Pleasurably plotting

I took the cucumber, squash and tomato plants to the plot early last week where I left them out during each day to harden off, and in plot neighbour Mary’s greenhouse overnight. I planted them out on Friday, and resorted to scattering some slug pellets around the cucumber and squashes.  I wasn’t there yesterday so I was relieved to see that they were all were okay this morning.

A plot robinLate on Thursday afternoon whilst cutting some of the grass paths and dead-heading the rose I was pleased that a robin kept me company.  This morning I cut the comfrey down to ground level then added it to the compost heap, and whilst doing this the robin watched me from the rim of the old metal dustbin.  At times it was less than an arm’s length away.

With the comfrey gone the raspberry bushes will now get much needed air and sunlight.

The raspberries

The first raspberryAnd look what I found round the other side out of sight!  Needless to say it was delicious and there are plenty more to come.

The week ahead looks like being mostly dry and warm so I’ll be sowing beans, sweetcorn, other vegetables and more flowers.

White love-in-a-mistThe white love-in-a-mist (nigella damascena) is looking really good at present.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image] 

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Pleasurably plotting

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely update and thank you for sharing it been lovely today we borrowed the neighbour’s lawn mower today as it really need doing but I left 4 inch down one side to be wild for the wild life have a blessing of a week

  2. pianolearner says:

    A photo of a robin is on my list of things I’d like to take this year.

  3. Catherine C says:

    Glad you had a good day on the plot, and all is looking good,Flighty. Love them robins, I have 3 of those cheeky chaps 🙂

  4. Joanne says:

    Oh lucky you, a sneaky raspberry! My comfrey is in need of a cutting & I will probably scatter it round the fruit trees. Have a great week. xx

  5. Chloris says:

    Do you make a plant tonic with your comfrey leaves? I soak them in a bucket of water with some nettles until they are really smelly then use it for my veg.
    Your first raspberry, wonderful, summer is here.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris I do, I cut a few leaves up, put them in an old one litre milk bottle, fill with water then leave to ferment. It’s very early, and I hope so.

  6. menhir1 says:

    One luscious raspberry… I wonder if your wee friend Robin was hoping to get to it before you did
    😉
    What do you use Comfrey for Mr F ? On GQT this week I heard something about Borage being soaked down and the water of it, or, perhaps the cooking water,(cannot remember which) could be used for doing something interesting for trees or garden plants. There was so much information to absorb, a lot of it not pertinent to anything I do, vague snippets of some comments lurk unconnected to anything firm, in my mind.

    xx

  7. Doris Potter says:

    Love the tiny robin on the rim of the dustbin! So cute!

  8. elaine says:

    What a delightful picture of your little Robin friend – I can’t believe you have your first raspberry already – it looks like it’s going to be a good year for soft fruit – yum.

  9. Jo says:

    There was always a robin watching us work on our old plot but I haven’t seen one at all on our new plot. I got the rest of my squash and courgette plants out this weekend too. I may have to resort to slug pellets yet, they’ve had a meal of my beans so I’m going to have to sow more. The nigella’s looking gorgeous, especially with a bit of sun shining down on it.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo you’ll probably find that one will appear later on in the year. It rather sounds like you will. It is, and some sunshine makes them look even better. xx

  10. snowbird says:

    Aren’t robins wonderful? Yours looks very tame, lovely that it’s keeping you company! Wow….a raspberry already, and love-in-a-mist flowers….marvelous, you are ahead of me!xxx

  11. CJ says:

    Beautiful white love-in-a-mist, I love it. Nice to hear all the things you are planting and sowing. I sowed some rocket today, and planted some purple mangetout – Shiraz – that I’d been after for a while. I found some on Ebay in the end, I quite often pick up seeds and little plants there. I hope your cucmbers, squashes and tomatoes survive the slugs. I need to cut my comfrey down too, I can’t really reach the compost bin any more! I hope you have a good week Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it’s a popular flower. Good for you. So far so good with the cucumber, etc. Do wear groves when you cut your comfrey down.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  12. Mo says:

    Well done on finding the raspberry before the birds did! 🙂

  13. Doug's Dad says:

    I’ve just come back from holiday having forgotten to put slug pellets down to find all eight squashes and courgettes noting but stalks sticking forlornly out of the ground – I HATE slugs.

    Mind the up side was that when exploring my currants I’ve found loads of beautiful red currents ripe already and have scoffed handfuls – before the blackbirds got them.

  14. nikkipolani says:

    Goodness, that is so sweet the little robin to tag along whilst you plotted. Good to see sweetness (in the form of berries) in your future!

  15. wellywoman says:

    I have a pot of comfrey liquid stewing – I just need to muster up the desire to take the lid off and actually use it. 😉 Loving your friendly robin. I don’t see so many at this time of year but there are a lot of young blackbirds hopping around the plot. I hope they’re eating all my slugs!

    • Flighty says:

      Welly it is a pretty disgusting smell isn’t it. Me too, but haven’t seen it this week. Nor me usually. That would be helpful wouldn’t it. xx

  16. I have a young robin in my garden who just starting to get his/her red chest. You have to look twice to much sure it isn’t a hedge sparrow. I put out a fat feeder this morning and once the starlings worked out how to get to it, it was gone. Bless them! My strawberries are doing well this year so far, but I don’t think my cherries will turn red as the starlings have already started on them.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula I had one like that on the plot a few years ago. Typical starlings! Good to see that your strawberries are doing well but shame about the cherries. xx

Leave a Reply

