Vegetables, butterflies and an award

Potatoes 'Charlotte'The foliage on most of the second early, or salad, potatoes Charlotte has now died right back so this morning I had a firkle (or furtle if you prefer) around one plant and was pleased to find these good looking, and sized, tubers along with plenty of others that were smaller.

Broad beans 'Witkiem Manita'

I didn’t grow many broad beans Witkiem Manita, and at one stage nearly gave up on them. I’m glad that I didn’t as there are now plenty of large pods each containing a handful of good sized beans.

Onions and tomato flowersThe onions are looking okay, and flowers have started to appear on some of the tomatoes.

Courgette plantAll the sweetcorn seeds germinated except one, one is noticeably small and another has been nibbled but the rest are doing okay. The dwarf French beans and runner beans are all growing well.  This is the courgette plant that I was given.

Small Skipper butterfly

There are still plenty of Small Tortoiseshell butterflies around

I’ve also seen some Small Skippers like this.

I’ve only seen one or two white butterflies, but they’ve been been very fluttery so I’ve not managed to take any photos of one yet.

 

Here’s another of the pot marigolds. This time it’s an almost dusky pink coloured one.

An almost dusky pink pot marigold

Versatile blogger award

 

Lastly Twitter friend Debs (@girlontheplot) very kindly nominated me for a Versatile Blogger award in her blog post last week, and in turn I will do a post about it sometime soon.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any of the photos to see a larger image]

PS – I did a post World War One over on Sofa flying yesterday.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Vegetables, butterflies and an award

  1. Awesome and well done Flighty have a blessed week

  2. Your Potatoes are looking good and so too your beans. I’m very pleased with my onions too. My butternuts and tomatoes are coming along nicely but I have been too busy with my writing to give as much time as I should to my veggie garden.
    I normally grown Pink fir apple potatoes but this year I didn’t though I haven’t look at my potatoes to see how they are forming yet. The plants are just starting to go over and the slugs are enjoying them 🙂

  3. Jo says:

    Congratulations on the award, very well deserved. I love this time of year when the harvests start. They’re some good sized spuds you got from your furtle, did you end up digging the plant up or did you just take what you wanted and left it to grow on? I still haven’t seen many butterflies around just lately, I think they’re all in hiding around here.

  4. elaine says:

    Great potatoes and beans – it looks like you’re having a pretty good year so far.

  5. menhir1 says:

    Well Done! Nice looking crops, you’re well on with growth and harvesting.

  6. Mo says:

    Congratulations on the award:)
    Your broad beans look good enough to show. Ours are weeks behind yours.
    None of my marigold seeds took, which is disappointing, I plan to sow oodles of them next year to try and make up.

    • Flighty says:

      Mo thanks. They so but our show isn’t until early September. I’m sure that yours won’t be long.
      That’s a shame, would you like some pot marigold ‘Flighty’s favourites’ seed that I’ll be collecting and saving later in the year? xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Another great harvest, Flighty. And I always enjoy your butterfly pics 🙂

  8. snowbird says:

    Lovely to have received the award, congratulations!
    Those tatters look tasty and with your beans, I hope you enjoy them. I do like that skipper! xxx

  9. A well deserved award. Few know how much effort goes in to keeping a blog going.

    • Flighty says:

      Charlie thanks. I’ve been posting twice a week regularly since I started this blog just over 7 years ago. I also blogged before that, and have had other blogs as well. It’s something that I’ve always enjoyed doing. Cheers.

  10. Chloris says:

    Congratulations on the award for your lovely blog, Flighty.
    Those broad beans look wonderful I can’ t wait for mine to be ready.
    I’ ve noticed loads of Small Tortoiseshell around lately but I’ m going to keep my eye out for a Skipper.
    Your Marigold is a gorgeous colour.

  11. Joanne says:

    Drat, I thought I left a comment. Congrats on your award, & I’m growing the same variety of broad beans & very tasty they are too!

  12. Carrie says:

    Your plot looks heavenly! Every best wish xxx

Leave a Reply

