Plotting as usual

Jake sittingI spent most mornings last week plotting as usual. Jake, who plot neighbour John looks after most weekdays,  often surprises me as he pads up from behind to sit down by my feet waiting to be petted.

Sweetcorn cobI’ve been picking and eating sweetcorn cobs for well over a week now, and much to my relief the squirrels haven’t touched them so far even though I saw one scampering off the plot as I arrived one morning.  I didn’t think that the first one I picked was ripe but it was and checked that this variety is pale yellow rather than golden.

Unknown squashI’m wondering when this squash will be ready to harvest, and how I tell as I’ve never grown any before. I’m also wondering what I’m going to do with it.

I noticed towards the end of the week that the tomato plants were showing signs of blight so this morning I stripped them of any good fruit, then pulled the plants up and dug over the cleared ground.  After a  slow start they did very well.

The grapes are ripening, changing colour from green to purple, but a lot of them do have split skins.  I’m still picking beans –  borlotti, climbing and dwarf French, and runner.

Red nasturtiumColour is being provided by still flowering cosmos, pot marigolds and especially the nasturtiums including dark red, lemon yellow, marmalade, orange, red and yellow flowers.

The forecast is for dry, warm weather next week so hopefully I will be spending most mornings plotting as usual.

 Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Plotting as usual

  1. Jo says:

    Your sweetcorn looks fabulous, so well pollinated right up to the ends. I haven’t grown any this year, though I’ve never done particularly well with it on the plot, my best efforts came from the plants I grew in containers. Do you know what variety of squash you’re growing? I’m leaving mine a while longer before harvesting as the weather’s fine at the moment. I do love squash, both summer and winter varieties. Glad to hear that your tomatoes did well in the end, it’s a shame that blight’s arrived, though I suppose it’s better coming now at the end of the season than at the beginning. I’m sure Jake will have been well rewarded with a stroke or two.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks, and yes so far all the cobs have been good right to the end which makes a change. Unfortunately I was given the squash plant and told that it was a butternut, which it clearly isn’t. I can see why you like them but I really only grow them as a bit of a novelty. Blight generally affects tomatoes here around early September and I’m relieved that it held off this year until most of them had ripened. He gets a lot more than a stroke or two. xx

  2. Julie says:

    Awww the lovely Jake :o) I haven’t grown nasturtiums for years.. but as they are great favourites of bees I have 2 packets ready for next year :o) You have a good week too Flighty xx

  3. Mark Willis says:

    So blight has got your tomatoes too, eh? It’s the eternal scourge of many a plot-holder. What sort of squash is it that you have grown? It looks pretty big. If it were me, I’d roast it and make it into soup with some good chicken stock.

    • Flighty says:

      Mark it usually strikes here early September. Thankfully most of my tomatoes were had ripened and were okay. I don’t know as I was given it and told it was a butternut which it clearly isn’t. It’s almost football sized. I will give it to a friend along with other vegetables in exchange for an invite to dinner. Cheers.

  4. nikkipolani says:

    A great report, Flighty. Good eating from your crops 🙂 And a friendly dog, too.

  5. Tomato blight hit our allotment plot too last week. Ade had to get rid of the plants. Fortunately, the plants in the garden are still doing really well, and the fruits just keep a-coming! Sophie

  6. CJ says:

    Jake is lovely, how nice to have the odd dog at the site. I’m glad your sweetcorn has ripened and that you got to eat it. I picked a squash about three weeks ago, but I don’t think it was quite ready. I roasted it, but the flavour wasn’t sensational, everyone said it tasted like potato. I’m hoping the rest of them will develop a good sweet flavour. I’m hoping to get some work done down at my plot this week while the weather holds. What with one thing and another not much has been done there lately. Wishing you happy plotting, CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ yes he really is, and I agree. Thanks, me too. I hope that your other squash taste better. That sounds like a good idea so I hope that you do. I’m not surprised.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  7. Awesome post thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  8. Joanne says:

    What a lovely little dog! Sweetcorn is looking good, think the weather has been good for it this year. I tried some of the popping variety this year & have missed fresh corn to sink my teeth into, Have a good week.

  9. menhir1 says:

    Your crop is surprising, sweet corn…it does look inviting. From what you say, the signs of blight and the splitting grapes indicate, I believe, the ‘interesting’ variations we had this year in seasonal patterns.

    I can’t help with the squash question other than to say, don’t let the fruit get very soft. How would you decide when it’s right to harvest courgettes or marrows, for example?

    Jake knows when he has a friend. 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks. We nearly always get blight but I’ve not had split grapes before. I’m sure you’re right about it being the erratic weather.
      I’ve been told to tap it and if it sounds hollow then it’s ripe. I forgot today so will do that tomorrow. Courgettes should be picked small, no longer than six inches, and I don’t grow marrows.
      He sure does. xx

  10. Isn’t this weather lovely! It seems that summer wants to hang around a bit longer and give us more gardening time. Fresh corn is just delicious, lucky you. I hope the squirrel leaves your plot alone.

  11. snowbird says:

    Your corn looks delicious, I haven’t grown any this year as it takes so much room up. Your squash looks good and ready to pick, I do the tapping thing with them too. Some of my cherry toms have split, over-ripe I think. Good that you can still eat your grapes. We are having an Indian summer aren’t we? I hope we keep the warm weather.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it’s a shame that you don’t have room. I’ll be tapping it today. Splitting tomatoes seem to have been a bit of a problem this year. It certainly look like we are. Me too. xx

  12. snowbird says:

    PS – Jake looks adorable, I bet he’s lovely company.xxx

  13. Chloris says:

    I have given up growing tomatoes outside because of the blight. Your corn looks good.
    Isn’ t it wonderful to be able to get out there every day? This weather is wonderful and it seems to go on and on.

  14. elaine says:

    It’s taking me a while to catch up with posts since my return – very impressed with your squash although it looks more like a pumpkin – I haven’t grown any this year sadly I just don’t have the room.

  15. wellywoman says:

    What a cute dog and sweet to have him about whilst you’re plotting. I’m very envious of your sweetcorn. I grew some a few years ago and it was a disaster. I’ll definitely try again though. As for the squash, it’s best to leave them on the plant as long as possible but remove with the stalk attached before there is any frost. It’ll be delicious roasted. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Welly he sure is and so well behaved, we shared a scumped apple this morning! I’ve had a good year with sweet corn, and surprised that the squirrels haven’t eaten any yet. It’s well worth growing so do try again. Thanks for the squash advice, much appreciated. xx

  16. Alison says:

    Jake seems like a nice and clever dog, I miss my dog Chewie.

  17. Yum, I adore sweetcorn, we just finished ours, and I am trying to work out how I can grow more next year, definitely one of my favourite s, though this year a lot of the cobs had failed to fully develop. Not enough water?

Leave a Reply

