Red and yellow

Red and yellow tomatoesI did some plotting on Saturday and Sunday mornings but since then it’s been mostly wet so apart from picking some blackberries, runner beans and tomatoes yesterday I’ve been mooching and reading.

I received an advance copy of Of Cabbages and Kings – The History of Allotments by Caroline Foley on Tuesday which I’ve started reading, and will be reviewing here when read.

 

The nasturtiums are still providing lots of colour with their red and yellow flowers.

Red and yellow nasturtiums

Someone else who likes them is Caro over on The Urban Veg Patch where she’s done two excellent posts,  Edible Gardens: Nasturtiums and Edible Gardens: Nasturtium capers , recently all about them.

From tomorrow onwards the forecast is looking much better, at least through into next week, so I will hopefully be off to the plot most mornings to make the most of it.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Red and yellow

  1. VP says:

    For some reason my self-sown nasturtiums have been a bit sickly looking this year – a shame as we love them in salads. I think I need to start over again with fresh seed next year. Snap re the book we’re reading…
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      VP that’s a shame. My self-sown ones did well, the rest didn’t thanks to slugs and snails. Sounds like a good idea. I hope that you’re enjoying it as much as I am. xx

  2. snowbird says:

    Good to hear you are getting toms, I’m beginning to get a glut!
    I love nasturtiums too, a wonderful little plant, I enjoyed Caro’s posts too, most instructive!xxx

  3. menhir1 says:

    It all looks healthy and colourful. We’ve had fine but cool weather,however, today is unspeakably awful. Like you, I look forward to a touch more of summer warmth.

  4. Jo says:

    Glad to see you’re getting some tomatoes to harvest now, I think mine are doing better just lately than they did earlier in the season but they’re nowhere near as good as they should be. Hope the forecast is right, enjoy your plotting.

  5. CJ says:

    Fantastic tomatoes. My yellow ones that you gave me are doing really well, I’ll definitely grow them again. Were they recommended to you? Or maybe you’ve grown them before and got on well with them. They’ve done better than most of the varieties I’ve tried. And to top it all, the littlest boy likes them. The novelty of the yellowness I think. It makes me very happy when he eats different things, he can be quite set in his ways. Anyway, thank you so much for the seeds, all in all they’ve been a triumph. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks. That’s good to know. They may well have have been as I grow yellow ones every year and generally do well with them. Good for him, I like them too. You’re most welcome, it’s good to know that they’ve all done well for you. xx

  6. So jealous of your nasturtiums, mine have not thrived at all this year and the one I bought has been attacked by aphids so is looking quite sorry for itself. Your tomatoes look great too.

  7. Your nasturtiums really did well this year, they are gorgeous, a good sign that the rest of your garden is really healthy.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    I’m impressed — a colour-coordinated post! Those tomatoes look just lovely. Were they as tasty as you’d hoped?

  9. elaine says:

    I don’t have any yellow toms this year – they make a nice splash of colour mixed with the red. But I do have loads of nasturtiums that have sown themselves all over the place – not that I’m complaining, well just a bit maybe.

  10. Glad you’re getting some good tomatoes Flighty. The weather is said to be returning to summer next week after these rather dismal few days, fingers crossed hey!

  11. Chloris says:

    What lovely tomatoes. How lovely to have plenty. Don’ t you get bothered by blight? Pretty nasturtiums too.

  12. Caro says:

    Thanks for the link to my two nasturtium posts, Flighty, and, you’re right, I love my nasturtiums! They’re still giving the veg garden a real splash of colour. Those are lovely tomatoes; I’m still waiting for mine to ripen although I’ve had a few small ones. I can’t believe they’re taking this long after such a good summer! I’ve got Yellow Pear coming along which I really hope will ripen, they were so good last year. Hopefully a few more weeks of warm weather will come our way, it usually does when the children have gone back to school!

Leave a Reply

