These two herbs…

I grow just as decorative plants, and for the wildlife.

The borage (Borago officinalis) has small star-shaped blue flowers.

Borage flowers

Common fennel (Foeniculum vulgare) grows to around six feet with feathery blue-green foliage and yellow flowers that seem to float in the air.

Fennel flowers

Have a good weekend!

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to These two herbs…

  1. Caro says:

    I love both of those herbs, Flighty – although you’re borage looks so much healthier than mine ever does! Do you stake yours? Mine always get very tall and flopsy – and quite prickly too! I can’t imagine eating the leaves, although it’s said that young leaves can be added to salads.

    • Flighty says:

      Caro good for you. My borage never seems to grow above knee height so doesn’t need staking, but they are prickly. Nor me, they don’t look very tasty at all. xx

  2. snowbird says:

    Ah yes, two marvelous plants for wildlife. That borage does look good, mine is a little withered with all the heat. You have a good weekend too.xxx

  3. Jo says:

    Once you grow borage you’ll never be without it, the bees love it though. I’ve used the flowers to decorate ice cubes in the past, they make a great talking point.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Borage flowers added to a salad along with a few nasturtiums look very pretty too. I have a vase of fennel in the kitchen and it lasts for ages and looks so pretty – only problem is that it drops pollen everywhere so best not over foodstuffs you don’t want covered with golden powder!

  5. elaine says:

    I had to pull most of my borage out as it had mildew and what didn’t have mildew had dried to a crisp – not a good week in the garden!

  6. menhir1 says:

    Borage has some sort of herbal use, it has little culinary use. I have it and have just pulled up three sprouters. I have allowed two or, maybe its three, plants to flower and am using the flowers in my salads. They are the main attraction. It is, otherwise an ugly plant which needs to kept in check. I’m enjoying a Bronze Fennel and often take a frond to nibble…the aniseed flavour is divine. Xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I usually let one borage plant grow and flower. The aniseed scent of fennel is amazing, but I’ve never been tempted to have a nibble. xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    You’ve certainly two very pretty choices for ornamental herbs.
    To Menhir1’s point, I’ve seen borage grown en mass and they looked quite pretty with their striking blue blooms.

  8. CJ says:

    Lovely. I especially like the fennel, it’s one of my favourites, the flowers are wonderful. My neighbour grows it and it comes right up over the five foot fence. CJ xx

  9. Glo says:

    I have enjoyed seeing the variety of plants growing on your plot this summer, including these two herbs. Your potatoes looked delicious, and I’m sure you’ve enjoyed eating your harvested veggies. Did you get many sweet peas? Our pot marigolds are still blooming, and I have a couple in a vase with sweet peas, a rose and a couple of different shades of hydrangea. Bright and cheerful πŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Glo that’s nice to know. I’ve still got more potatoes to dig up, and yes I’m enjoying what else I’ve harvested with more to come hopefully. My sweet peas weren’t as good,or as many, as I’d hoped for sadly, and none of the photos I took were worth showing here. That flower combination sounds lovely and colourful. xx

  10. Lovely photos Flighty, I am always happy to have borage in the garden, though I keep forgetting to stake it, so mine tend to wind up rather contorted. I have bronze fennel, which is beautiful too, and the hoverflies go mad for it. Have a great rest-of-weekend!

  11. Flighty says:

    Janet thanks. My borage never grows very tall. Fennels are a popular plant.
    Thanks, and you too. xx

  12. hencorner says:

    Our bees love the borage for nectar and we love it in a glass of Pimms… The fennel, once gone to seed, is fantastic to eat raw or flavour a variety of dishes. We love pork with fennel, chilli & white wine… #JustSaying

  13. Matt says:

    Borage is on my list to add to the garden for next year. I just hope it turns out half as healthy as yours looks.

Leave a Reply

