just appeared, it looks very similar to the green leaves. Have a good weekend Flighty. CJ xx

  15. nikkipolani says:

    That’s rather surprising that the dogwood’s finishing up and starting something new at the same time! Yes, those lemony sunflowers would be a lovely addition to your plot. Happy weekend!

  16. snowbird says:

    Autumn is certainly there in these pics, how lovely to see the dogwood about to flower, I hope mine do! Gorgeous marigolds and a lovely pic of the sunflowers.xxx

  17. Very much the colours of Autumn, Flighty. I’ve always wanted marigolds to spread around my garden happily seeding themselves the same with snapdragons of my childhood, but somehow they never do when you want them too. I shall try again next year. Great pictures.

  18. wellywoman says:

    That’s such a pretty sunflower – it’s very similar to Vanilla Ice. We’ve had a good summer and autumn. My plot needs quite a lot of attention but I’ve been loathe to pull out plants which are still sending out flowers. It’s such a treat to be able to pick flowers at this time of year. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ it sure is and I now have one of the flower heads for seeds. We have indeed. I’m lucky in that I’ve done just about all I can, but like you haven’t pulled up plants still flowering. It certainly is. xx

Leave a Reply

