Tree following – March 2014

Following on from last month’s post What willow? I took a few more detailed photos a couple of weeks ago. It’s taken rather a battering over the winter months and has lost several bigger branches, one of which can be seen in this picture.

Beneath the willow tree

Willow tree trunkAs you can see the tree is just outside the allotment site, and has grown as well as it has thanks to the often soggy, or waterlogged ground,  the other side of of the fence.

Willow tree branchesThe branches don’t look much at present, but a closer inspection shows the catkins starting to appear.

Willow tree catkins appearing

Orchardier, who is following a A year in the life of a Bramley Apple Tree, commented that the willow is a good choice, as it supports a huge amount of wild life.  That includes many of the birds that I see on the allotments such as a pair of blue tits which I saw on it as I was going through the gates one morning during the week.

It’s good to see that there are now around 50 tree followers, of which nearly half have done posts in the past few days about the trees that they’re following as you can see in Lucy’s post Ready, Steady – and We’re Off! If you want to join in then please do so as it’s not too late, and there are no deadlines. All you need do is choose a tree to follow and blog about, then let Lucy know, via either of these links, so she can add the details to the list.  

Happy tree following, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Tree following – March 2014

  1. Joanne says:

    I like willow trees, I find them very graceful looking. I think the tree following is such a fun thing to do, very enjoyable I’m glad I signed up for it.

  2. Sharon says:

    What a cool idea, I love willows, had one when I was living in Eastbourne, East Sussex and the roots were a menace to the foundations of the house, the front step was almost 45 degrees!, had to root prune…Sharon. Thanks for your comments, much appreciated.

    • Flighty says:

      Sharon it certainly is. That is a problem when big trees grow near to houses. You’re most welcome. I’ve noted your present blog home and will have a look in the next day or so. xx

  3. Willows are a real favourite of mine Flighty, particularly the weeping kind, thanks to childhood memories of hiding under the downswept branches and enjoying the cascade of catkins. Lovely choice!

  4. Chloris says:

    My willow has lost quite a few branches in this winter’ s storms too.
    Thank you for bringing the tree watch to my attention and I am just going out to take a photo of my chosen tree so that I can join in. I think it is a great idea.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris it’s been a bad winter for trees, the worst since 1987. You’re welcome, it’s nice to see that you’re going to tree follow. Me too. xx

  5. Jo says:

    It’s a shame that so many trees have taken a battering this winter, but your willow is so well established that it won’t miss a few branches. I’m looking forward to seeing it throughout the year, willows are one of my favourite trees.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo yes it’s been the worst year for them since 1987. I hope not, I don’t won’t it to lose any more big branches. Me too, and I can see why. xx

  6. CJ says:

    A lovely choice of tree, no doubt it will look very different by next month. It will be interesting to see the wildlife it supports, as well as the beautiful tree itself.

  7. Elaine says:

    You will be able to keep a close eye on your Willow when you visit your plot-the one in my garden is just coming into bud-the birds queue up in it whilst waiting for an empty space on the bird feeders. Have a good week.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine that’s one advantage of walking right past it to and from the plot. I do see lots of birds on it which I must make a note of from now on. xx

  8. Mark Willis says:

    The Willow is a useful tree too – baskets and cricket-bats come to mind!

  9. Caro says:

    Oh I’ll be looking forward to following your tree, Flighty – there’s a huge willow outside my parents’ house and I have many photos of my son, when younger, hiding in the branches as they formed the best green cave!

  10. snowbird says:

    I am fond of willow, we had a huge one that blew down many moons ago in the storms.xxx

  11. Chris Ashby says:

    There are lots of varieties of willow but Salix alba ‘Caerulea’ is one valued by cricket bat makers. I only knew this because I once looked after a cat in Suffolk and there was a specially cultivated field of these trees down the lane – an amazing sight.
    Happy tree following!

  12. Hollis says:

    neat shot of young catkins 🙂

  13. Carrie says:

    I do LOVE a willow catkin 🙂 This will be a delight to watch throughout the year xxx

  14. Annette says:

    I have a weeping willow in my garden too and it’s one of my nicest trees especially now when the leaves unfurl. In summer I sit there in the dappled shade and enjoy looking through the branches that surround my bench like a veil.

  15. menhir1 says:

    It is fortunate indeed, to have the willow close to where you garden. They do drink a considerable amount and it must have been wallowing in water drinks these last few months…just a useful, wee flood defence. XX

  16. Flighty says:

    Menhir yes but thankfully not too close because, as you say, they do drink considerable amounts of water. xx

  17. Glo says:

    Willows are such graceful trees and I look forward to seeing how yours changes as the seasons progress.

  18. nikkipolani says:

    That is one happy willow — well, apart from losing a limb! But I agree with Glo, they have such graceful drape when leafed out.

  19. Flighty says:

    Nikki I like to think that it is. And I agree with both of you. xx

  20. Thanks for you help re. WordPress, Mike. I’ve deleted the cookies on my computer and now I can see your blog. If it lets me leave a comment, I will assume it was a cookie problem – though how/why I don’t know so I hope it doesn’t come back!

Leave a Reply

