Squash, gladioli and a Comma

Squash, butternutOne of the squashes I’m growing I was given by plot neighbour Margo who I thought said that it was a butternut but looking at the shape and size of it I’m not so sure!

Squash 'Jack be Little'Another one that I’ve grown from seed is Jack be Little which has several palm of the hand size fruit.

I’m really just growing these for fun as I’m not fussed about eating them and will probably give the fruit away. Although they need plenty of space and invariably end up with powdery mildew I’ll probably try a different variety next year.

The gladioli didn’t do at all well last year so I bought two new varieties – a mostly pink one and the otherΒ white and yellow – both of which are now in flower.

Pink and white gladioliΒ  Β White and yellow gladioli

There are still lots of butterflies around and I was pleased to see, and photograph, this Comma resting on a dwarf French bean leaf.

Comma butterfly

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Squash, gladioli and a Comma

  1. CJ says:

    Lovely butterfly photo again, you’re very good at capturing them. Somehow they always see me coming with my camera. The gladioli are doing brilliantly, very striking indeed. CJ xx

  2. Lovely shot of the comma Flighty. I enjoyed growing Jack Be Little, I used to halve them and cook them in the microwave for lunch with a bit of butter and garlic, delicious!

  3. Lovely update I also grown the one like you got with your hand but not sure what it called lovely post Flighty have a blessed week

  4. snowbird says:

    That comma is such a beauty as are your squash….oh…you HAVE to eat them, maybe roast them with some tomatoes and garlic, that would be a lovely side dish to all sorts of meals or just good on toast.xxx

  5. Mark Willis says:

    I wish I was one of your Plot Neighbours, Mike, because I would take those squashes off your hands any time you like! I’m particularly fond of Butternut and Tomato soup. I’ve tried growing squashes once or twice, but they never did well in my garden. I think they need full sun which I can’t provide.

  6. Doris says:

    Your photos are just wonderful Flighty! I know how hard it is to capture butterflies and you’ve done a great job again!

  7. pianolearner says:

    Your first squash looks like one we are growing, but I don’t know the name, wellywoman will know it.

  8. Jo says:

    I absolutely love squash, I’m cooking the first patty pan of the season to have with dinner tonight. I’m trying to grow two varieties of winter squash, one seems to be doing rather well whereas the other doesn’t seem to be doing much at all, it shows that it’s always best to hedge your bets and grow a couple of varieties. The gladioli are lovely, I think they’re flowers which you either love or hate. I’m rather fond of them.

  9. Flighty says:

    Jo good for you. I hope that enjoy your dinner this evening. I agree about growing a couple of varieties. I agree with what you say about the gladioli, and I like them. xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    That first squash… Almost looks like it wants to be a decorative gourd! The new glads look quite cheerful. I like them, but growing them means staking unless I grow the short ones. So I only admire them from afar — like yours πŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it’ll be interesting to see what it ends up looking like. They do don’t they. These are tall, and I really must stake them! That’s a good way to enjoy them. xx

  11. menhir1 says:

    A pleasant variety of pictures of nature and flora. It isn’t the last of the summer wine is it?

    πŸ˜‰ xx

  12. Beautiful butterfly photo Flighty, those commas seem to be everywhere this year. A shame you’re not going to try the squash though as it they look good and it’s also one of my favourite vegetables. I roast it with other veg and some rosemary and throw a little feta cheese in at the end πŸ™‚ .

  13. wellywoman says:

    I don’t think I’ve seen a comma this year. Lots of other butterflies have finally appeared at the cutting patch but no commas which is a pity as they are such a lovely butterfly. I too can vouch for squashes being tasty. They’re lovely roasted and go well with sausages and gravy. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

