It’s a damp and dull…

Blackthorn blossom giving way to leavesDogwood buds  & leavesSunday morning so I won’t be plotting today.

Sadly the blackthorn blossom has already faded and is scattering like confetti but the leaves now starting to appear.

I don’t cut back the dogwood stems but leave them for the leaves, and then flowers, to appear.

What has really pleased me it is that it looks like the hawthorn is going to flower for the first time.

Hawthorn buds and leaves

Comfrey, daffodils & raspberriesHere’s the bottom, south-eastern corner of the plot showing the comfrey, some daffodils and the raspberry plants.

The old, rusty metal dustbin I use as an incinerator on the rare occasion when I do need to burn anything.

I got the council invoice for the rental of the plot 2014-2015Β during the week and was pleasantly surprised to find that the cost is the same as last year at just Β£21-30. This is one bill that I’m more than happy to pay straight away.

It looks like there’s going to plenty of rain tomorrow then thankfully dry and sunny for the rest of the week, when I’ll be making a start sowing plenty of flower and vegetable seeds.


White & pink narcissiI’ll leave you with this rather pretty narcissus.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]Β 

 

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to It’s a damp and dull…

  1. Caro says:

    I know many that would disagree with me but I’m really glad of the rain this morning as I’ve spent the past two days gardening, including planting a quince tree and more raspberry canes, and a day of rain will help the new plants settle in well. Thursday will be our community garden day this coming week and we’ll be planting out peas, mange tout and sweet peas and sowing salad and veg. So the weather is perfect for me! (It’s also rather nice to have a sit down for a change!)

  2. Chloris says:

    The blackthorn is beginning to go now but hasn’t it been fantastic this year? This really is the year of the blossom.

  3. Debbie says:

    Good post, thanks Flighty. A day for sofa flying if ever there was one.

  4. snowbird says:

    It’s been grey and drizzly here too for the last week, bring on the good weather eh…..
    That hawthorn looks wonderfully green and healthy.xxx

  5. VP says:

    It’s dull and damp here too Flighty 😦
    I’m still building my big raised bed, so finishing will have to wait!

  6. Mark Willis says:

    After the comment you left me, I am now looking more closely at your photo showing the Comfrey plants! How do you stop them spreading? Or have they not reached that stage yet?

    • Flighty says:

      I’ve had these for well over five years. They’re Russian Comfrey, or Bocking 14 variety, which doesn’t spread. Incidentally looking at your pictures again the first plant looks to be rather different to the others. Cheers.

  7. David Ford says:

    that council rent for your plot sounds like something of a bargain to me, the trustees for the Cavendish estates charge us Β£100 per annum for which they do…………..

    • Flighty says:

      David that is for a half plot at the concessionary rate, being as I’m retired. Private plots do tend to be more expensive, and council rates do vary considerably. Cheers.

  8. Jo says:

    I wanted to spend some time at the allotment today but woke to rain so I’ve spent some time sowing some seeds instead, I’m now hoping to get down to the plot some time during the week. Allotment rents are on the increase all over the country so I think you’ve got a bargain, especially as it hasn’t increased at all since last year.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’d guess that lots of others did as well. I should have done some seed sowing here at home but didn’t. As you say rents generally have increased so I was rather surprised that ours haven’t. xx

  9. Joanne says:

    Between the showers to day we’ve managed to spend time in the greenhouse busy sowing seeds. The Hawthorn trees are on the verge of flowering here too. Have a good week xx

  10. CJ says:

    I really love hawthorn blossom, it’s beautiful. I love it close up and I love seeing it en masse in the hedges in the countryside. My comfrey’s up as well. I need to try and empty the compost bin behind it before it gets too big! I’m happy to pay the allotment rent as well, it’s one thing that’s really excellent value for money.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ so do I, and always been disappointed that my one has never flowered. Don’t leave it too long as I find comfrey grows surprising quickly. Good for you, I agree. xx

  11. elaine says:

    It has been pretty dreary here too. I managed to get a bit done though. Nice to see flowers coming on your hawthorn the hedgerows round here have greened up really quickly. Have a good week.

  12. My blackthorn is dropping like confetti over my vegetable garden. I’m sad to see the blossom fall but now it is time for my cherry tree. I just hope it doesn’t get too windy and spoil it before the blossom has set.

  13. lizard100 says:

    We too had rain and I was glad as it’s been almost two weeks. Then it dried up enough this afternoon for us to get some stuff done.

  14. nikkipolani says:

    A shame that delicate blooms like Blackthorn don’t last longer. I feel the same about citrus flowers. But now you’ve got hawthorns to look forward to. And still some lovely narcissi.

  15. menhir1 says:

    It never ceases to amaze me how much vegetation you are able to plant, the number of plants you appear to grow and so many varieties too. xxx

  16. That allotment really is set at a bargain price! Your hawthorn photo is wonderful.

  17. How lovely to see blossom coming on your hawthorn Flighty! I just managed to capture a photo of the blackthorn flowering with the gorse on the cliffs, I think it will be all gone by the weekend. I agree about the allotment bill, what a bargain, I just wish we lived in a world where more allotments were being created, rather than one in which so many sites are under threat of closure and councils seek for excuses not to honour the commitment to provide plots.

  18. Glo says:

    So pleased to hear that your hawthorn is nearly in flower! The way time moves so quickly, it will be blooming before you know it. Your plot looks well cared for with all your tending. Hope the sun is shining by now πŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I can’t wait for it to flower. You’re so right, and I’m sure it will. Thanks. Yes the sun is shining and I’m off to the plot soon to sow some seeds. xx

Leave a Reply

