Digging and pecking

The plot hawthornUntil today the weather has been much better than was forecast on Sunday so I’ve been plotting every morning.  As a follow on to last Sunday’s post here is the hawthorn with some blossom just visible.

Something has been digging in the long planter, as you can see in the left-hand picture below, so on Tuesday I dug the crocus up to store for replanting later in the year.

I added some new compost,  put the wire mesh in place, sowed some nasturtium Empress of India seeds then scattered a thin layer of mulch over the top.

However the something is pretty determined as yesterday I found that it had had another go as you can see in the right-hand picture.  I tidied it but will wait until it hopefully gives up before sowing more seeds.

The long planter (1)    The long planter (2)

I think that a green woodpecker has been pecking at the old log seat, which stands upright in the log pile,  searching for ants which it eats.  Unlike the something above I don’t mind this.   Here’s before and after pictures where you can see what it did.

The old log seat   A well pecked log!
California Poppy

Lastly wandering round the site I came across this California poppy (eschscholzia californica) on a neighbour’s plot. I sowed some a couple of weeks ago which have just germinated, and are something to look forward to in the summer.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Digging and pecking

  1. I have seed of that same poppy winging its way to me Flighty, its one of my favourites. Glad to hear you have been able to do lots of plotting. In my garden your determined digger would be a blackbird, I have to make sure my seedlings are robust enough to put up with their determined digging, though I have discovered beetroot seedlings strewn all over the surface of the bed… Wonderful to have a woodpecker visit.

  2. Lovely post Mike thank you for sharing have a blessing of a day

  3. Caro says:

    The warm weather this past week has been lovely but I’m glad of some rain today as the garden needed a good watering! It’s so frustrating when ‘something’ comes to make random holes in the soil; most of my beds are netted off now because of that although I suspect that birds are flying in over the nets to peck at my broad beans! Lots of goldfinches and blue tits being seen around the gardens here this year – they’re pecking off the aphids on the fruit trees which is great news!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I agree about the weather and rain. It would be good to know what the ‘something’ is. Lucky you with the goldfinches and blue tits, both lovely little birds. xx

  4. Mo says:

    Hi! Thanks for visiting 🙂 I also wondered if your digger was actually a Blackbird? We have moles 😦

    • Flighty says:

      Mo you’re welcome. It could be, several people have suggested that’s what it is. Oh dear, I certainly don’t want moles on the plot! xx

  5. CJ says:

    How lovely to have a woodpecker visiting your plot. A shame about the digger though. I’ve got lots of blackbirds in the garden, but they’re just taking worms (and grapes that I put out for them) at the moment, and they’re welcome to those. Do you eat your nasturtiums flowers/buds? I’ve heard you can and they’re peppery which sounds quite appealing.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I do see them flying across the site occasionally but it would be great to see one on the plot. I hope that your blackbirds don’t become a nuisance. I keep meaning to but never have so far. xx

  6. Jo says:

    I wonder what your mystery digger is, such a nuisance when you’ve planted seeds. I’ve sown some nasturtium this year, Peach Melba. It’s the first time I’ve grown nasturtiums intentionally for a few years now, I swore I wouldn’t again after having seedlings popping up all over the place for years after I’d grown them. How lovely to have a woodpecker visiting, it’s a shame you haven’t seen it pecking at the log.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it would be good to find out. I like that variety, and have grown them. I’m forever pulling up unwanted nasturtium seedlings. It sure is, and fingers crossed I may do one day. xx

  7. Elaine says:

    Your mystery digger is most likely a badger one year they tipped up a container of carrots in my garden and ate the lot. I love the California poppy they re-seed every year a lovely patch of bright colour

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine thankfully there are no badgers hereabouts. If it had one I’d have thought that it would have caused far more damage. Me too, and hope that’s what mine will do. xx

  8. Chloris says:

    It would be wonderful to catch sight of your woodpecker. They are beautiful birds. They look so exotic.
    The birds are busy feeding the young at the moment and they are pecking around everywhere.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris they sure are, I sometimes see them fly across the site, and on the grass near the gates.
      It looks like its been a good year for birds doesn’t it. xx

  9. Joanne says:

    I wonder what you have digging there, I hope you find out for sure what it is. I have some yellow poppies flowering i my front garden now. I wonder if they are similar. Have a good weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne I think that I’ll be lucky to find what it is, I just hope that it gives up and leaves the planter alone. These poppies are low growing and have feathery foliage. Thanks, and you too. xx

  10. pianolearner says:

    I love seeing woodpeckers, we have quite a lot round us on our lunchtime walks at work.

  11. Anonymous says:

    I have a mystery digger also I keep finding holes in my pots and had my sprouts shots disturbed by it. I am currently using a deck chair as make shift protection until I manage to get some nets up and it seems to be working. I did wonder about birds but have not had any problems in the past but we currently have a fence down and I’m wondering if maybe the digger is on four legs rather than two. The poppy looks lovely, hope yours come up as nice.

    • Flighty says:

      Anonymous (?) hello, I like the idea of using a deckchair as you’ve done. It’s annoying when this happens isn’t especially when we don’t know what the culprit is. Fingers crossed with the poppies.

  12. snowbird says:

    I love the poppy, one of my all time favourites.
    Now I wonder what has been digging??? a squirrel maybe? I heard lots of woodpeckers in the lakes, the speed they tap at amazes me, I only spotted one though, how lovely that you have one.xxx

Leave a Reply

