Allotment Art

During February Chloris did a post Is The Garden an Art Form? which a lot of fellow garden bloggers obviously found of interest in view of the number of comments made.

I pointed out in my own comment that I don’t have a garden , and didn’t think that many people would consider allotments to be an art form.

What I had forgotten, and which Chloris pointed out is that the artist Chris Cyprus does Allotment Art. A further comment by digwithdorris reminded us that the artist Tessa Newcomb has done a book The Adorable Plot showing her paintings of Suffolk allotments.

Google allotment art images and you see lots of wonderful allotment art paintings which show that my comment was wrong as it is an art form, and one that I certainly like.

Have a good week!

[My thanks to Veg Plotting, Pianolearner, Elaine, Lucy and Jo for their posts which enabled me to do last Friday’s Sofa flying post Books, books and…]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Allotment Art

  1. Joanne says:

    I’ve seen some lovely prints of allotments in the past, I think I would prefer allotment prints than someone’s garden you know. The allotment ones seem a little more ramshackle.

  2. Chloris says:

    Thanks for the mention, Flighty. I love allotment art and I love looking at allotments. They can be a bit ramshackle but I love the fact that they are so often quirky and eccentric. I’m always fascinated to see what people are growing.
    I think both Chris Cyprus and Tessa Newcomb paint great allotment pictures. They are well worth checking out. Tessa’s book The Adorable Plot is wonderful.

  3. CJ says:

    I love allotment art, I’ve googled it several times just to browse the lovely paintings that are out there. It makes me wish I could paint!

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Like Chloris, I enjoy seeing allotments, too. At the local university, students have a tiny plot (typically 15×15 or smaller) — some decorate it with wooden signs and bird baths, some lay it out for intensive gardening, some grow mainly flowers, others choose vegetables. There’s always the odd abandoned plot and a few overrun ones, too!

  5. Polythene Pam says:

    and there are some amazing NT Kitchen gardens quite as lovely as the formal borders and deerparks. x

  6. Jo says:

    There’s some great allotment art. I think the fact that every allotment is different and that many plot owners put their own stamp on their own little piece of the site, it gives an artist so much material to go at.

  7. snowbird says:

    I agree with Joanne, I love the more rustic look of an allotment….there is always a spade with a robin on for starters….xxx

  8. I checked out the Allotment art and thought they were wonderful. It’s amazing how something so simple as keeping an allotment can make a big hit in the art world. It remind me of Lowry’s paintings very down to earth.

  9. Glo says:

    Such an interesting post and links ~ it’s always fascinating to see allotments and gardens and the creativity that sprouts!

  10. wellywoman says:

    I love allotment art. I think they’re such a unique part of our heritage, and hopefully future, that they should be captured more in art forms. I know some plots and some sites look scruffy but I think more and more people want to make an effort to make their plots look pretty too. Stanley Spencer created a few paintings on plots in the village of Cookham in Berkshire. We used to live there and I have a postcard of a particular scene which I love. A lovely post. x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ good for you. I agree with what you say in your comment, and feel that a degree of scruffiness is an inherent part of allotments. Thanks. xx

  11. Liz says:

    You posted that cartoon of a lawn lounger in his deck chair in the middle of his patch a while back. Allotment art is fun and varied.

Leave a Reply

