Of Cabbages and Kings

Caroline Foley is well known to many allotmenteers as the author of the best selling books The Allotment Handbook and Practical Allotment Gardening.

Of Cabbages and KingsHer latest book Of Cabbages and Kings – The History of Allotments is the fascinating story of their origins through to the present day. It was published last Thursday by Frances Lincoln.

I really enjoyed reading this well illustrated book which starts with a Prologue and Introduction before the twelve chapters ranging from The Serf & the Commons 1066 – 1349 through to Post-war Doldrums & the Green Revolution 1945 to the 21st century.  To round off there is an Epilogue, Further Reading, Timeline , Index and Acknowledgements.

I’m sure that this book will appeal to anyone who’s interested in social history and as the inside front cover blurb says…One thing is certain, once you’ve read this book, you will never take your allotment for granted again. 

Readers can order this book direct from the publisher at the discounted price of £16-00 (inc. p&p in the UK, otherwise add £2-50) by phoning 01903 828503 or email to mailorders@lbsltd.co.uk quoting the offer code APG209.

My thanks to Jessica Atkins, Marketing Manager at The Quarto Publishing Group UK, for kindly sending me a copy of this excellent book to read and review.

Happy reading!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Of Cabbages and Kings

  1. Caro says:

    This looks like a good book for winter reading, Flighty. With all the current court battles for people to prevent local councils selling off allotment sites to developers, the publication of this book feels very timely. I believe that knowing something’s history gives it more interest and emotional value; I researched the history of my veg patch and turned up all sorts of good stories that would otherwise not have been told! It’s a book I’ll definitely be reading although I may try to persuade my local library to get it. I think it would be an excellent addition to their National Allotment Week display for readers!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro it sure is. I agree that it’s timely in view of what’s happening with councils and developers. I think that it’s a book that libraries should get. xx

  2. Jo says:

    That sounds like a really interesting book, one to definitely look out for.

  3. VP says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book too. I devoured Caroline Foley’s earlier practical volumes when I set up my allotment. It’s good to see her writing an allotment history as well xx

  4. snowbird says:

    It must be really interesting discovering the long history of allotments.xxx

  5. CJ says:

    It sounds like a brilliant book, exactly the kind of thing I’d enjoy. Like Caro, I’ll be looking out for it at the library. CJ xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Certainly the history would be fascinating, especially if sources are interesting tidbits.

  7. Chloris says:

    It sounds like a fascinating book.

  8. You’ve certainly given it a good recommendation. It sounds solid, thought provoking and interesting. And I like pictures!

  9. Sounds fascinating, I hope the book gets read by a few local councillors, it might help keep more allotment sites from the hands of developers!

Leave a Reply

