It’s been another …

unsettled week with not enough sunshine and plenty of rain. However helping to make up for that have been some colourful flowers, soft fruit and wildlife.

I didn’t see the bee in this poppy picture until I was looking at ones I’d downloaded.

Oriental poppy and bee

I picked and ate the first strawberry, which was as delicious as it looked.

The first strawberry

I saw this male Azure Damselfly on the crocosmia leaves but it had flitted across to the adjacent plot before I could take a picture of it.

Male Azure Damselfly

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to It’s been another …

  1. wellywoman says:

    The glorious sunshine we’ve got today is much needed after such a soggy week. I picked my first strawberries today. I’m a bit worried because of all the rain they won’t have much flavour – good to know yours haven’t been affected. Brilliant to have caught that bee mid-flight. Lets hope for a dry weekend. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Welly yes indeed. That’s the only strawberry I’ve had so far. Thanks, definitely a lucky shot. It looks like being wet Saturday and sunny on Sunday. xx

  2. menhir1 says:

    What great colours. Is that one bee a rare one, or, are more to be seen than have been? We’ve had some released in our part of the country to try and boost UK numbers.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks. I’d guess it’s just one of the many honey bees that constantly visit the plot from a neighbour’s nearby hives. Their numbers could certainly do with a boost. xx

  3. Jo says:

    That’s a great photo of the bee. It’s funny how we often miss things until we start looking at the photos we’ve taken. Your strawberries are ahead of mine, but they shouldn’t be long now. I’m never fast enough to catch a photo of a damselfly, they’re much too quick for me and I don’t have much patience.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks, it’s a really lucky shot. It sure is and I’m often surprised when I look at the photos once they’ve been downloaded. One the one strawberry so far. I rarely even see damselflies let alone get to photograph one, and I’m not surprised. xx

  4. snowbird says:

    What lovely pics, it’s great to see your plot is attracting and providing for wildlife. I am jealous of your strawberry, I don’t have any ripe ones yet.xxx

  5. My strawberries are coming on a treat. Though with this rain, I think the slugs might have more than me. Great pictures. 🙂

  6. Chloris says:

    Strawberries ripe? Mine are nowhere near, are they special early ones?
    Lovely to get a photo of a damsel fly, it’s beautiful.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris just the one so far. I’ve no idea what variety they are as I’ve was given them by a plot neighbour. I was well pleased to get such a good photo. xx

  7. Julie says:

    Great photos Flighty… I do love a good bee photo, I’m also partial to a damsel fly too. I’ve spotted several round our pond but have yet to get a photo. We had our first strawberry the other day.. I looked today and there lots more ripe now.. yummy! :o) xx

    • Flighty says:

      Julie thanks. Me too, but I rarely take good ones. The damselfly photo is a first for me, so well pleased. Lucky you, and lots more to look forward to. xx

  8. CJ says:

    Beautiful damselfly photo. Nice to see that first strawberry. There are a few ripe ones in the garden now I think. That will be something for tomorrow though. I hope you have a lovely weekend Flighty. CJ xx

  9. Mo says:

    Beautiful damselfly 🙂 And a strawberry before Wimbledon! Hope you get many more 🙂

  10. Caro says:

    What a wonderful find, to see that you’d caught the bee midflight! You must have been thrilled! I’m seeing several ripe strawberries in the beds here but on closer inspection I find that they’ve been previously enjoyed – most unpleasant! I did manage to find one that I could eat but I’m enjoying eating mange-tout pods that are safely above ground level a whole lot more!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro it sure was. Yes as I rarely take such shots, deliberate or otherwise. Shame about the strawberries, and glad that you found something edible to enjoy. xx

  11. lizard100 says:

    I love the red when it appears on the plot. It’s just cheerful.

  12. Anonymous says:

    Agree – unsettled weather, one minute sun, one minute pouring rain. The blue damselfly is quite striking.

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Great shots this week. I love photographic surprises 🙂

Leave a Reply

