On the windowsill…

at home I have various plants that I’ve grown from seed I sowed at the beginning of April.

I’ve four tomatoes Gardener’s Delight along with two each Golden Queen and Golden Sunrise, all of which will be planted out on the plot during early June.

Tomatoes and coleus   Cucumbers, squash and tomatoes

There’s also one of each tomato SweetN’ Neat red and yellow which will be repotted but will stay on the windowsill.
There are two cucumbers Marketmore and one squash Jack be Little which will also be planted out on the plot. The cucumber seeds germinated in just a few days but only one of two squash seeds appeared and that took ages.

Butternut squash plantPlot neighbour Margo has given me a couple of butternut squash plants which I’ve not grown before, so it be interesting to see how these do.

Coleus 'Carefree' seedlingsAs I’ve mentioned before I try growing Coleus from seed every year without success until now. I have ten still very small seedlings one of which is noticeably different in that instead of paired opposite leaves it has three.

I’ve sowed two lots of Browallia speciosa Silver Bells seeds but no far there’s no sign of any germinating!

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image] 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to On the windowsill…

  1. lovely post and thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. What a great garden to have on your windowsill!

  3. CJ says:

    Everything’s growing well Flighty. I had some trouble germinating squashes and courgettes this year. Some of my courgette seed was two or three years old, and out of five Crown Prince seeds that I got on ebay only one germinated. One might be enough though, I’m running out of space!

  4. menhir1 says:

    It’s very promising, the plants are healthy. The only plants on my windowsill now, are two Aloevera. One gets used and it shows, the other is fulsome and more decorative.

  5. Mo says:

    I’ve just recently moved my Tommies off the windowsill. Left there now are 5 Chilli’s but I sowed them late and hold little hope of the growing and ripening unless we get a long summer – or any summer at all! 🙂
    It sounds like you may have an intruder in your Coleus!

    • Flighty says:

      Mo I’ll be moving mine soon. Good luck with the chilli’s, so fingers crossed for a good, long summer. Maybe I have, time will tell. xx

  6. elaine says:

    Hope it’s a good year for tomatoes this year – your plants look healthy enough, let’s hope they stay that way.

  7. Jo says:

    I’ve never heard of Sweet N’Neat, I take it they’re a very small variety if you’re keeping them on your windowsill. I shall look forward to seeing how they do, it’s always good to have plants close at hand. I love Butternut squash but I’ve never grown them before, I may give them a go next year.

  8. Mark Willis says:

    Maybe your 3-leaf Coleus is the equivalent of the lucky 4-leaf clover, and you will be successful this time!

  9. I have a tiny garden and last year grew my butternut squash in large pots and tied them in along a fence, it worked and I had 3 squashes of each plant. Growing in pots works for my courgettes too.

  10. Carrie says:

    Looking fabulous! Plus butternut squash is my favourite vegetable, so I am loving your gift giver of a friend 🙂 Love Mark Willis’ idea – You shall be lucky this year 😊

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie thanks. I shall remember that when I try one. Me too, it’ll be interesting to see if it continues to grow three-leaved. It’d be nice if we all were. xx

  11. snowbird says:

    They are all looking good! It’s odd how some plants refuse to germinate isn’t it, my Himalayan poppies haven’t come up this year, I really am disappointed.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks. Yes it is but there’s always something that doesn’t. What a shame that your Himalayan poppies haven’t as they really are lovely flowers. xx

  12. Joanne says:

    I had to resow some courgette seeds & my Baby Bear pumpkins seeds refused to germinate at all, it mustn’t be the year for them. Have a great weekend.

  13. wellywoman says:

    Good to see all your tomatoes. I just bought 2 tumbler tomatoes at the weekend. I’m hoping that this will be a blight-free year as I haven’t had any luck with tomatoes since we moved here from Berkshire. Have a good weekend. x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ thanks I’m well pleased with them so far. My site usually suffers from blight as well, but most years I’ve had plenty of fruit before it struck. It’s a shame that you’ve had no luck. Thanks, and you too. xx

  14. hope my Toms do as well as yours, I planted them out 2 weeks ago

  15. Chloris says:

    Can you grow tomatoes outside? I have had blight for the last couple of years on outdoor tomatoes. Butternut squash is delicious roasted, I’ ve never grown it, but I certainly like to eat it.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris yes but bright usually gets to them sooner or later. Lots of people have the same problem so don’t grow them. I’ll remember that when I come to, hopefully, cook and eat mine. xx

  16. Glo says:

    Your windowsill garden looks promising. It must have been a delight to see your coleus pop up and say hello 🙂

  17. nikkipolani says:

    Ooh, good luck with that coleus! I planted some (not from seed) a few weeks ago but they are a bit shy with our way-too-hot then cool-and-cloudy weather. Hope yours thrive!

  18. Caro says:

    I also have a windowsill (and balcony) full of plants – my tomatoes and 2 chillies are still all indoors and I’ll put half of them out to see which does better. My windowsills are very narrow and the flat is quite shady so I suspect that these are not the best growing conditions. One of my tomatoes germinated with 3 leaves, then had another set of 3 true leaves but seems to have sorted itself out now. Looks like you could finally get the coleus’ you want – fingers crossed that the little plants do well from now! Have a good weekend!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I sympathise as I only have one windowsill that I can use. I hope that your plants are okay. I’m pleased with the coleus, and as you say hope that they do well. Thanks, anf you too. xx

  19. All looking great! I’m growing butternut squash for the 1st time this year, the seeds seemed to take ages to germinate but 2 of the 3 popped their heads up this week. My courgettes and cucumbers doing well so far too – all on my kitchen windowsill at the moment but will be potting on at the weekend so there won’t be room for them there then.

    • Flighty says:

      AllotmentinmyGarden thanks. It’ll be interesting to see how we do with the butternut squashes. Hopefully I’ll be planting all mine out in the next week or so. xx

  20. pianolearner says:

    I wonder if grafted tomatoes are still being sold or if it was just a fad a few years ago….

  21. Fingers crossed for your coleus Flighty, sounds promising. Your tomatoes look impressively healthy, lets hope blight is late or non existent so that we get loads of tomatoes. My outside toms are sulking a little at the moment, I think it is still a little too cold for them outside at night, but the greenhouse toms are looking good.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I’m well pleased with them so far, especially in view of past failures. Thanks, I hope so too. Outside tomatoes do that but are pretty hardy so I’m sure they’ll perk up when the weather does. xx

Leave a Reply

