Frillies and minis

The yellow daffodils have started to fade away but there are various, mostly white,  frillies and minis  which are providing plenty of interest.

I can’t make up my mind if I like these frillies or not.  Of the two I definitely prefer the yellow one.

White & orange frilly daffodil     White & yellow frilly daffodil

I like both of these narcissi

White narcissi    White & pale yellow narcissi

And I was surprised to count no less than twelve flowers on this stem

Twelve on one stem

Apologies but I sadly don’t know what variety any of these are as they’ve come from various places over the years.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Frillies and minis

  1. I also have different daffodils growing around my garden. It seems sad that we have to lose some to make room for the next group of flowers. We seem to wait for ever then the seasons race by. I notice that my apple trees and cherry will be in flower soon.

  2. Joanne says:

    Whatever the variety they all look lovely xx

  3. Annette says:

    The tazetta are among my favourites too – they keep well and have so many flowers on one stem. Have a nice weekend too!

  4. nikkipolani says:

    I purchased mine in a mixed lot so don’t know what varieties they are either, but they sure are sweet. The little tiny ones with yellow are especially nice, Flighty.

  5. Jo says:

    I’m not so keen on the frilly ones, I like my daffodils to be simple, they’re pretty enough as they are. Twelve flowers on one stem, that’s value for you.

  6. Chloris says:

    I quite like the frillies in a vase but the little single ones are so delicate. I think the ones in your third photo are Silver Chimes and the fourth one is Segovia. They are lovely.

  7. elaine says:

    I think I’m with Jo on this one – I think I like my narcissus pure and simple.

  8. They are all really nice and delicate looking x

  9. CJ says:

    They’re all lovely, but the palest narcissus is my favourite. So perfect and delicate.

  10. snowbird says:

    I think they are all lovely, especially the narcissi, the tinies are so sweet.xxx

  11. Glo says:

    Always interesting to see what materializes as spring bursts forth, especially varieties that are new to the plot. Our daffies are just coming out…I like your handfuls of frillies and minis 🙂

  12. Mark Willis says:

    The peach-and-white “Frilly” looks rather like “Delnashaugh” (I posted a photo of this on the UKVG forum yesterday), and the last (12-flowered) one might possibly be “Minnow”. My preference is for the simpler ones – perhaps the “old-fashioned” ones?

  13. Carrie says:

    I love the mini mutliheaded ones so much! I don’t have quite as many on each stalk but boy they are sweet xxxx

  14. menhir1 says:

    I see what you mean about the frillies, it is a clear individual taste issue. One is less frothy and brash than the other. The spring flowers, overall, are pretty and lively. xx

  15. A firm no to the frillies, but a big, loud YES to the others! Though to be fair, any spring flowers are liable to bring a smile to my face…

  16. Liz says:

    You have an assortment there. I’ve completely forgotten the names of the daffodil varieties I’ve planted over the years, except for tête-a-tête because they are tiny and bloom early. Daffodils say “spring has sprung! Enjoy us!”

Leave a Reply

