Autumn plotting

This morning started off breezy, cool and sunny which is ideal plotting weather for me. At 9.00 am I was the only person on the site and no-one else appeared until well after 11.00 am. I cut much of the grass around the edges where it had grown a bit long.  It was only a rough cut using a pair of hand shears.  Any further trimming that’s needed I’ll do during the week in stages when I’m tidying and weeding an area.

As I worked I pondered on what I’d like to get done during the next month or so, and also what I’m hoping to grow, and where, next year.  I stopped to enjoy a mug of water and a handful of grapes.

BorageGenistaThere was some overnight rain on Thursday and Friday which was welcome. Borage, California poppies, cosmos, the genista, nasturtiums, pot marigolds and the rose Pretty Lady are still flowering.

The first of the asters is just starting to flower.  I was also surprised to see that some love-in-mist has grown and has buds.

Love-in-a-mist

I picked some French and runner beans, a sweet corn cob and blackberries to take home. I’ve been pleased, and relieved, that the squirrels haven’t touched the sweet corn and I’ve been enjoying one every day for at least the past two weeks.

Cooler mornings, darker evenings and leaves starting to change colour then drop are a sure sign that the seasons are changing.  It also means that it won’t be too long before autumn plotting gives way to armchair gardening.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Autumn plotting

  1. menhir1 says:

    There’s a lovely, comfortable repetition of events creeping through the posts over time, rather like the inevitable arrival of the seasons. Like them,what you tell us varies somewhat, according to what the seasons will bring and give to your harvest. Dare I say it, I feel it reflects the personality that is producing the gifts of Mother Nature.
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks for this lovely comment. Over the years I’ve become aware of repetition and do my best to try and avoid it in posts, but of course it really is unavoidable. xx

  2. Jo says:

    Evening is my favourite plotting time, but whatever time of day, it’s so peaceful when you’re alone on the site, listening to the birdsong whilst getting the jobs done. It sounds like your corn has done well this year, I’m also still picking plenty of beans, they’ve done very well despite the slugs devouring the first plants I put out.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo whenever we plot it’s time we savour. The sweet corn has been excellent, much to my surprise. Thank goodness that we got to harvest beans despite the slugs and snails. xx

  3. snowbird says:

    Ah yes….autumn is creeping in for sure! I bet it’s wonderful being alone on the plot like that, just you, your delightful plants and the sound of the birds. You’ve certainly had a good harvest this year!xxx

  4. CJ says:

    I think I need to get to grips with the grass edges on my plot tomorrow. It’s a good time of year to plan for next year I think, while this year’s triumphs and failures are still fresh in the mind. I shan’t say no to a little winter rest though. CJ xx

  5. elaine says:

    Sounds like you have had a pretty good year on the plot all things considered – plenty of plans to be made for next year. I have a pile of books ready and waiting for a bit of sofa flying.

  6. Chloris says:

    It is a lovely time of the year to be working in the garden. I like the autumn clear up.
    Great that you are still enjoying sweet corn. You must have grown plenty.

  7. Julie says:

    Chilly this morning.. autumnal indeed. Always lots to do isn’t there and of course the planning for next year.. roll on Spring ;o) xx

  8. Joanne says:

    It has been a little chillier in the mornings hasn’t it, I always find it rather pleasant to do a little on the plot in the evenings. Have a good week.

  9. Damo says:

    Evenings just before sundown is my favourite time lovely and quiet. Certainly much colder over the last few days.

  10. I found one very large butternut hiding on my plants on Sunday which my husband and I enjoyed. I had four plants which spread all over the garden. I found lots of small ones which I kept picking as they were enough of just the two of us. My toms are just on the turn and are now sitting on the kitchen window. There are lots of flowers about in the rest of the garden to see, but the leaves on my silver birch are on the change as the edges start to yellow. I hope the weather doesn’t change too quickly as I hope to have some red toms in the garden soon.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula it sounds like you did well with the butternuts. I think that yellowing leaves is as much to do with a lack of water as the time of year. Fingers crossed that the weather stays good for a while allowing your your tomatoes will ripen. xx

  11. nikkipolani says:

    Aaaaaaah. Just the sound of a breezy autumnal day sounds heavenly. And a second round of nigellas? Wonderful!

  12. wellywoman says:

    It is that time of year when we start thinking about what we want to do next year isn’t it? We finally had some rain last night – it has been very dry here for weeks. It’s noticeably colder on a morning and evening but the sun is still surprisingly warm. It’s being lovely to have this Indian summer.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly it sure is, I’ve already done a much changed provisional list. It rained here last night as well. I don’t mind cooler mornings and evenings if the days are as good as they have been. I agree. xx

  13. I love that process of pondering what to grow where next year. And thank you for reminding me that I really need to get on and sow my nigella.

  14. Caro says:

    How lovely to have two hours of solitude on the plot! Quiet contemplation is one of the great joys of gardening, although a little bit of company from time to time is also appreciated. It’s been such a good summer (for insects as well as plants) that everything is still growing here – my rhubarb leaves have doubled in size!

Leave a Reply

