The log-pile and pond…

are about three-quarters of the way down the eastern edge and have been there almost since I’ve had the plot, although this is the second washing up bowl.

Log-pile and pond

I leave it all alone as much as I can and only have a good tidy up in the spring before it all starts growing again.

TeaselsOn the left are a few teasels which conveniently self-seeded there. Previously they’ve grown over on the other side of the plot, last year  by the dustbin lid pond.

I think that the plants down at the bottom right of the picture are chicory. I hope so as they have really lovely blue flowers.

Rosebay WillowherbThe plants at the front corners of the log-pile are (lesser?) knapweed, and rosebay willowherb grows up through the logs. Both of these are good for wildlife.

The old log seatI often wonder what insects are to be found here apart from the tiny iridescent beetles, ladybirds and spiders that I sometimes see.

Thanks to Caro, who kindly sent me some seeds, I’m going to grow a couple of trailing nasturtiums to run up over the logs.  In the front area of ground I’m going to sow the packet of poppy Ladybird that I was given.

I have seen foxes drinking from this pond in the past and hope to do so again, although at present I’m not sure how many are resident on the site as I haven’t seen any for months.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any image to see a larger picture]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to The log-pile and pond…

  1. Caro says:

    Lovely post, Flighty and thanks for the link! I’m looking forward to seeing your nasturtiums over the log pile, it sounds like it will look really beautiful. Please keep showing photos of the chicory, I’d like to see what the blue flowers are like! You should start to see foxes again soon – my neighbours who overlook the veg patch garden have told me that foxes have been seen playing in the gardens at night but it will be a while before they keep me company during the day as well. Have a brilliant week – the weather is forecast to be good! C xx

  2. Flighty says:

    Caro thanks, and you’re welcome. Me too, I think that it’s a good place to grow a couple. If it is chicory it should grow and flower like these I had a couple of years ago –
    https://flightplot.wordpress.com/2012/07/15/it-was-sunny/chicory-flowers-2/
    I hope that I do see the foxes again as I have missed them.
    You too – it sure looks like it. xx

  3. Chloris says:

    Nice to see a bit more of your plot. Do you get any frogs in your little pond? I used to have lots but they have disappeared. I do have lots of newts though. Great that you have a pile of logs for wildlife.

  4. alderandash says:

    I love the fact that the log pile is there by the bench…the nasturtiums sound like a great idea. I have a ‘lazy gardener’ log pile behind a shrub – when I’m pruning, I just chuck smaller twigs and bits of branch onto the pile. It’s behind an evergreen, so you can’t see it unless you really look…I do have one ‘proper’ log pile out in the open, tho – it seems to be home to various spiders and beetles, and last year I saw a very small brown mouse peeping out of it.

    • Flighty says:

      Alderandash hello, and thanks. That’s not a bench but an old bed headboard that I found on an unused plot. It’s good to see that you’ve a proper log pile as well. I’ve seen mice on the plot but not on the wood pile. xx

  5. snowbird says:

    It’s amazing how a log pile and water can be of such benefit to wildlife. Lovely to hear you have frogs, you probably have all sorts of other things too. I do hope your foxes come a visiting again. I would love to have foxes but I rarely see them in our garden.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it is, and it’s so easy to provide for them. Sadly I’ve not seen any frogs for a few years but of course they may well be there. Me too with the foxes as they are such wonderful animals, it’s a shame that you don’t see them. xx

  6. CJ says:

    I love your wildlife area, it’s such a good idea to set aside a little space for the wild creatures. I’ve started a little logpile at home, although it’s very short of logs at the moment! I’m constantly on the lookout for them though, and no doubt one day I’ll come across some in need of a home.

  7. Joanne says:

    I like your log pile by by the pond, I’m looking to see if I have space to do something similar here.

  8. Jo says:

    Rosebay Willowherb was the bane of my life on my old plot, it grew all over the place, but I did see the elephant hawk moth caterpillar which feeds on it, so you should look out for those. As you know, I have my little pond and logs in my garden, I should really think about setting one up on the plot.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I know that it can be invasive so I do keep it confined just to that area. I’ve yet to see an elephant hawk moth or caterpillar but do keep a look out for them. Having both in your garden you’ll know just how worthwhile it’ll be having the same on your plot. xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Very nice wider view of this corner of your plot. Ah, the volunteers — fun to see how far they roam! Some of the pot marigold you sent have reseeded (the single orange kind).

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it’s good to show all that area like this. They do indeed, far and wide. That’s good, I pulled all mine up but they’ve still managed to reseed all over the plot. xx

  10. elaine says:

    Lovely to see this corner of your plot and all that is going on around and about.

  11. menhir1 says:

    An interesting use of the foot a bed, or, was it a bed head? You’ll be aware of the attractions Nasturtiums have to Aphids. I had a dreadful time getting rid of my plantings, when I lived within reach of you. It took over two years! Where I am now, Nasturtiums are not so firm in their hold, nor so vigorous. There is a little self-seeding. I have grown them without any issues and used the flower and stalk in salads. The picking of them seems to encourage the Nasturtiums to grow for the short time we have for them to flourish.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I’m not sure which end of a bed it is. Yes nasturtiums have many uses as well as being good looking flowers. I’m growing some new varieties this year. xx

  12. lizard100 says:

    The log pile is a really nice feature. We could do with something like that.

  13. I love the idea of nasturtiums trailing over that log pile!

  14. Ladybird poppies are my favorite, dainty and sweet, and I’ve had them flowering well into November.

  15. Carrie says:

    I adore this! I really must incorporate a little tiny bin lid pond at the plots ( we aren’t allowed, but I’m a rebel). Xxx

  16. Liz says:

    There was a nature show on TV last night with David Attenborough. It may have been a rebroadcast from a couple of years ago. Anyway, it was a retrospective of his life from when he started at the BBC in the 1960s and part of the programme was focused on the drastic decline in the frog/toad population world-wide, apparently due to a virus that started in South Africa and spread.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I’ve seen that programme. Sadly it’s a similar story with so much of our wild life. I met David Attenborough years ago, a true gent and a wonderful man. xx

      • Liz says:

        How did you come to meet him? (David Attenborough). He seems very likeable from whenever I’ve seen him on TV.

        • Flighty says:

          Liz it was at the BBC TV Centre, where a friend then worked. A group of us were chatting in the canteen and he joined us for a while. He was very ‘ordinary’ and down to earth. xx

Leave a Reply

