I’ve been busy…

hoeing, planting, sowing and weeding almost every morning for the past couple of weeks.

Foliage first early potato 'Vales Emerald'Grapevine new growthThe onions now have a couple of inches of growth on them, but it’s noticeable that the red ones are slower.  First early potato Vales Emerald  foliage has started to appear.

There’s now new growth on the grapevine.

I’ve sown plenty of flower and vegetable seeds which I won’t list here but will mention them once they start appearing.

perennial cornflowerIt won’t be long before the perennial cornflower (centaurea montana) and poached egg plants (limnanthes douglasii) start flowering.

Unfortunately the white perennial cornflowers (centaurea montana alba) that I planted last autumn look to have rotted in the soggy soil. I’ve dug them all up and potted the few that still had roots on in the hope that they’ll still grow.

I’ve seen a few Peacock butterflies this week, and they’re one good reason why it’s worth leaving a few dandelions to flower as you can see –

Peacock butterfly on a dandelion

Working on the plot yesterday morning I heard an unfamiliar sploshing sound, which much to my surprise was a starling bathing in the dustbin lid pond. It flew from there to perch on top of the nearby bamboo cane wigwam fluttered it’s wings then flew back to the pond and did the same twice more before flying off.   Seeing that definitely made my week!

Happy gardening, and have a good Easter weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image] 

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to I’ve been busy…

  1. Lovely post Flighty and you have a Happy Easter as well

  2. Gardening each day? what a treat. I never seem to get the garden under control at this time of year before it romps away from me! Birds come down to bathe in the grounds of where I work, always a very welcome distraction!

    • Flighty says:

      Uphilldowndale that’s one upside of being retired! I sympathise as the plot has been like in previous years. It’s a long time since I’ve seen a bird bathing like that so was a real pleasure watching it. xx

  3. Yes, It’s great to see all the new growth and activity at last. Have a great Easter,Flighty 🙂

  4. Joanne says:

    The weather has been perfect hasn’t it, you have managed to get lots done. xx

  5. Julie says:

    It’s great to be in the garden isn’t it.. great photo of the peacock butterfly. We have birds bathing in the bird bath and on the edge of our pond.. great to see. Have a good Easter weekend too :o) xx

  6. Caro says:

    Gosh I’d love to see one of those peacock butterflies! And it’s a great photo you’ve taken there, Flighty. I was admiring the masses of dandelions and daisies sprinkled across the grassed areas in the gardens here (the only time that grass redeems itself, in my opinion); that very afternoon, the maintenance gardeners came and mowed it all away, tidiness not wildlife being their priority. Such a shame. I’ve got a gardening day today so will be able to get some more sowing done. Hope your white cornflower makes it, next year if not this one.

    • Flighty says:

      Caro keep an eye out as there seem to lots around at the moment. Thanks. I like dandelions and daisies in grassed areas. That’s typical isn’t it, and just the same here. I hope that you’ve had a good gardening day. Me too, and if not I will have to get some more. xx

  7. Mark Willis says:

    Yes, it’s a very busy time in the garden! I have been watching lots of birds collecting nesting material in my garden. There is a pair of Jays who have visited a lot, so I think they must be nesting somewhere close by. Hope the weather stays OK over the long weekend so that we can all get more gardening done…

    • Flighty says:

      Mark too true! I’m not surprised. Lucky you seeing a pair of jays, their lovely birds that I only see occasionally. Looks like being okay except Sunday. Cheers.

  8. Jo says:

    It’s wonderful to see wildlife making use of the things we put out for them. That starling must have been cooling off from the sun, it’s been a gorgeous week, though it’s dull and looks like rain here today. It sounds like you’ve made the most of the good weather and have got most things underway.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo seeing something like that makes it even more worthwhile. There were quite a lot of starlings around the site today. I sure have, on both counts. xx

  9. Jennyta says:

    Nice to see things growing well, Flighty. Happy Easter to you.

  10. elaine says:

    It’s good to see all the new growth at this time of year. Glad the weather has been good for you to get on with all your jobs. If the weather stays fine I hope to gets lots more jobs completed.

  11. Chloris says:

    It’s been wonderful weather, we have been so lucky for days now. It is great to be able to get so much done. And look at your onions, I hope mine will be able to catch up.
    I havn’t seen a starling for ages, I wonder where they have all gone. What a treat for you.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris it sure has been, haven’t we just. Yes indeed. The onions are noticeably growing by the day, I sure yours will catch up.
      Starlings seem to come and go here, there’s been some around the past few days. xx

  12. snowbird says:

    What a beautiful butterfly!!! The warm weather is bringing all sorts of wildlife out now, isn’t it wonderful! How lovely to have the birds bathing in your pond…..they don’t miss a trick starlings!
    I always try to leave a few dandelions and nettles….have a wonderful Easter, hopefully the weather will be good.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it’s really eye catching isn’t it. Yes I’ve seen two other types of butterflies today.
      The starling bathing is a first for the plot ponds.
      Good for you. Thanks, you too. Looks like being okay except Sunday. xx

  13. CJ says:

    That’s exactly why I leave lots of dandelions everywhere… How lovely to see the starling using your pond. It’s really wonderful when you see the wildlife enjoying water. I’ve only ever seen one bird using our pond – a blackbird that splashed again and again and again. I was transfixed. Hope you have a good Easter Flighty, with a little plotting time and a little sofa flying too.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ well done, they’re good for bees as well. It’s the first time that I’ve seen a bird bathing in either plot pond. Let’s hope that we both see more. So was I! Thanks you too, I’m sure I will. xx

  14. menhir1 says:

    You have been a busy bee. I had blue cornflowers grow from very old seeds. I wonder if they will reappear in view of what you say. I’ve seen similar butterflies to the one in your post – now I know their name!! I saw them in the Botanical Gardens at St Andrews, it’s still a few degrees too cold at home to see them. I did see some white butterflies during a brief mild spell.

    How do you grow so many different varieties of flora and veggies in a limited space?

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir haven’t I just. I sure that they will reappear. The Peacock is one of the more exotic looking ones. White butterflies are the most common ones.
      Much of what I grow, flowers and vegetables, is only in small quantities. I will do a list sometime to see just what I’m growing this year. xx

  15. nikkipolani says:

    You always have such a nice selection of flowers — hope they’ll do well again this year. And good to see the grapevine starting up again. Had to smile at CJ’s comment. I suppose I could claim the same reason there are dandelions in my garden!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks, I’ve spent the morning sowing flower seeds so hopefully there’ll be plenty later on. I’m always relieved when the grape starts up again as it always looks rather dead before it does. Of course you can! xx

  16. A blackbird made me jump out of my skin the other day by splashing about in a plastic box that had filled with rain water, I really must build a pond… Exciting time in the vege garden isn’t it. I am having problems persuading limnanthes to grow for me yet again though…

    • Flighty says:

      Janet yes you really must. It sure is, I keep looking to see what’s started to appear.
      Have you tried tried sowing limnanthes seeds in situ in the autumn? xx

  17. Carrie says:

    Just adore that butterfly photo, I’ve only seen that papery one I featured weeks ago and recently lots of cabbage whites – never anything really pretty. So glad your watering hole has such life 🙂 xxx

  18. Flighty says:

    Carrie I was lucky to see and photograph it. I’m sure that you’ll see some pretty ones as we head into summer. Thanks, so am I. xx

  19. Liz says:

    Your close-up photos are so good. What a beautiful butterfly. What camera do you use?

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks. It’s probably our most colourful butterfly. I use a Nikon CoolPix 3200 small point and shot camera that’s at least 10 years old. xx

Leave a Reply

