Still standing

Prior to Tuesday I was last on the plot last Thursday since when there had been some heavy rain and high winds, although it wasn’t as bad here as had been originally forecast.

I was relieved to see that everything was still standing apart from a chicory plant that had toppled, although some others were leaning a bit. Thankfully the runner beans, sweet corn and sunflowers were all okay.

Runner beans    Sweetcorn and sunflowers

Courgette and my size ten wellieFirst tomatoI lifted some maincrop Desiree potatoes,  a few which had been got at by slugs. I picked lots of dwarf French beans, runner beans and blackberries. I left this courgette which is bigger than my size ten wellie but picked the first tomato.

I was pleased to get this photo of a Speckled Wood butterfly resting on a rose petal.

Speckled Wood butterfly

I’m not doing a specific tree following post this month but here’s what the willow looks like from where I sit on the log seat by the shed.

The willow tree viewed from my log seat

I was glad to see that it was okay after the recent bad weather as it often loses a few branches when it’s very windy.  For plenty of other tree followers posts this month have a look at this post of Lucy’s.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Still standing

  1. Wow, everything in your garden is looking grand! okay I know its an allotment but garden sounded better with the word ‘Grand’ LOL. Don’t Courgette become marrows when they get to a certain size? You get a good selection of butterflies on your plot, Flighty.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula thanks, but it is looking a bit frazzled here and there. I think of it as my allotment garden so it can be called either. They do indeed, and can get pretty big. I think that it’s been the best year so far for butterflies on the plot. xx

  2. Willows are my favourite trees and this looks like such a lovely spot to work in. I’m pleased none of your crops have been damaged badly, it sure has been a funny old week for weather!

  3. Our sweetcorn plants are listing badly but still in the ground.

  4. Mark Willis says:

    Wind damage is often more severe in the Summer, when plants are in full leaf. My garden is mostly enclosed by walls / fences, but it still suffers a lot because there are “wind tunnels” between my house and the neighbours’.

  5. Doris says:

    I’m glad to see that the damage was minimal Flighty. I love the butterfly! You seem to get them to stay still for you!

  6. cveggie says:

    You’re lucky that everything survived so well! I love the view of the willow tree if it weren’t for the rubbish heap on the left!!

  7. snowbird says:

    Good to hear your toms are beginning to ripen, they seem late this year. Courgettes do grow so quickly don’t they….I have far too many, as usual! I love the speckled wood, what a beauty, and good to hear everything is still standing.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I just hope all they get to ripen, I’m not sure if they are a bit late. They sure do, and I’ve already picked a handful off this plant. Me too as it’s a butterfly I don’t see as often as the others, and thanks. xx

  8. elaine says:

    Surprising that everything is still standing given the severity of the wind your beans are full of flowers still have you had many beans yet. The weather has been pretty changeable this week – not much gardening done for me. Our Willow has got huge this year – will definitely get the professionals in come October – it’s taking over the garden. lol.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I was quite surprised, especially as some other plots on the site had suffered. It has so nor me. Willows can grow to an impressive size can’t they. xx

  9. menhir1 says:

    It’s always surprising to see what vegetation and flora does withstand unusual or severe weather conditions. xx

  10. Chloris says:

    Great that everything is still standing. My runner beans are at an odd angle, but never mind I’ m still picking loads.
    A wonderful photo of a Speckled Wood, I had one on my courgettes last week but it refused to wait while I got my camera.

    • Flighty says:

      Choris thanks. Thank goodness for that, it’s not so so bad if they’re just leaning a bit.
      Thanks, that’s a shame but hopefully next time it will wait. xx

  11. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, that butterfly shot is a nice one. Well done. I like the view from your log, across your plot and others with the willow in the background.

  12. Glo says:

    Your plot is looking quite lush ~ I am glad you are still standing as well… 😉

  13. Jo says:

    What a lovely view you have of the willow from your plot. Glad to hear that everything’s still standing after the high winds, it can be a worry wondering how everything’s faring when you can hear the wind whistling outside. Lovely photo of the Speckled Wood, the butterflies seem to pose for you, I always have trouble capturing them with my camera.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo and it’s obscures a block of flats. I was relieved to see that almost everything was okay. Thanks, I’ve been really lucky taking some good photos of butterflies this year. xx

  14. That’s some tree! We haven’t seen it from that angle before. How beautiful it is! And how pleasant it must be to sit there and watch it.

  15. wellywoman says:

    Glad to see everything survived the storm. The speckled wood seems to be a butterfly that is doing well. We often see them on walks – they’re very pretty. Yey! The first tomato. :)) x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ thanks, so was I. I don’t see many Speckled Woods so was pleased to get a photo of this one. Lucky you. I’ve picked a few more yellow ones, but the red ones are still green. xx

Leave a Reply

