I’m now ready…

to start planting and sowing but I’m going to wait another week or so to let the ground continue to dry out and warm up.

Emptying the compost heapMonday morning was cool and overcast which I found ideal when I emptied out the compost heap.  Fifteen barrow loads were spread over the the three areas where I’m growing vegetables. It’s a worthwhile job but I’m thankful that I only have to do it once a year. A bonus this time was finding the pair of good secateurs which I lost back in the summer. I cleaned them up then sprayed liberally with WD-40, and they still work fine. Click on the picture and you’ll see them above the fork handle just after I’d found them.

The crocuses are still looking good with this container of purple ones,

Purple crocuses

and in the long planter it’s interesting to see how white the Blue Pearl are now they’re fully open, and have looked really good with the Cream Beauty.

Crocuses 'Blue Pearl'    Crocuses 'Cream Beauty'

Of all the photos that I’ve taken of the crocuses I think that this is one of the best.

White crocuses and honey bee

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

[Tuesday’s post over on Sofa flying was Another enjoyable read]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to I’m now ready…

  1. snowbird says:

    I was smiling re you finding the secateurs…I’m forever finding them in odd places too. Your crocus are gorgeous, and I’m delighted to see that little honey bee. That’s a big job out of the way, your compost is further on than mine.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I guessed, and hoped, that’s where they were. The crocuses have been really good, and there’s always lots of bees on them. It’s one of my biggest plot jobs. xx

  2. Jo says:

    What a wonderful photo of the crocuses and bee. The compost bins are Mick’s domain, too much like hard work for me. I wish I could come across my Felco secateurs, I haven’t seen them for over a year and I miss them, I just hope I didn’t lose them at the old plot and that they’re perhaps in the shed where I’ll come across them eventually.

  3. Lovely post and love your photos as well have a blessed weekend

  4. Joanne says:

    Good news about your secateurs & what a lot of compost you shovelled! I like your photo of the bee & crocus too, have a good week!

  5. Julie says:

    Good to hear the found secateurs still work.. Your crocus photos are lovely and your favourite is my favourite too :o) Have a great weekend Flighty xx

  6. Carrie says:

    Such a HAPPY post 🙂 Those crocuses are stunning and what a great pair of secateurs… good for another year xxxx

  7. Such gorgeous crocus pictures!

  8. Chloris says:

    That looks good compost Flighty but what a back breaking job spreading it. I love your crocus photos, especially the one with bee.What a fantastic shot.

  9. Doris says:

    What great photos Flighty! Your close up photo with the bee is just wonderful!!

  10. Caro says:

    Sounds like you’ve well and truly earned a cup of tea and a digestive after all your hard work! I absolutely agree that the bottom photo of the crocuses and bee is a stunner – excellent capture! Good weekend and happy gardening! xx

  11. menhir1 says:

    The flowers and wingéd nature are seductive. xx

  12. elaine says:

    Fifteen barrowloads of compost is a lot of hard work to shift – love your wheelbarrow it looks like it has been through the mill. I still have some crocus that haven’t opened but others have gone over they certainly add some colour. Wonder how your secateurs got into the compost bin – you’ll have to have them on elastic and pinned to your coat like kids used to do with their mittens. Have a good weekend – it’s going to be a good one I think.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I’m really glad that I only have to do it once a year. The wheelbarrow is my plot neighbour’s which I borrow perhaps a couple of times a year. That’s a good idea, but I think that they’re the only things that I’ve lost on the plot.
      Thanks, and you too – it looks like it. xx

  13. It feels great when a job is done. And the added bonus of find your secateurs was great too. I normally find slowworm in my compost heap. Once my husband and his friend get rid of an old suite of furniture that is sitting the garden I shall be able to get to my compost heap to have a look. It was to have been moved last weekend but there was problems with his van, so hopeful it will be this weekend. Have a great weekend, Flighty.

  14. Glo says:

    Fifteen wheelbarrow loads is a lot of compost so it must be a relief to get that spread about. Hope there’s no ill effects, as in backache! You’re all ready to go, sow and grow 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I was definitely glad to get it all done. I took it nice and steady so no ill effects. I am indeed, and will be starting next week probably. xx

  15. nikkipolani says:

    A tidy heap of compost for the plot that I’m sure your plants will appreciate. Look at all those gorgeous crocus colors! And well done finding your secateurs before they got too damaged by the elements.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki a compost heap really is a must-have for any allotment. It’s been a good year for crocuses, which sadly are now starting to finish. Thanks, they still work fine. xx

  16. wellywoman says:

    It made me chuckle to hear you found your secateurs. I’ve lost a pair of flower snips and I’m wondering where they are going to turn up and whether I’ll have to buy a new pair so that the old ones will reappear. 😉 Loving the crocus and so is the bee.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly I guess that we all lose things in the garden which we often find at a later date. It seems that both the bees and us appreciated the crocuses, which have now just about finished sadly. xx

  17. Liz says:

    Don’t you hate it when you misplace a well-loved garden tool? It happens all too frequently. But the secateurs reappeared. Were they in that good-looking compost? Do you ever sieve your compost? My grandfather had a sort of wooden hoop with mesh inside to sift into fine loam to cover his seedlings.
    Lovely crocus!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thankfully I haven’t lost many tools so far, just those secateurs which were in the compost, and a couple of old knives used for weeding.
      I only sieve a bag or two of compost, the rest I just pick out any bits as I go so to speak. xx

Leave a Reply

