I’ve not done much…

There was plenty of rain last week, including all day Friday, so I’ve not done much plotting and the forecast is much the same for most of the coming week.

Poached egg plant flowerWith the daffodils and narcissi now finished, and the perennial cornflowers and poached egg plants just starting to flower, it’s foliage that is of interest at the moment.

Oriental poppySome of the plants, such as the oriental poppy,  that normally would have died back over the winter didn’t thanks to the mild weather so have got off to a good start.

I’ve let this self-seeded common fennel grow as it’s in a much better place than the original one, which I’ve now dug up.

Feathery common fennelI’ve a poor sense of smell but this is one exception with it’s strong aniseed scent.

LavenderThe lavenders did well last year and attracted plenty of butterflies, and will hopefully do the same again.

What has pleased me is the hawthorn blossoming for the first time. There aren’t a lot of flowers and most are partly hidden by the leaves.

Hawthorn blossom

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to I’ve not done much…

  1. CJ says:

    I love hawthorn flowers, beautiful. Nice to see the poached egg plant flowering as well. There’s been lots of rain here too, but at least I don’t have to water now!

    • Flighty says:

      CJ Good for you, they sure are. Just wait until the poached egg plants are flowering en masse. It was mostly dry yesterday and today, nor me. xx

  2. snowbird says:

    The weather has turned chilly and wet here too….sighs, what’s happened to that heatwave that was predicted? The hawthorn is delightful, it has been a wonderful year for the blossom!xxx

  3. David Ford says:

    what a lovely flower on that Hawthorn and that Fennel makes a wonderful statement your plot must look a picture in full summer

  4. Jo says:

    I think I would have to touch that fennel each time I passed it, it looks so tactile. How lovely that the hawthorn is flowering, it’s always special when something blooms for the first time.

  5. elaine says:

    I have managed to do a bit here and there. Now most of the early spring flowers have gone that is when the foliage comes into play isn ‘t it. Just waiting for the next flush of flowers now. Have yourself a good week.

  6. Lucy Corrander says:

    That clinches it. Your fennel shows your spring is well ahead of ours.

  7. Chloris says:

    Lovely May blossom. So good to see it, now we can all safely cast a clout.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Lovely lovely. I never tire of seeing the progression of plants. Was just noticing that my lavender has recovered from my very very very late pruning. Hope yours will have a great season.

  9. VP says:

    Your hawthorn is ahead of ours – it’s still in very tight bud!

    I managed to dodge the showers yesterday and empty 2 compost bins into the new raised bed. Just need to find some more to fill it!

  10. Caro says:

    I was marvelling at the clouds of hawthorn blossom on Hampstead Heath just this morning! My poached egg plant has been flowering for a few weeks now but there’s no yolks! I even thinned the mass of plants out after you identified it (thank you!) in case that was affecting the colour but, sadly, made no difference. At least I’ve still got my first tulips flowering with the final batch just coming up now. And of course, there’s the aquilegias which are just gorgeous!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro that sounds like a wonderful sight. I’ve never seen,or heard of, poached egg plants like that. I’ll should be saving some seed, so I’ll let you have some and hopefully next year they’ll have yolks. Lucky you with the tulips as mine have all finished. I seem to have lost the few aquilegias I did have, think I must have dug them up. xx

  11. annie_h says:

    Its been wet here too, though there has been some sunshine in between the showers so I have managed to get a few things done. What a lovely picture of the Hawthorn blossom, its not quite out yet here in Huddersfield but will be looking forward to spotting some. Hope the rain stops for you soon.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie it’s been pretty much the same here. I’m sure that you’ll soon be seeing hawthorn blossom. Thanks, the forecast changed and it looks like Thursday will be the only wet day here this week. xx

  12. I can’t believe you have hawthorn blossom already Flighty! I check my tree daily but although the buds are swelling, no blossom yet. I think I have some poached egg plants germinating, but actual flowers?! Nope! I do have lots of bronze fennel though, which smells amazing when I brush up against it whilst weeding. And the borage is flowering away and attracting bees and hoverflies. Oh, and one of my marigolds lasted through the winter and is flowering away vigorously! enjoy your flowers, I hope you get some plotting in warm spring sunshine soon.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet it is very early isn’t it. I’m sure that you’ll soon be seeing yours, and the poached egg flowers. There’s no sigh of my usual one borage plant so far this year. I’ve pot marigold appearing all over the plot as usual. Thanks, I could certainly do with some sunshine here. xx

  13. Alison says:

    I miss getting my hands dirty with dirt and gardening. Looks like some good flowers and plants that I would have in my garden 🙂 Have a wonderful week Flighty!

Leave a Reply

