Green and white

As well as enjoying the blossom and daffodils what I always find noticeable in springtime is how fresh all the green foliage looks, especially in the sun after there’s been some rain.

Nerine leavesThe nerine bowdenii leaves which are looking good now will die right back later in the year then in October flower stems will appear.

Collomia grandifloraThere’s a story to tell about these collomia grandiflora which I’ll try to remember to when I show them flowering.

Ground ivyThe ground ivy (glechoma hederacea) which I keep within bounds along two sides of the stone feature, is apparently edible.

As I mentioned last week the poached egg plant flowers have started appearing but yesterday I noticed some white ones, presumably limnanthes douglasii ‘Meringue’. I’ve not knowingly sown any of these so wonder where they’ve come from, not that I mind as I like them.

Limnanthes douglasii 'Meringue'

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Green and white

  1. CJ says:

    I love the white poached egg plant. And I love tempura, I’d happily try it with ground ivy. I like that it’s not deep fried as well, I wonder if that would work with other things. I love the foliage of everything at this time of year too, it’s such a vibrant green, and suddenly it’s everywhere. Off to the allotment this morning (hopefully) to help the boys plant out their sweetcorn. I hope the weather’s good with you too. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ me too, it was such a surprise seeing them. I might give it a try. I hope that you got to the allotment. I sow my sweetcorn direct but not for another few weeks at the earliest. Thanks, it’s been good here all weekend. xx

  2. awesome post and thank you for sharing and have a blessed week

  3. I love the white poached egg plant and I agree with you about the extra green on leaves at this time of year

  4. elaine says:

    I love the lush feel of the garden at this time of year before it gets old and dusty. The white flower of the poached egg plant is lovely I almost prefer it to the yellow and white. Have a good week’s gardening.

  5. I just love the fresh green of the trees at this time of year – it is a tint not seen at other times and all to quickly fades.

  6. Mark Willis says:

    I particularly like the fresh green leaves of Beech trees – very characteristic of this time of year. The Calendula seeds you sent me are coming up now, so I have those to look forward to… Thanks!

  7. Jo says:

    I love all the different greens of springtime, and how quickly everything turns to green too. Things seem to be in the brown stage of winter and then you look again and everything’s covered in greenery. I’ve never seen white poached egg plants, in fact, I didn’t know there was a white variety.

  8. pianolearner says:

    I love the greens and whites at this time of year, so zingy and full of promise.

  9. Chloris says:

    The fresh May green of everything is wonderful. I love your white poached egg plant. I didn’t know they came in white. What a pity that it is already available. You could have made your fortune with a brand new plant. Well, a bit of pocket money at least.

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Oh those delicate whites! Who wouldn’t like them?
    So are you going to try eating that edible ivy?

  11. Joanne says:

    I like the white poached egg flowers. I do have some to sow which I’m hoping will mix with the yellow ones I have in my garden. No matter what variety I sow mine just stay yellow. It’s lovely to the see the greenery at this time of year.

  12. snowbird says:

    I do love the white poached egg plant, I haven’t seen that before. I agree about the greens, especially the leaves on the trees, they always look so delicate and fresh. How interesting about the ground ivy.xxx

  13. Glo says:

    What a lovely refreshing post with your fresh spring colours! I am having computer woes so hopefully it will be sorted soon!

  14. I always think there is something particularly magical about the freshness and brightness of the new leaves in spring, I almost don’t need flowers, but I do love that white “poached egg plant”. I finally have some seedlings appearing, but it will be months before I see any flowers from them! I’ll try again next year…

    • Flighty says:

      Janet me too, but some flowers are always welcome. I’m sure that you’ll get some flowers next year if you sow the seeds in the autumn. xx

Leave a Reply

