Officially it’s the first day…

of spring, although as far as I’m concerned it started back at the beginning of the month.

I really like to see tree blossom this time of year and I’m lucky to enjoy it on the plot thanks to the blackthorn.

Blackthorn blossom

Sadly the crocuses have now finished but there are plenty of bright, cheery daffodils.

Saturday daffodils

Looking away from blossom and flowers it’s good to see new growth and leaves on the blackberry bush and raspberries.

Blackberry leaves  Raspberry leaves

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Officially it’s the first day…

  1. Chloris says:

    The blackthorn is amazing at the moment. Let’s just hope the old country saying ‘Beware the blackthorn winter!’ won’t apply this year…

  2. elaine says:

    It’s always great to see bud break – then you know all is well for the coming year.

  3. Jo says:

    I can’t get my head round spring starting on the 1st of March, I was taught it started on the spring equinox, it seems that more and more people refer to spring starting on the 1st of March nowadays. The blackthorn looks lovely covered in blossom. I’m waiting on the daffodils I planted in a container blooming, but I don’t think they’ll be long now.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo whilst I go with the calender I agree that 1st march can can often seem rather early. The blackthorn is wonderful. I’ve got daffodils starting to fade and others yet to flower, so I’m sure that yours won’t be long either. xx

  4. snowbird says:

    I do love the blackthorn, I have a few twiglets that I’m hoping will finally grow this year. You are always a few weeks ahead of me in terms of growth, but at least we are all enjoying signs of spring, and how wonderful that is. xxx

  5. CJ says:

    Stunning blackthorn. It’s so nice to see everything waking up.

  6. Carrie says:

    We put in new blackthorn and raspberry canes in the latest post! Simply can’t wait until they look as good as yours xxx
    Our crocuses are all gone but baby daffs going good and big daffs and tulips still to come -hurrah for spring!!? xxxxx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    A very springy post indeed.

  8. I have one in my garden which I just found out has been in the village before it was built in the 1920. It was part of the original hedgerow of the fields. I had to cut part of it back as it was leaning over my fence onto my neighbour’s shed. Lucky for me, my neighbour didn’t want me to cut it down completely. He was the one who told me its history.
    The birds love it too.

  9. Caro says:

    Even though the blossom has been out on the street trees around me for the past week, it still has it’s WoW factor for me! My raspberry canes are just beginning to show through, including all the runners which I’ll have to find time to dig out. I really hope that this spring weather lasts now, I’ve become quite accustomed to it!! Daffs are such a cheerful sight, I hope they last a good long while yet!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro it’s been the same for me. I’m forever digging up unwanted raspberry runners. Me too as I want to get planting and sowing. They sure are, and like you hope they do. xx

  10. This confirms it. Our spring is late. Yet we are usually ahead of other places. I suppose the wind whipped the warmth away and made everything hide its head. Not only is our blackthorn only now beginning to show – it’s a bit thin. It’s usually dense and awe inspiring.

  11. Liz says:

    What lovely signs of spring.

Leave a Reply

