Garden of Sunflowers

Sunday sunflowers

It’s grey, wet and windy today so I wouldn’t be surprised if I find that the three sunflowers I’ve managed to grow this year have toppled over.  I’ve missed having plenty on the plot as they are one of my favourites, and really do bring out the happy child in me.  Needless to say I’m already thinking about next year when I’m determined to grow lots again.

 

Jo’s A Sunny Sunflower Giveaway Win post last Thursday on Through the Keyhole included this lovely Garden of Sunflowers poem which I’ve never come across before.

Garden of Sunflowers

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Garden of Sunflowers

  1. Jo says:

    It’s a lovely poem, isn’t it? I’ve managed the grand sum of two sunflowers this year, but unlike yours, they’re singles which means only two flowers. Still, better than none and we can hope that we do better next year. Thanks for the mention.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo yes it sure is. I’m already planning on what sunflowers for next year as I’ve really missed the variety I usually grow. You’re welcome. xx

  2. Lovely poem 🙂 I’m worried that my sunflowers will snap in this blustery weather :/ may have to get wet and check they are ok and make sure they are secure 🙂 I’ve planted mine around the compost bin, they love it there. Have a good week and hope your sunflowers are ok x

  3. I hope your sunflowers survive Flighty, and that next year you get a veritable forest.

  4. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  5. Fab sunflowers, hope they survive the wind and rain. Not one of mine survived, tried seeds straight into the beds – nothing. So I grew some in pots, then transplanted them – eaten by pigeons! Last year I grew one huge one which my other half accidentally strimmed when it was about 5 foot high… Determined to try again next year though.

  6. Mark Willis says:

    If I had Sunflowers, I’d want a whole field of them, like you see so often over on the continent!

  7. Chloris says:

    Each year I wonder why I haven’ t planted more sunflowers. They are so cheery at this time of the year. Bertha has broken my big ones, I hope yours will be all right.

  8. CJ says:

    Lovely sunflowers. I hadn’t thought about it before, but now I’m worried that ours at the plot will blow down. Before I was just worried about the pear tree in the garden! The plot ones are quite short though, and in a sheltered spot, so I shall live in hope. I always like to go round the site and admire the huge ones that some people grow. CJ xx

  9. wellywoman says:

    I hope they’re still standing, Flighty. Just been up to the plot and checked and all the flowers survived unscathed. I’ve grown ‘Valentine’ this year and they are lovely and only about 5ft tall too so they are perfect for my exposed plot. xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Certainly cheering! I hope you’ll get lots to do well for you next season.

  11. snowbird says:

    I love that poem, and sunflowers. I hope yours are ok, Bertha is hammering my poor garden at the moment, sighs….xxx

  12. Caro says:

    Your post prompted me to go down to the garden and see if any of my sunflowers were still standing. All the petals have gone from the biggest and I’ve had to stake another multi-headed 5 footer but it’s the little ones that have suffered most – they’ve been flattened. I suppose the stems weren’t get strong enough. Still, as you say, there’s always next year… (And I did get lots of rain for the garden as well as the wind.) 🙂

  13. elaine says:

    No sunflowers for me this year the slugs got to them very early on – never mind, there’s always next year.

  14. They’re gorgeous sunflowers, what type are they?

    Sunflowers are certainly at the mercy of the elements and other naughty creatures because of their stature, aren’t they? In our garden, it’s the squirrels who go for them. Ade once caught a squirrel snapping the head off one of our giant sunflowers! He was livid! His fury however, was somewhat assuaged by the sight of the thieving squirrel precariously scrambling along the top of our garden fence, trying to make his escape with a flower head that was bigger than he was! Cheeky bugger managed it though!

    I do hope yours survive the gales.

    Sophie

    • Flighty says:

      Sophie hello, I think that they’re ‘Ring of Fire’.
      Indeed they are, squirrels are the main culprits on my plot, along with parakeets. Your squirrel story made me laugh!
      Thanks, I’ll see tomorrow. xx

  15. Great sunflower photo on your plot as always Flighty, I always use you as a prime example of it being the grey matter behind the lens that`s important not the camera

  16. Pingback: Living Paintings   Guest by Mike Rogers: Sunflowers

Leave a Reply

