It’s a dull Easter Sunday…

with rain due later on so I won’t be plotting today.

There are still a few daffodils and narcissi to be seen.

The last daffodils 2014   Some of the last narcissi 2014

Red tulipYellow tulip

 

The tulips, a few red ones out on the plot and some yellow ones in a container, have already flowered and faded.

 

Rose campion in the stone featureThe rose campion (lychnis coronaria) in the stone feature is looking healthy, and that’s crocosmia you can see at the top of the picture.

And there’s a strawberry flower already!

First strawberry flower 2014

Walking round the site I took this picture of a Speckled Wood butterfly,

A Speckled Wood butterfly

but missed a male Orange Tip which I didn’t see until it flew off!

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to It’s a dull Easter Sunday…

  1. Lovely photos Flighty, shame no plotting today. I have a forest of lychnis promising plenty of flowers lately, yours looks very stylish in the stone.

  2. CJ says:

    Beautiful butterfly photo, I never manage to capture them. I love the stone with the rose campion, what a lovely focal point. I’m still liking the white daffodils too. I hope you have a good Easter Flighty, CJ xx

  3. Chloris says:

    Lovely photo of the speckled wood butterfly. I have had quite a few orange tip butterflies around lately, they like the Honesty and the garlic mustard in the hedgerow. Butterflies are so difficult to photograph though.
    Miserable and wet here too, so frustrating when you have things you need to get on with in the garden. Your plot looks so immaculate that you can take take some days off without worrying.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris thanks. I haven’t seen many orange-tips on the allotments. As you say butterflies are really hard to get good photos of.
      I didn’t mind too much as the ground needed some rain. I was there this morning just hoeing round to keep it looking good. Thanks, but not too many days. xx

  4. Jo says:

    It was sunny here half an hour ago so I put some washing on. It’s now turned dull so I’ve checked the forecast and it’s for rain, great! That’ll be the clothes horse coming out again then. That white daffodil is lovely, I think I shall go for some white ones next time.

  5. We have flowers on the alpine strawberries but they have been blackened by the cold so won’t produce

  6. menhir1 says:

    We’ve done well here, bright sunshine, if a little sharp nip on the breeze, not enough to dampen the prospects of the day. We went out for a long walk around and down a river valley, (a Strath). It was healthy and enjoyable. Hope your weather picks up soon.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it sounds like you had the best of the weather, and enjoyed your walk. It’s better today, due to be wet tomorrow than okay the rest of the week. xx

  7. snowbird says:

    I love that speckled wood butterfly! The white narcissi are so pure and pretty……gosh, a flower on the strawberry already? Mine are hardly up yet.xxx

  8. planted marigold and poppy seeds today, just a brief shower this afternoon, better than expected.

  9. Good day outside here in south Ireland, but changed suddenly about 5 pm.. now rain heading in!

  10. We had a hint of sunshine for a nano-second this afternoon before the rain set in. I did get quite a bit of potting on done between showers though!

  11. Doris Potter says:

    Love the flowers and butterfly! We are finally getting crocuses here and the early butterflies. Happy Easter! 🙂

  12. Lucy Corrander says:

    Happy Easter Flighty. I hope you enjoyed the rain at least a little! I think all our daffodils are over now – bar a few slug-eaten remains here and there. But I’ve noticed lots of Speckled Wood butterflies here too over the last couple of weeks.

    • Flighty says:

      Lucy thanks, and to you too. The rain was welcome as it was needed. That’s a shame, and mine have almost finished. It’s been a good year for butterflies so far, let’s hope that it continues. xx

  13. elaine says:

    I love the white daffodil – Easter nearly always turns out to be miserable weather doesn’t it.

  14. nikkipolani says:

    Well! For a “dull day” you certainly have found some bright blooms to share 🙂 My daffs have come and gone for some time now so I’m glad to see some of yours still cheery. Those white narcissi are so sweet.

  15. Thank you for sharing your round up with us. Over this holiday, my husband and I have been busy painting our lounge. This year we have planned to get jobs done around the house. My seeds in the kitchen are taking over and really need to go out, but we have had frost in my part of the country. I’ve put some under glass but we are away this weekend so I shall wait until we come home so I can keep an eye on them. Have a great week.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula you’re welcome. It’s good time to decorate, especially if the weather isn’t that good. Waiting until you come back before planting your seeds out is very sensible.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  16. Carrie says:

    It all looks great and so tidy – I blush! Xx

  17. Liz says:

    You do have cheerful pictures for a dull Easter Day! About five years ago, Easter was in April,and we had snow! No telling what to expect.

Leave a Reply

