Plotting pleasurably…

is what I enjoyed doing both yesterday morning and this morning. The weather was ideal to collect seed, dead-head, dig, harvest, hoe, prune, tidy and weed.  As I worked I was tentatively thinking about what to grow and where next year, both flowers and vegetables. I want to grow less but better if that makes sense.

I stood and watched a wood pigeon drink from the water tank just across the roadway. It perched on the side, looked round at me before dipping it’s head then repeated the action several times before flying off.

Ready, steady and   Dunk

I always check the level when I arrive, and leave, to make sure it’s full to the brim. I do that so birds can drink from it and anything that falls in can hopefully get out although there is wire mesh that we put across the top. I did rescue a frog that was in it a couple of years ago.

It looks like being drizzly and dull tomorrow then dry, sunny and warmer Tuesday onwards.  Hopefully that will help my sweetcorn and tomatoes to ripen.

I did another guest blog post, Sunflowers, for Living Paintings last week which you might enjoy reading.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Plotting pleasurably…

  1. Caro says:

    They’re funny birds, wood pigeons! It just shows the importance of wildlife having a source of water to drink – well done for keeping the tank safely topped up. It looks as though the weather forecast will be good for a while; it will be nice to have good weather for tidying although I still need it for my seedlings and winter veg! Are you sowing any flower seeds for next spring?

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I agree. Yes, that’s why I have the ponds on the plot, and thanks. It’s been drizzly and dull here today but looking much better tomorrow onwards. There’s still plenty to do. No, I let most annuals I grow self-seed, and the seed I collect I’ll sow next spring. xx

  2. Doris Potter says:

    Such an enjoyable post. I liked the pigeon photos and your concern for the birds and other creatures. Bravo for rescuing the frog! 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Doris thanks. I’ve never seen do that before so was pleased to get photos, and thanks. The frog was lucky as I saw it, put what I was holding down then couldn’t find or see it. I’d almost given up when it reappeared. xx

  3. Jo says:

    It’s great to have some better weather again so that we can get our plots sorted out before winter well and truly sets in. We sometimes get woodpigeons in the garden but Archie goes mad if he sees them, he’s not usually bothered about birds but he’s taken a dislike to woodpigeons for some reason. I’m going to pop over to read your guest post now.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it sure is, and I do enjoy plotting over the next couple of months. Your comment about Archie has me smiling. Thanks, I hope that enjoyed reading it. xx

  4. CJ says:

    You have been busy, you put me to shame. The biggest boy rescued a snail from the bottom of one of our water troughs the other day. It was trying it’s hardest to climb out. I do hope there’s some good tomato ripening weather left in the season, I have bunches of those lovely yellow ones waiting for some sun. Have a good week Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I’m lucky that I have the time to do it which you don’t what with family life. Good for him. If need be you can pick them once they show a hint of yellow as they soon ripen on the windowsill. Thanks, and you too. xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    Growing less of what you want does make sense, there is a limit to what you can best grow in the soil of a restricted plot size, whatever you enrich it with. There is only so much that you can eat, pot, preserve etc. It seems to be like a constructive approach to plotting.

  6. snowbird says:

    I totally get what you mean about growing less and yet better, I’m always growing things I don’t even like, cucumbers for example….how lovely that you keep the water topped up the the birds, it’s such an essential thing yet it can be hard to find. I saw a frog drowned in a bowl of water once, the poor thing just couldn’t get out. I’m busy collecting seed and cuttings….it’s that time again, how quickly it goes by…xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird good for you, with me it’s courgettes among other things. I also check and top up both plot ponds every time I’m there as I know wildlife drink from them. Me too…it’s here again much too quickly isn’t it. xx

  7. elaine says:

    We often get pigeons coming down to the pond to drink – I am always surprised they don’t fall in when they tip over to take a drink. I agree about growing less but better it will be my mantra next year.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I was surprised too as they really do dunk don’t they. Good for you, I’ll be thinking more about it over the coming months in preparation for next year. xx

  8. We have wood pigeons nesting here so they are always in the garden and are the birds that make most use of the birdbath. Must be thirsty work being a pigeon 🙂 .

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Ahhhh. Good weather for gardening is wonderful, isn’t it? Growing less but better makes perfect sense. Especially if you’ve zeroed in on the varieties that you like.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki yes indeed that’s one reason why I like this time of year. I’m glad that you agree. I’ve done a provisional list which I’ll be refining over the coming moths. xx

  10. Kif says:

    I was leaving water out for the raccoons last summer. They would drink from my pots which held a reservoir of water.

    Happy wood pigeon!

    • Flighty says:

      Kif good for you. I have two small ponds on the plot, an upturned dustbin lid and an old washing up bowl, for wildlife to use and I’ve seen foxes drinking from both. xx

  11. Hello Flighty, I will be interested to see what you grow next year, and I hope you get some nicely ripened sweetcorn too. Mine has been mixed, not all the cobs developed fully, but the taste has been fantastic. It is one of my favourite things to grow.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet next year’s growing list will feature in a forthcoming post. I’ve been eating a cob a day for a week or so now. Good to see that you’ve been enjoying yours as well. It is mine, they really are amazing plants. xx

Leave a Reply

