It’s now the time of year…

when I start bringing home more from the the plot than I take there.   For instance yesterday I bought home some first early potatoes Vales Emerald, a few broad beans Witkiem Manita,  a couple of beetroot Ruby Queen, more raspberries and strawberries.

First early potatoes 'Vales Emerald'    Broad beans at last    Beetroot

Each day I go there are more flowers to be seen. As usual it’s the pot marigolds (calendula officinalis) that are providing the brightest colours. Here are two single colour varieties,  hot orange and lemon yellow.

Orange pot marigold  Yellow pot marigold

On Friday I was taking a last look round, camera in hand,  before heading for home when I spotted this Small Tortoiseshell butterfly on the potato foliage.

Small tortoishell butterfly on potato foliage

All these more than make up for the various difficulties encountered at times that are the rather less joyful part of allotmenteering.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to It’s now the time of year…

  1. alderandash says:

    Looks lovely. Great butterfly photo, too – they always fly off when I try this!!

  2. Jo says:

    I love this time of year when we start to reap what we have sown. I haven’t lifted any potatoes yet, I was just wondering if today might be the day. I haven’t had much luck with beetroot yet this year, that looks a great specimen and I’m very envious as I love beetroot. A great butterfly photo, I haven’t seen many around this year, even the Cabbage White’s seem to be missing.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo yes it makes it all worthwhile doesn’t it. My beetroot growing has always been a bit hit or miss so happy to see these. Thanks, unusually I’ve seen more more brown butterflies than white ones this year. xx

  3. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome and lovely

  4. Catherine C says:

    Nice crops, Flighty 🙂 I also have not seen many butterflies around, even the white ones in this heat!!

  5. menhir1 says:

    It seems you are reaping a nice harvest from the plot Mr F. My Calendula have self-seeded, there’s strong leaf growth, as yet no flowers…pity. Your beetroot looks perfect. xx

  6. Julie says:

    Looking good Flighty… Great photo of the tortoiseshell :o) xx

  7. Joanne says:

    Its great when you are able to start harvesting after all the hard work. I have emptied three tubs of potatoes so far & they were worth the wait! Have a good week.

  8. elaine says:

    Nice to hear of your harvests – I can’t believe the size of that beet root already – you must have magic in your fingers.

  9. snowbird says:

    It certainly does make up for it!
    How wonderful to be bringing home food already, I haven’t had a chance to dig my spuds but it will be a treat when I do. Your marigolds are gorgeous, mine, well, yours are coming out again, I kept some seed. What a delightful torty!xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it does indeed. I hope that you’ll be digging up spuds soon. It’s good to know that our pot marigolds are doing so well. I saw two more today! xx

  10. Doris Potter says:

    Wow – I am always impressed by your butterfly photos. This one is a beauty!

  11. CJ says:

    You’re right, it’s a wonderful time of year, suddenly it’s all very rewarding. I’m really looking forward to the first potatoes when they’re ready. CJ xx

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, shopping at the allotment 🙂 Yum.

  13. Chloris says:

    Wonderful when the harvesting starts. I don’ t know this potato, it looks good. And your broad beans and beetroots ready too so early. Fantastic!

  14. Carrie says:

    We’ve stopped growing strawberries, it was an awkward moment when I finally admitted I don’t really like them. Then the hubby said the same and what a laugh. We dug them up last year. I am super jealous of your raspberries though, we only have autumn ones now xxxx

Leave a Reply

