Daffodils, rhubarb and butterflies

DaffodilsWalking onto the allotments last week it was good to look round and see plenty of daffodils now brightening up the still mostly bare ground.

I grow various all yellow ones ranging from the mini tete-a-tetes, the unusual frilly Rip Van Winkle, some distinctive reflex petal ones to the ordinary traditional type most of which can be seen in the photo below.

Daffodils, various varieties

The rhubarbIt looks like being a good year for rhubarb if the photos that I’ve seen such as Karen’s super early variety and the big clump that CJ spotted on Thursday are anything to go by. Here’s mine which as you can see needs a few more weeks at least before I can start picking it.  I usually just stew mine then eat it with a sprinkling of demerara sugar. For anyone who’s a more adventurous cook have a look at the Guardian’s 10 best rhubarb recipes

During last week there were reports that people were seeing Small Tortoiseshell butterflies, which had come out of winter hibernation to enjoy the warm sunshine.  I saw a couple basking on the plot but the only photo that I managed to take was of this one on a neighbouring plot.

A Small Tortoiseshell butterfly

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Daffodils, rhubarb and butterflies

  1. Chloris says:

    Lovely to see the daffodils out. I love Rip van Winkle. Do you force any of your rhubarb?
    The butterflies are all out now. I have seen quite a few yellow brimstone around as well as tortoiseshell and peacocks. I haven’t seen any orange tips yet and they are usually about in spring. Aren’t we lucky with all this lovely sunny weather to be able to get on outside?

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris it sure is. It’s certainly different. No, I don’t bother to do that.
      Lucky you seeing various butterflies.
      We are indeed, and I’ve been making the most of it. xx

  2. Great post! Spring is here!

  3. menhir1 says:

    This post would be worthy of Wordsworth, or, maybe, Wordsworth would find it worthy of a few well chosen words.
    😉 xx

  4. Carrie says:

    Hurrah for daffs and their sunny, hope filled blooms. Our rhubarb is coming on well but I haven’t photographed yet, no butterflies but I saw 3 ladybirds 🙂

  5. Jo says:

    My daffodils in the garden have only just started to flower, and the ones in containers aren’t anywhere near yet so I should have quite a while left yet to enjoy the blooms. My rhubarb is growing well, I don’t think it will be long before I’m harvesting a few stems so I shall have a look at the ten best recipes to give me some ideas. I haven’t seen any Tortoiseshell butterflies yet, only Peacocks here. Great photo of it.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I noticed that the earliest ones are alreadt starting to go over, but there still plenty left to bloom. It looks like it could be a good year for rhubarb. I hope that you see some some Tortoiseshells and I get to see some Peacocks. Thanks. xx

  6. elaine says:

    Daffs certainly brighten up the garden – no butterflies for us yet but plenty of bumble bees. Have a good week.

  7. Doris says:

    Lovely daffodils and that Tortoiseshell butterfly is a delight to see! I can’t wait for us to catch up with you (weather-wise)! 🙂

  8. Julie says:

    Spring has sprung.. love it :o) Hope you’ve had a good weekend Flighty xx

  9. CJ says:

    Thanks for the mention Flighty. What a beautiful butterfly photo, you’ve captured it well. There are some interesting rhubarb recipes there. The coleslaw definitely sounds worth a try, it had never occurred to me to eat it like that. My rhubarb is struggling to poke through amongst all of the grass. I do hope I get a little harvest though.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ you’re welcome. Thanks, I’m always pleased when I take a good butterfly photo. If you try that recipe you’ll have to blog about it. I’m sure that you get plenty of stems. xx

  10. Caro says:

    My rhubarb is smaller than yours, Flighty, although the leaves are definitely getting bigger! I pulled the rhubarb recipes out of the Guardian paper yesterday to keep for when I can cut a few stems. I noticed the cost of supermarket rhubarb today and thought what a good idea it was to grow some in the veg patch! I haven’t planted any big daffodils yet, just the paperwhites and tète à tète but I’ve really enjoyed seeing their cheerful nodding heads elsewhere – daffodils and sunshine really go well together!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I suppose that it depends on which variety we’re growing, mine’s unknown. I think that it always worth growing rhubarb. I really must grow some paperwhites next year. Yes daffodils are definitely a sunshine flower. xx

  11. I picked up five pots of the small daffodils at a car boot yesterday for a pound. I have a large pot that needs planting up, so was on the look out for something to go in it. Using bulbs gives you something of interest to look at all the year round. Last year the pot had a fig tree in it which I’ve now moved in to the garden as my figs were too small. The garden is moving at a steady pace now. I haven’t looked at my rhubarb yet as it is still under cover. Must go and see.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula that sounds like a good bargain. Yes bulbs in pots in a good idea for all year round colour and interest. You might fine that your rhubarb is ready! xx

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Definitely springy in your world! Love how the bright colors capture the sunshine. And good wishes for a rhubarb-ful year!

  13. snowbird says:

    Ahhh, you just can’t beat a few glorious daffadowndillies fir sure. Gorgeous butterfly and I am surprised how your rhubarb is up, I have nothing! Zilch!xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I quite agree. Thanks. It depends on the variety, a plot neighbour’s is just starting to appear above ground so I’m sure that yours will do the same soon. xx

  14. wellywoman says:

    I was buzzed by a comma butterfly the other day and there are some huge bees around. Lovely to see everything coming to life. 🙂

  15. annie_h says:

    Yep daffodils are so cheery at the moment, they are certainly getting stirred by all these breezes we are having at the moment. I also saw a few early butterflies at my allotment the other day and there are a few bumbling bees around too. Enjoy the nice weather, Flighty.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie thankfully it’s not been too breezy here so most of mine are still upright. It’s always good to see butterflies and bumble bees. Thanks, and you too. xx

  16. Liz says:

    Well, your daffodil photo from a couple of days ago and those on this post will have to spur me on to those visions of spring in these parts. It will be good to see the rhubarb poking through the ground too.
    The tortoiseshell butterfly is gorgeous.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz there’ll be lots more daffodils over the coming weeks. The rhubarb is just showing above ground.
      It’s always great to see butterflies and the past couple of years have been good ones for them. I hope that this year is as well. xx

Leave a Reply

