It’s been cooler…

and fresher this week so I’ve been plotting every morning. It’s been mostly dry and sunny, but still breezy at times.

Last cucumber and a carrotThere has been plenty to do such as forking over the area where I grew the potatoes where I’ve been finding, and inevitably spearing,  ones I missed.

I picked the last cucumber and found this hidden carrot.

Tomatoes 'Gardener's Delight'I’m picking far more dwarf French and runner beans than I use so I’ve been giving plenty away.

I’ve picked a few yellow tomatoes but most of them, and all the red Gardener’s Delight are still green.

Sweetcorn cob silkThe sweetcorn cobs are developing nicely and have really long silks. I just hope that the squirrels don’t get to them before I do.

Nibbled courgetteThey’ve certainly been nibbling the small courgettes, which they’re welcome to do.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to It’s been cooler…

  1. Catherine C says:

    I think all tomatoes are taking longer to ripen this year,Flighty.

  2. Jo says:

    You should freeze your excess beans for winter, it’s lovely having a taste of summer when the weather turns cold. I’ve had a handful of Gardener’s Delight so far this year, the rest are still green, though the plants haven’t produced half the crop this year that they usually do.

  3. Mark Willis says:

    I agree with Jo – Runner Beans freeze very well, and will be most welcome in December!

  4. Glo says:

    Nice that the weather is cooperating and you are enjoying plotting. Your veggies look delicious…perhaps not the one sampled by the squirrel, but it must be heaven for wildlife to come across tasty fresh produce!

  5. CJ says:

    We’ve had a few of your yellow tomatoes, which have been lovely. And lots of Sungolds which i always find reliable. Also a few red ones, Tigerella, probably Ferline and goodness knows what else, what happens to my labels??? You have reminded me that I need to check on The Carrot at the plot. I don’t recall seeing it for a while…

  6. elaine says:

    It is inevitable that there are always a few potatoes left behind after harvesting the crop – even when you think you have been thorough – and it is inevitable that you always manage to stick the fork through them – just one of the mysteries of veg growing.

  7. Chloris says:

    Lots to enjoy then.. I wish someone could tell me how to avoid getting potatoes coming up all over the veg garden wherever I have left the tiniest bit behind.

  8. snowbird says:

    I always have spuds shooting up that I’ve missed too! The tomatoes have been slow to ripen haven’t they, I’m finally getting about ten a day, the beef toms are ripening so much faster than gardeners delight. Here’s to yours getting a wriggle on.xxx

  9. pianolearner says:

    maybe a frost tonight in the country….

  10. nikkipolani says:

    It’s been cooler? Wish I could say the same here. Hope your tomatoes get ripening!

Leave a Reply

