If you can’t grow these,

The first nasturtium, 2014you’d better give up gardening as a hobby!

I not only smile when I read this in the Chiltern Seeds catalogue mentioned under Tropaeolum majus Tom Thumbbut I’m also relieved when the first flower appears as it did last week.

 

The first pot marigold, 2014

 

 

The pot marigolds have also started flowering, so expect to see plenty of pictures of all the different variations that will undoubtedly appear.

Julie,  of Dragonfly Gems, also likes these as you can see on her Blooms and First Harvests post.

 

There was a Small Tortoiseshell butterfly flitting around the plot on Friday morning, mostly on the blackberry flowers and roses, before it settled to rest for a while over by the log pile as pictured here.  I later also took a photo of it on a blackberry flower.

Small Tortoiseshell butterfly resting   Small Tortoiseshell butterfly on a blackberry flower

I’ve not done a Tree Following post this month but if you want to see how other trees are doing that fellow bloggers are following then there are over forty links listed on Lucy’s post Tree Following Link Box for June 7th.

Lastly thanks to Veg Plotting for doing the fun Shows of Hands for Chelsea Fringe 2014. Here’s her Shows of Hands Finale post, which includes a slide show.

From my friend Jake, seen here resting in the sunshine, and me have a good week!

Jake enjoying the sunshine

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to If you can’t grow these,

  1. Awesome post and thank you for sharing Mike

  2. Those flowers grow themselves on our plot

  3. Mark Willis says:

    Actually, I’m not much good at growing Nasturtiums! They seem to thrive in full sunlight and on poor soil, but they don’t like my shady garden very much.

  4. epov88 says:

    Interesting post 🙂

  5. CJ says:

    I really want to try nasturtiums, I’ve heard you can eat the flowers. The littlest boy has one of your marigolds about to flower in his little patch. Any day now! CJ xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Nasturtiums are such easy cheerful flowers. As are your pot marigolds. The single, smaller blooms have re-seeded in my garden. A few of them are part of a bouquet for a Father’s Day luncheon.

  7. snowbird says:

    I love your torty butterfly, a lovely little creature, lovely to see your marigolds as well and Jake looks a real sweetie. Thankfully nasturtiums really are easy to grow, as easy as cress and radish.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it always good to see, and photograph, butterflies. It sure is and Jake is, as you say, a real sweetie. They sure are, I just wish that a few more were as easy. xx

  8. It happens over and over each summer, but each and every time is so special and so magical. That’s what makes gardening special.

  9. One year I grew nasturtiums in my veggie patch and this year the seeds are growing happily. Some people can grow marigolds like weeds and I wish I was one of them as I love plants that like to look after themselves. As you know I’m a very busy lady 🙂

  10. Lucy Corrander says:

    It hadn’t struck me before how closely squash flowers resemble nasturtiums scaled up.

  11. menhir1 says:

    Jake’s got a real self-satisfied grin on his face.
    Marigolds and Nasturtiums, whichever species they are, even grow up in the colder climes of the far north, a bit later than with you. So, yes, if you cannot get them to grow in the softer warmer climates you have, there is a problem, irrespective of any problems Nasturtiums themselves may introduce, if they do perform.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it sure looks like it! Of the two pot marigolds can tolerate colder weather, but both generally grow okay just about anywhere in the UK. xx

  12. elaine says:

    My nasturtiums have just started flowering as have the marigolds – I love them both, they really cheer up the garden borders. I have seen hardly any butterflies so far this year but the garden is alive with bees, which is good news.

  13. Chloris says:

    Great butterfly shot. Nasturtiums are easy to grow but later on they tend to get covered with Cabbage white caterpillars in my garden. I can’ t make up my mind whether the nasturtiums are drawing the butterflies away from my brassicas or attracting them.

  14. Doris Potter says:

    Great post with beautiful flowers, a gorgeous butterfly and what a wonderful dog!! 🙂

  15. Jo says:

    My nasturtiums aren’t flowering yet. I’m growing Peach Melba this year, I’m really looking forward to seeing them in the flesh as I’ve admired them on lots of blogs in the past, including yours I believe. My Flighty’s Favourites marigolds have flowered all winter and are still blooming now, they’ve done really well. Staffies get such a bad press yet they’re beautiful dogs. Jake looks like he’s enjoying the sunshine, he’s very distinguished looking.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo they won’t be long I’m sure. Yes, I have grown ‘Peach Melba’, or similar, before. The pot marigolds certainly give good value don’t they.
      I agree what you say about Staffies, and Jake. xx

  16. Joanne says:

    I appear to have the one nasturtium plant sneaking through the fruit patch & my Flighty’s favourites are flowering nicely. Jake looks extremely happy there in the sun. Have a good week.

Leave a Reply

