Shows of hands

I have to admit that I’m not that fussed about the Chelsea Flower Show which is on this coming week. However I do like the alternative garden festival the Chelsea Fringe.  Last year fellow blogger Veg Plotting got involved with it in the form of cakes, which I’d guess that most gardeners like.  This year she’s gone for Shows of Hands where as you can see she’s asking us to do a post about our hands.

My left handYou’ve probably seen quite a lot of part of my left hand in various posts usually when I’m holding potatoes, tomatoes or something else to photograph them.  So here it is in it’s full unencumbered glory.

My right handMy right hand is perhaps a bit more interesting as I have a small lump on my middle knuckle and my middle thumb joint is somewhat arthritic and swollen.  As you can see I don’t wear any rings or a watch, and like to keep my finger nails trimmed so that I don’t get much dirt under them.

I generally don’t wear gloves on the plot, and if I do they’re soon removed, apart from when I’m pruning the blackberry bush and rose.  If I wear any they tend to be a pair of cheap lightweight ones like the ones on the right of the picture.

Gardening gloves

If you want to do a Shows of Hands post then have a look at Veg Plotting’s post via the link above or this Chelsea Fringe webpage for details.

Have a good week!

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Shows of hands

  1. Caro says:

    I love the photo of your gloves, Flighty! I must admit I always wear gloves and have a pair of very thin stretchy ones for fiddly weeding type jobs and a sturdier leather pair for pruning anything with prickles. Well done for taking a photo of both hands, quite a tricky manoeuvre – it’s usually my left hand that’s seen as I’m right handed, although I prefer to keep my hands out of the photo as they’re true gardener’s hand, rather lined and wrinkled!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks. It is a good idea to wear gloves. Yes taking a picture of my right hand was tricky. I generally only include mine to show a sense of scale. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I nearly always wear gloves when I’m gardening, I’m scared to death of something slimy wriggling up against my hands so better to be safe than sorry. I must admit that I’m looking forward to catching all the highlights of Chelsea on tv this week.

  3. I hadn’t thought of trying to take a photo of my hands, I got my partner to take my #showsofhands photographs. Kudos to you for such good pics, taken by your own hands!

    I must confess that I tend to mainly wear gloves. I don’t think I’ll ever get over growing up in Oz and being terrified by the creepy crawlies that were in and around the soil when gardening. UK bugs not so bad, but still…

  4. Chloris says:

    I never wear gloves. Well, I do start off with them but then pull them off very quickly. I would never show my hands, my nails are a disgrace. People keep giving me hand cream but I think my hands are beyond help. The only time they look reasonable is at the end of a holiday. I hardly recognise them then.

  5. snowbird says:

    I love the idea of the show of hands, I think all us gardeners have hardy hands….mine are awful as like you I can’t do much with gloves on and often start pulling weeds and forget to bother with gloves anyway. Nice to see your hands.xxx

  6. CJ says:

    I’ve got two or three pairs of gardening gloves as well, including a pair like yours on the right. The shed mice ate one of them, but I have replacements now! I like to wear Marigolds underneath as well sometimes for extra protection. I’m a bit of a girl when it comes to slimy things hiding in the wet grass. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I think that gloves are another item gardeners tend to accumulate. Wearing Marigolds as well sounds like a good idea. I don’t blame you as I don’t like slimy things either. xx

  7. Joanne says:

    Love the hands, what a fun idea. I think I would like to visit Chelsea in the next couple of years.

  8. Lovely post flighty thanks for sharing have a blessed week

  9. daffy says:

    Fun and interesting post! I like hands… mine don’t look as good as they used too… I fear “old lady” hands are coming on. Extra wrinkles… more prominent veins etc.. You do have nice fingernails. neat and tidy!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy hello and thanks. I think that hands get more distinguished, and interesting, with age. I’ve always kept my nails short and neat. xx

  10. I`m not keen on Chelsea either much prefering the Hampton Court flower show

  11. Chelsea can seem rather remote from real life somehow, though I do enjoy reading about the various bloggers’ experiences, and generally add to my plant wishlist too. Your hands are rather fine, and so very clean, perhaps because of the gloves? Mine are generally rather dirty, and I don’t like to wear gloves unless absolutely necessary, I love the feeling of dirt too much!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet that’s what I think about Chelsea as well. The only reason my hands were clean was because I was taking pictures of them and didn’t want to get the camera dirty. Mine are too, nor me, and I do too! xx

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Kind of a fun meme, Flighty, and nice to meet… your hands! I have rather a heap of gloves because, though I like gardening, I don’t like digging into dirt bare-handed.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki fun indeed, and thanks. For anyone like yourself I guess a heap of gloves is a necessity.
      By the way I still have, and use, the second pair that you sent me in my heap! xx

  13. VP says:

    Hi Flighty, thanks for joining in again this year 🙂 I’ve been secretly keeping a tally of whether gloves are involved or not and it’s great to see you’ve opened up the debate on your blog. Were your photos taken on your plot? I’m just asking in readiness for putting my summary map together…

    • Flighty says:

      VP you’re welcome. It’s interesting to see if people are mostly hands or gloves on gardeners. Yes all these photos were taken on my plot last Sunday. xx

  14. Glo says:

    I was amazed at the amount of buds on your Pretty Lady Rose in a previous post! Show of hands is a great idea ~ and I think I see a long lifeline there 😉 Good to see your helping hands 🙂

Leave a Reply

