I’m waiting for…

the grass path where I’ll be working emptying the compost heap to dry so this week I’ve tied the grape vine to new wooden supports, pruned the rose Pretty Lady and re-levelled the dustbin lid pond, which was frozen over on Tuesday morning.

Honey bees on the white crocusesA few more daffodils and narcissus have appeared but it’s still the crocuses that catch the eye. There have been lots of bees on the white ones, and I’m well pleased with the Cream Beauty and Blue Pearl combination in the long planter.

Crocuses, narcissus, nerines and tulips

All the bulbs in these six containers are doing well – three have tulips in them, one crocuses, one each narcissus and the nerines.

My plot neighbour Leslie’s small cherry tree has blossomed which is a lovely sight!

The first spring blossom (3)

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image] 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I’m waiting for…

  1. Joanne says:

    The blossom is a lovely sight, I spotted a butterfly on my crocus the other day & very welcome it was too!

  2. The hedgerows around our village is full of blossom. I’ve been very pleased with two containers I have at my back door as the blue & yellow crocuses, pansies have been a picture now the narcissus and tulips are just starting to come through. We use to have a lovely early flowering cherry tree in our garden which I miss after it suddenly died. It used to be so beautiful.

  3. Awesome post Mike Spring is slowly shining though and thank you for sharing

  4. Jo says:

    It’s lovely to see the bees enjoying the flowers as much as we are. Gorgeous photo of the cherry blossom, mine’s nowhere near blooming at the moment.

  5. menhir1 says:

    What an absolute delight to see the narcissi and cherry blossom, and in very early March !!
    xx

  6. snowbird says:

    Your spring colour is lovely, and how wonderful to have bees! xxx

  7. CJ says:

    Lovely spring flowers, and I’m happy to hear that there are bees about. The cherry blossom is beautiful. No sign of any round here yet, but surely it won’t be long now.

  8. Julie says:

    Things are looking great. Love the photo of the crocuses with bees :o) And love the cherry blossom too, ours has yet to appear.. xx

  9. Chloris says:

    The crocuses are a delight when the sun shines on them. And what a joy to have cherry blossom out.

  10. Annette says:

    Do you keep your nerine in the same pot all the time? Your pots look very promising. Silly cherry to flower so early ;). Have a good weekend!

    • Flighty says:

      Annette yes they’ve been in that pot since I was given them a few years ago, but I may move them into a bigger one this year. I’ve seen lots of trees in blossom this week. Thanks, and you too. xx

  11. I think the crocuses are particularly good this year, though this could just be because I have more this year having planted more in the Autumn! Hope you can get to your compost bins soon Flighty, but isn’t the arrival of Spring wonderful!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet yes I agree I think that they have too, mind you I have more as well. I emptied the compost heap on Monday morning, and yes it sure is. xx

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Cherry blossoms are always so photogenic aren’t they? How nice that you get to enjoy them off a neighbor. Lots to look forward to with those potted bulbs.

Leave a Reply

