It’s the end of March

Last Monday I planted all the onions and the first early potatoes Vales Emerald, followed yesterday by the second earlies Charlotte.  Today and tomorrow I’ll planting the rest, and sowing some broad beans Witkiem Manita.

White and yellow narcissiI’ve dead-headed a few of the daffodils but starting to appear are some small multi-headed narcissi including these white and yellow ones.

Last year the gladioli don’t do well so I dug them all up again in the autumn. I’ll be be replanting some of them, together with some new ones,  in a different area where I hope that they’ll do better this year.

The rose Pretty Lady doesn’t usually start blooming until early June but there are already buds on it!

Rose 'Pretty Lady' bud end March 2014

JakeMeet Jake who I usually see a couple of mornings during the week when plot neighbour John is looking after him.  To make sure that I make a fuss of him he sits on my wellies so I can’t move.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to It’s the end of March

  1. lizard100 says:

    Today is potato day for us too. It’s always one we look forward to. We’ll be putting the purple tubers in.

  2. VP says:

    Potatoes for us ASAP too – as soon as we’ve built the new raised bed earmarked for them. Looking forward to seeing how they do with no dig.

  3. lovely post Flighty nice your plot neighbours friends dog like you to make a fuss of him

  4. Mark Willis says:

    I like this time of year because it is so full of the promise of good things to come.

  5. We couldn’t find Vales Emerald this year

  6. Chloris says:

    Gorgeous weather to be outside. I can’t wait to get my broad beans and potatoes in but I will have to wait a bit longer for my raised beds to be ready.
    Buds on the roses in March is crazy. It needs to slow down a bit so we don’t get all our treats at once.

  7. elaine says:

    Things are going mad in the garden at the moment. Container potatoes planted – Charlotte and Foremost – love this time of year. Have a good week.

  8. I grow my potatoes in three large containers. Each one with a different type. I’m looking forward to having a go at growing carrots in a container as my garden is too stony.

  9. Doris says:

    I love the fact that Jake sits on your wellies so that you can’t move. So cute! 🙂

  10. Ju says:

    Great post Flighty… I love Jake… he’s a Staffy isn’t he? I love Staffies and have a rescue one myself.. she too loves all the fuss. Hope you’ve had a good weekend xx

    • Julie says:

      Excuse the name Ju.. I started to type my name and then had to do something else.. when I came back I just posted it without filling in the rest of my name.. haha.. no matters people call me Ju anyways. :o)

    • Flighty says:

      Julie thanks. He’s part Staffy. Me too, they really are lovely dogs. I did thanks, and hope that you did to. xx

  11. Jo says:

    Jake is a very distinguished looking doggy, he’s a crafty one knowing you can’t move if he sits on your wellies. I was hoping to get my onions planted this weekend but it didn’t happen. I’m hoping that I can get some extra time in on the plot on an evening now that the clocks have gone forward.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it’s that white muzzle of his isn’t it, and he sure is. Another week or so won’t make much, if any, difference. That helps a lot of people doesn’t it. xx

  12. menhir1 says:

    Jake’s an elderly gent just wanting footsie warmth and, he definitely knows where to get it! Your 2014 floral displays are starting very well. Today we have really arctic winds, the chill level is unbelievable. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir he mighty be elderly but he’s still very lively. Thanks, there’s hopefully lots more to come. I sympathise as that’s something I don’t like. xx

  13. Glorious day here, thinking about sowing seeds (especially Flighty’s favourite marigolds).
    Julie you can knit a Staffie of your own – http://www.battersea.org.uk/get_involved/shop/staffie_knitting_pattern/

  14. snowbird says:

    Glad you got your potatoes and beans in, it’s certainly been a nice warm weekend for planting. Ahhhh….Jake has stolen my heart, what a lovely boy! xxx

  15. CJ says:

    I need to get potato planting as well, and I’ve got some broad beans to put in. Jake’s lovely, a real sweetie by the look of it.

  16. nikkipolani says:

    Jake seems to be a smart dog! Well done on the onions and potatoes. I had a few similar narcissi come up that I like even better than the daffs which tend to get top heavy and fall over. It was a wonderful weekend for gardening here as well. Hope those glads improve in their new location.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki he sure is. Thanks, I’m glad that job’s done. That is one drawback of the big daffodils. It’s always good when we get weekends like that. I hope so too. xx

  17. David Ford says:

    I would love Jake too, be interesting to see how my first go at Vales Emerald turn out

  18. Carrie says:

    Goodness it’s all go, isn’t it wonderful! I adore the sunny happy faces of the daffs and what a sweet demanding dog friend you have xxxx

  19. Glo says:

    Well done on all counts! That is one smart pooch ~ he knows how to keep you planted in order to get attention 🙂 I just love Spring and all the lovely colours and fragrances that go with it ~

    PS loved the poem Seed-Shop you posted the other day…”…and in my hand a forest lies asleep.”

  20. Liz says:

    Jake has a contented look and knows where the biscuits are!

Leave a Reply

