I do hope that

It’s not been easy to keep smiling since last Sunday’s post as the internet connections got worse again, and the problem wasn’t fully sorted out until yesterday lunch-time, and the  weather has been rather miserable the past few days so I haven’t been plotting.

Snail on the oriental poppyI went to the plot earlier today just for a look round and although it all looks lush a closer inspection reveals that the slugs and, more noticeably, snails have been eating almost everything including pot marigolds and potatoes.

 

A well nibbled pot marigold Nibbled potato foliage

Lots of flower seedlings and nearly a complete row of dwarf French beans have simply disappeared.

I do hope that it’s not going to be one of those years!

It’s dry today and thankfully the forecast is looking better so hopefully I’ll doing some plotting, and be in a better mood.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to I do hope that

  1. Caro says:

    The slugs and snails have been very bold and noticeable in the veg patch during this rain, even basking on the top of the largest rhubarb leaves! I don’t think my delphiniums will stand much of a chance, or the lettuce! Be vigilant and keep turning the pots over to check! If you grow rosemary, also check for Rosemary Beetle – I’ve found quite a few on my plant.

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I’m sure that they’ve been all over the plot. Rosemary Beetles got my one plant last year and I didn’t replace it, they also go for lavender so I’ll be cheeking those as they’re just about to flower. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I hope your internet connection is fully sorted out now, it’s such a pain when it isn’t working as it should. It’s been raining non stop for the last two days and intermittently before that so I haven’t been to the allotment at all this week, I do hope the slugs haven’t devoured everything on my plot. It looks like there’s enough of your plants, at least the ones in the photos, left to recover, fingers crossed that they do.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo yes thankfully it is now fully sorted and okay. It’s been a pretty dire week hasn’t it. The potatoes are okay but various other plants haven’t fared so well so I guess I’ll be replanting and sowing during the next week. xx

  3. Joanne says:

    Oh no I hope it’s now sorted finally for you. I fear it is going to be one of those years, I relocated two rather fat snails from the top of my extremely spiky raspberry canes last week! Time will tell.

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne it is thankfully. I do hope not, and we should be okay if it’s more dry than wet over the coming weeks. I shall be looking everywhere for them tomorrow. It will indeed. xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Slugs and snails — really the bane of veg gardening. I hope some of your crop will recover!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki not just vegetables but flowers as well. Some things need replanting or sowing again. That will depend on the weather, which I hope will be mainly dry. xx

  5. Mo says:

    It’s perfect weather for slugs and snails isn’t it? 😦 Also good weather for ducks and if you could have those on your lottie you’d be sorted!

  6. snowbird says:

    Oh I am sorry to hear of all the damage….it really upsetting isn’t it?
    I’m having similar problems, my spuds are fine but the courgette, squash, toms and kale seem to be devoured on a daily basis.xxx

  7. Catherine C says:

    I hope so too, I’ve had a half row of carrot seedlings disappear overnight. You wouldn’t believe where I have seen some snails dangling from. Have a good weekend Flighty x
    P.S. I have changed from WordPress and started blogging again on Blogspot 😉
    http://cathsirishveggiegarden.blogspot.ie/

  8. menhir1 says:

    The food chain is difficult to deal with, it seems. Is there anything you can do to recover the situation?

    I do hope your internet connection really does settle this time.

    Birds have taken to a tree where my ‘natural garden’ is developing. The amount of white ‘lime’ on leaves I want, blooms I am nurturing and weeds, which I am not nurturing, is phenomenal. XX

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it can look rather tenuous at times. Yes I’ll be resowing some things.
      Thanks, it’s been okay since Wednesday so hopefully has settled.
      That’s always a problem where birds congregate like that. xx

  9. pianolearner says:

    a bad year for them I fear. I wonder where we can buy frogs?

  10. Chloris says:

    Dismal weather and armies of marauding slugs and snails- the trials of being a gardener. The molluscs seem very partial to dill too, mine has totally disappeared. I have put coffee grounds round all my courgettes and it seems to work. But I can’ t drink coffee fast enough to protect all my beans.
    Let’ s hope the sun will come out soon.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris that says it all. I’ve bought some organic pellets which I will reluctantly use if it doesn’t get drier and sunnier soon. I do hope so. xx

  11. CJ says:

    Thank goodness your internet connection has finally been sorted, it’s not much fun when technology doesn’t work. I noticed quite a few slugs today when I was picking radishes. But I think there will be a few dry days now, so hopefully they’ll all go and hide somewhere. Out of sight, out of mind. Until I wake up and find I’ve got no lettuces left.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ yes it is all sorted now thankfully. I’m a bit like that that as well. I noticed this morning that they’d been at the lettuces. xx

  12. Sharon says:

    Hi Flighty, thanks for your visit. Hope it’s not one of those years for you. We had a difficult summer this year – lots of natural inconveniences like snails, slugs, blight and weather! So hope your summer doesn’t follow our pattern.

  13. elaine says:

    Oh what a shame – the slugs and snails sound like they have been having a field day on your plants. It is so frustrating. I have had to re-plant my broccoli three times but I think it was pigeons that did the damage this time. Let’s hope the weather improves along with your mood. Hope you have a good weekend despite everything.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine it is, and they sure have. It looks the weather will be better next week, and I’m sure that my mood will. Thanks, and you too. xx

  14. VP says:

    My sympathies Flighty – we had internet connection problems in the very wet summer and had the devil of a job to persuade the powers that be that the fault lay elsewhere, not in our house. It was a very frustrating time and a bit frightening to know how dependent we’ve become on the internet.

    I planted a few things up at the plot yesterday and was amazed at how wet the soil still is *sigh*

    • Flighty says:

      VP it can be an uphill struggle sometimes can’t it. I bet it was, and yes it is which is why we perhaps panic just a bit when it happens.
      I know the feeling as I was doing some hand weeding this morning in very wet soil. xx

  15. Glad to hear you are back online again. It’s surprising how quickly we miss it once it has gone. I’m sorry to hear about your disappearing plants. I’m lucky that I can check my garden out every day. I’m very pleased with my potatoes plants at the moment they are fine, though last year they were eaten overnight.
    My runners are growing and my butternuts are just starting to grow as they were slow to get started. Just too cold.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula thanks. Yes it really is. I’ll be resowing next week. My potatoes are looking good as well despite a few nibbles. I’ve not sown my runner beans yet and the butternuts are still on the windowsill. Hopefully it will warm up soon. xx

  16. Carrie says:

    blasted slugs – i loathe them, can’t think of a good thing to say about them at all. They are nibbling through our plot too, as are the pigeons, gggrr

  17. Slugs and snails are just two creatures that I wouldn’t worry about if they were on the endangered list.

  18. Glo says:

    Oy ~ definitely some nibbles happening on your plot! Have you thought of making a home made slug trap? Lots of info online… and don’t mention your mother’s scissors 😉 Hopefully the weather is good now and you’re back at it …

    • Flighty says:

      Glo lots of nibbling all over. I’ve sprinkled some organic slug pellets around. I wouldn’t dream of mentioning scissors or a sharp knife! The weather is better at the moment so I’ve been busy plotting again. xx

  19. Sorry for your pests and Internet trials Flighty. It is so very disheartening when things you have lovingly tendedbare ravaged by slugs and snails. As for the internet, it has become so essential to modern day life that all interruptions are hugely disruptive.

  20. Catherine C says:

    Oh no….I have just planted 12 dwarf french beans outside, must keep an eye out for them 🙂

Leave a Reply

