Tree following – April 2014

Following on from last months Tree following post it’s really been noticeable at the colour changes on the willow. The golden yellow catkins have appeared, grown and have already started dropping giving to the green leaves.

Willow tree catkins   Willow tree leaves

This is what the tree looked like a few days ago.

The willow, early April 2014

Robin on the willow treeI often hear and/or see a robin high up on the tree but there was a more unusual sight one morning.  I was working on the plot when the crows started cawing nosily and when I looked round I saw at least fifteen perched on it.  They remained there for at least twenty minutes before flying off in small groups.

Have a look at Lucy’s Tuesday post for some forty other tree followers posts.

Happy tree following, and have a good weekend.

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Tree following – April 2014

  1. It’s looking good, the willow

  2. Jo says:

    Just look at that blue sky, we haven’t seen one of those here for quite a while, though the sun’s out today which makes a change. The willow is looking gorgeous.

  3. Joanne says:

    It’s a glorious looking tree xx

  4. snowbird says:

    Oh, what a magnificent tree, you can’t beat a willow.xxx

  5. Doris says:

    How great to see all this green! And that little Robin was a bonus! 🙂

  6. Orchardier says:

    Well done managing to get a photograph of the robin, I can’t actually remember the number of species the willow supports but I believe I’m correct in saying that it is second only to the mighty oak & if I remember correctly the silver birch comes in third.

  7. CJ says:

    Such a lovely time of year, suddenly everything is changing so fast. Beautiful. And the birds are all singing their hearts out.

  8. Everything seems to moving at such a pace now. I’ve just been looking around my garden. I earthed up my potatoes and my onions are growing nicely too. Soon I shall be planting out my butternuts under glass to start with. I’ve planted some runner beans in pots to get them started too.

  9. Caro says:

    I wonder what it was that had all those crows so excited? Fifteen all together would seem a bit like a Hitchcock film to me! Your willow is a magnificent tree. There one very similar on a path to some of the ponds on the Heath, I should really go and have a look!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro there are always a handful around but they just seemed to congregate for no apparent reason. It sure is. When you do take some photos of it. xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Wonderful to get a closeup of the catkins and new leaves. Maybe the crows are excited about them too!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I found the catkins of particular interest. Maybe, but I think it was a Friday morning so perhaps they were deciding what to do over the weekend. xx

  11. Lucy Corrander says:

    Beautiful catkin picture. 15 crows! Robins – I’d say their song is easily up there with blackbirds, thrushes and larks.

  12. Liz says:

    Great close-up pictures of the willow and the little robin up there surveying the scenery.

Leave a Reply

