More butterflies and new flowers

It’s been the best year yet for the handful of blue lavender plants alongside the path from the hawthorn to the shed.  Not only are they covered in fragrant flowers but I’m amazed at how many butterflies that I’ve seen on them in the past couple of weeks.

Comma butterflyYesterday morning there were several Small Skippers and Small Tortoiseshells, as pictured in recent posts,  along with this Comma and a Large White. There was also a Gatekeeper which fluttered off before I could take a picture.

 

Large White butterfly

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Omphalodes linifolia

Included in the annual flowers that I sowed in the spring were two that were new to me.  According to Chiltern Seeds catalogue the Ompalodes linifolia grows to 18 inches but my few plants are considerably shorter.  The flowers are tiny, no bigger than my small fingernail, and noticeably whiter than white. I like them and may well grown it again, perhaps in a container.

Saponaria vaccaria 'Pink Beauty'The other one is Saponaria vaccaria Pink Beauty which grows to around 2 feet.  I like these as well and it’s another plant that I may well grow again in the future.

Both are excellent for cut flowers if you’re looking for something a bit different.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

 

 

 

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to More butterflies and new flowers

  1. pianolearner says:

    I got a lovely shot of a common blue when we were on holiday. It’s nice when they stop long enough to pose.

  2. Annette says:

    Still waiting for our Comma to come along, at the moment it’s mostly Marbled White, Swallowtail and cabbage white. These flowers are new to me as well – they look very pretty!

  3. Catherine C says:

    Lovely……but they won’t stay still long enough for me to get a pic of them 😦

  4. I’m hoping to see more tortoiseshells this year as last year they seemed to have disappeared.

  5. Jo says:

    I still haven’t seen many butterflies this year, I think they must all be on your lavender. I think it’s a great idea to grow new flowers each year, there’s such a variety to choose from that it’s nice to grow something you haven’t come across before.

  6. Joanne says:

    I’ve seen plenty of Peacock butterflies but little of other varieties. I’m glad you have a varied selection on your lovely flowers.

  7. Doris Potter says:

    It’s so nice to see the lovely butterflies and flowers. What a treat! Have a nice weekend. 🙂

  8. Carrie says:

    What a sweet Posey those selected flowers would make. I think it’s okay to share with the butterflies, right? Lovely post xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Ooh, I may have to see if those seeds might make it in the early spring here. They’re so pretty.

  10. elaine says:

    Just the odd butterfly here – saw a Red Admiral yesterday. My lavender is blooming beautifully but no butterflies on it – the ones that I have seen seem to be heading for the aubretia in the containers I have never noticed them attracted to it before. Your new flowers are very pretty and very delicate looking – I am afraid they would get a little lost in my rampaging borders.

  11. Mo says:

    Like Jo, I haven’t seen many butterflies this year. Won’t be seeing any today as we have rain.

  12. Chloris says:

    Lovely shot of the Comma. I haven’t seen one of those for ages. I have a lavender hedge which is full of small tortoiseshells at the moment.

  13. snowbird says:

    I love that comma, lavender sure is a bee magnet. I really like your new plants, how very pretty.xxx

Leave a Reply

