I’m still smiling…

despite the internet connection problems that I mentioned on Friday, and which have now mostly been resolved thankfully.

The weather has been rather unsettled over the past few days with plenty of rain so I’ve not been able to do much plotting either.

Luckily I borrowed a couple of recently published quirky crime novels from the library on Friday which I’m looking forward to reading.

Here are three off plot pictures that I hope will make you smile.

I saw this Painted Lady butterfly last Wednesday on a neighbouring plot –

Painted Lady butterfly

How about this frothy white tree blossom that I photographed this morning –

White blossom

And lastly plot neighbour Trevor kindly showed me his fluffy little two day old chick –

Two day old chick

 

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to I’m still smiling…

  1. elaine says:

    Yes they did make me smile, thanks. Have a good week.

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, what a darling little chick! And those beautiful blooms. They look a little like the photinias here when people don’t carve them into boxes and let them flower.

  3. CJ says:

    The chick is adorable. So chickens are allowed at your site? There aren’t any at our site, although I haven’t seen any rules against them. The blossom is beautiful, it’s my favourite time of year. I hope you have a good Monday Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ they are allowed but there are problems with complaints when cockerels are kept, and the council keeps humming and hawing about the rules for them. It sure is, and I can see why. Thanks, it was wet here so I spent most of the day sofa flying with a good book. xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    Coo, that is truly a fluffy little one. Glad your internet probs are about resolved. I’ve a few pix of the same species of butterfly, didn’t know it was also called A Painted Lady…I’ve always referred to it as a Red Admiral. I rather like the alternative name, it’s much more butterfly-ish.

    XX

  5. Mo says:

    I’m smiling 🙂 Especially at the little chick!

  6. Jo says:

    Awwww, such a cute little chick, and that frothy blossom is beautiful. Glad you’ve got the internet problems sorted out, it’s such a pain when it’s not working as it should.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I agree on both counts. Thanks, it’s still a little bit nigglely but I’m told that it will settle down over the next day or two. xx

  7. snowbird says:

    Awwwhhh….what a cute chick! I love the butterfly too. How cheering this post is.xxx

  8. Love the frothy blossom, and who wouldn’t smile at the sight of that chick! Great photo of the butterfly, I am an abject failure when it comes to photographing them, I never seem to have the camera there and ready when one appears.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I thought that you’d all appreciate these. Thanks, I seem to be getting better at photographing them but do appreciate how hard is usually is. xx

  9. Joanne says:

    What a cute little chick, I’m glad your internet was sorted in the end. Have a great week.

  10. Caro says:

    I hope you’re not a fast reader, Flighty! The weather has been conducive to armchairs, mugs of tea and good books over the past few days, although Sunday was rather good for gardening. I hope the chicks are well fenced in, given that you have a fox who likes to visit the plots!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro not generally, but I have plenty of books to read. It’s been a pretty miserable week hasn’t it. All the chicken areas are well fox proofed but sadly it’s two-legged vandals that have been a problem lately

  11. What wonderful pictures. The painted lady was beautiful. It is lovely to see such beautiful creature up-close. As a child I only saw such things in a book. To me these weren’t common in my garden where I lived. Nowadays, when I see such things I get very excited, it’s like being a child again.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula thanks. I often don’t have the camera to hand so just stand, or crouch, and look at them. I’ve never lost my sense of wonder of such magical creatures. xx

  12. Carrie says:

    good photos indeed – a smile was created across my face xx

Leave a Reply

