Flighty’s plot flowers

As I mentioned on Monday it’s British Flowers Week so here are a few of this week’s Flighty’s plot flowers.

This Pot Marigold (Calendula offinalis)  is definitely a Flighty’s favourite

Orange tipped pale yellow pot marigold

I sowed these California poppies (Eschscholzia californica) just a couple of months ago.

Yellow California poppies

Among the orange and yellow ones are a few white ones.

White California poppy

These are main-crop potato Desiree and  butternut squash flowers.

Potato flowers  Squash flower

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

 

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Flighty’s plot flowers

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome post flighty have a blessed week

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Though flowers in bouquets are lovely, flowers in the garden are delightful, too, and have the added benefit of not being eaten by cats!

  3. Mark Willis says:

    I hope the Calendulas I am growing from the seeds you sent me will be as nice! The plants are looking fine, but there are no flowers yet.

  4. sthomp2005 says:

    These look fabulous. I attempted to grow some California poppies this year, but they are yet to flower. Yours look amazing. The marigolds too.

  5. Joanne says:

    Lovely, mine are flowering too, I feel a post coming on. Have a great weekend.

  6. menhir1 says:

    A lovely display Mr F. I am particularly taken with the potato flower, it has more than a touch of crumpled crepe paper about it. xx

  7. the pot marigold is a corker

  8. CJ says:

    Lovely marigolds, the seeds you sent are now blooming here too. Your squash is doing well to be flowering already. I love the Californian poppies, I planted some in my grandfather’s front garden when I was little and they came back year after year.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ that’s good to know. It was almost flowering before I planted it out a couple of weeks ago. Me too, and will be growing more next year. xx

  9. Jo says:

    Lovely, especially the Californian poppies. I’ve got Welsh poppies popping up all over the garden yet I’ve never sown them. It won’t be long until we’re harvesting potatoes now, mine are flowering too.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks. Lucky you, I’ve tried growing them a couple of times without success. I lifted a handful of potatoes earlier in the week, and will be lifting more tomorrow. xx

  10. What a beautiful collection of flowers…. even the potato flowers gets a look in 🙂

  11. wellywoman says:

    I’m eagerly anticipating the first calendulas opening. Have a lovely weekend. x

  12. Julie says:

    Lovely Flighty.. that pot marigold is so pretty :o) xx

  13. Glo says:

    Your/my pot marigolds have reseeded themselves and are just about to pop open. Did you know they are lounging in a chair? My friend had an old metal chair she was throwing out, and I could see the possibility of a planter in the square bit that was the seat. I found a square pot, plopped in the pot marigolds last year and there you have it… lounging port marigolds! I’ll take a photo once they are blooming. You have a lovely variety of flowers in bloom ~ have been enjoying all of your posts 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it’s good to know that ‘our’ pot marigolds are going so well, and have become a lounging flower as well. It sounds like a great idea and I look forward to seeing a picture later on.
      I have indeed, and there was another one today. Thanks, that’s good to know. xx

  14. snowbird says:

    I love your marigold and those poppies are lovely, they do last quite a while too. It’s good to see the squash flowering.xxx

  15. elaine says:

    I love your colourful flowers they certainly brighten my day.

  16. Chloris says:

    It is amazing the range of colours you get with Escholzias. I can’ t imagine why I don’ t grow them. Do you think it is too late to put some in for this year?

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris it is, and I’m going to grow more of them next year. No, sow some as soon as you can in a sunny spot and fingers crossed they’ll be flowering in a couple of months. xx

Leave a Reply

