I suppose that…

a period of mostly unsettled, wet and windy weather, as there’s been over the past week or so, was inevitable following the good Bank Holiday weekend. I did manage to hoe round a couple of times to keep the weeds down.

Potato foliage, mid MayThere were a couple of cold nights the weekend before last when there was just a touch of frost which nipped the potato foliage turning some of the leaves brown. Thankfully they soon recovered as you can see here.

Onions, mid May

 

The onions are doing well, but I wish that I had spaced them out a bit more as I’m not finding it easy to weed between and round  them.

 

Rose 'Pretty  Lady' budsI don’t think that I’ve ever seen so many buds on the rose Pretty Lady, and definitely not as early in the year as this.

 

The patch of self-sown blue love-in-a mist (nigella damascena) will be flowering soon, and isn’t the feathery foliage a bright green!

Love-in-a-mist foliage and buds.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I suppose that…

  1. Looking good by the photos thanks for sharing Flighty

  2. CJ says:

    It’s all looking wonderful. I’ve sown some nigella, but I just have tiny seedlings at the moment. My onions are pretty close together too, so no doubt I’ll have the same problem. Enjoy the rest of the week. CJ xx

  3. Jo says:

    Your potatoes are growing away well, it won’t be long until we’re tasting the first harvest. The nigella is gorgeous even before it flowers, such tactile foliage.

  4. I was so worried I was going to lose my potatoes but lucky for me I kept them covered. Like you my onions are doing well. I have planted butternuts under glass so I hoping the warm weather will help them along.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula frosted potato foliage does regrow. I was given a couple of butternut squash plants which I’ll plant out in a couple of weeks or so. xx

  5. Joanne says:

    Touch wood there hasn’t been any frost here lately. I’m glad your potato foliage survived! For the first time ever I spaced my onions correctly, I must say it was a pleasure to hoe between them, but then I only have the 16 so not a hard job. Have a good weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne fingers crossed that was the last frosty nights. Well done, I usually leave a bit more space than I have and have rather more than you. Thanks, and you too. xx

  6. Oooh, your tatties are looking marvellous Flighty! AoF

  7. elaine says:

    Everything is looking pretty good – the weather seems to be suiting the garden. Have a good weekend.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    That bright bright green is a respite for my eyes. Your tidy little veg beds look so well tended and ready to produce well for you this season.

  9. snowbird says:

    It’s all coming along great, your love-in-a-mist is much farther on than mine! I have the same problem this year, I’ve planted things too close together and am also struggling to get at the weeds.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks, the white ones still have a long way to go. I always try not so I don’t end up walking on anything in my size ten wellies. xx

  10. Chloris says:

    I never know when my potatoes are ready . Do you wait until they have flowered? How do you tell?

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris wait for them to flower and the foliage to start dying back, but be aware that some varieties don’t flower, then have a gentle feel ( known as a firkle or furtle!) in the soil. First earlies take around 75 days, second earlies 110 and maincrop 160.
      I hope that this helps. xx

  11. Caro says:

    Like CJ, my nigella are just tiny seedlings. Hopefully they’ll thrive this summer because I’d love to have self-seeded nigella to look forward to – it will take some of the weight off my balcony as well! The fluffiness of the foliage is just gorgeous, so fresh and green! Hope you’re having a good weekend – a bit on the hot side for me and the plants though!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro they should grow and flower in the summer. I like feathery foliage of which these are such a good example. I am thanks, plotting both mornings and sofa flying with a good book after lunch. It is for me too! xx

Leave a Reply

