February 2014 ends well…

as although much of the month saw unsettled weather, with plenty of rain and wind,  it has remained relatively mild, and this week has seen two sunny mornings.

The tidied up strawberry bedOn Monday I tidied up the strawberry bed, where as you can see there are twelve plants well spaced so that I can walk and work between them. I must try to make sure that they don’t get swamped by the pot marigolds like they did last year.

Yesterday I hoed over the areas where I’ll be sowing broad beans and planting onion sets and the first early potatoes during mid/late March.

I’m pleased to see the crocuses ‘Blue Pearl’ and ‘Cream Beauty’ in the long planter,

Crocuses 'Blue Pearl' and 'Cream Beauty'with plenty of bees on them.  Elsewhere are purple, white and yellow ones –

Bee on a crocus   Purple crocus   White crocus    Yellow crocus

Tiny beetles and ladybirds on the logpileI was also pleased to see some ladybirds and tiny iridescent beetles sunning themselves on the log pile.

One of the first, and a very small, narcissusBy yesterday the first, very small, narcissus had flowered, with lots more to come over the coming weeks.

There are plenty of other signs that spring is almost here.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to February 2014 ends well…

  1. lovely post and thank you for sharing

  2. It’s wonderful to see nature waking up after all the rain we have though it all seems to be coming at once. Thank you for sharing your allotment with us.

  3. CJ says:

    Gosh, it seems like only a moment ago you planted the crocuses. They’re looking beautiful, and how lovely to have bees on them. I think crocuses are so important for early bees, when there aren’t many blooms around.

  4. menhir1 says:

    Spring is sprung without a doubt! XX

  5. Jo says:

    This post is full of things I haven’t yet seen in my own garden this spring, crocuses, narcissus, ladybirds and bees. Your trough is looking fab, I like the Cream Beauty and Blue Pearl planted together. I’ve grown Cream Beauty before but not Blue Pearl, I shall look out for them next year as they’re lovely.

  6. elaine says:

    Yes the signs of spring are growing day by day – I love the blue pearl crocus – such a delicate colour. And ladybirds already – goodness.

  7. Carrie says:

    What a lovely, sunny and bright post…lots of new life and possibility! I love this time of year xxx

  8. Mark Willis says:

    Yep, all the bulbs have come out now – despite the weather! My Broad Beans are in now, so I can honestly say that things have started happening.

  9. Joanne says:

    Its an exciting time of year isn’t it! I’ve seen a couple of bees & ladybirds & my bulbs are through nicely now.

  10. Zo says:

    The crocuses are looking lovely! I think the purple ones are definitely my favourite.

  11. snowbird says:

    Your crocus are really lovely and how wonderful to have seen bees. I haven’t seen a bee yet but have seen ladybirds and a red admiral. Spring is here now….marvelous!xxx

  12. Don’t we revel in those little signs of Spring 🙂 I have seen a few sluggish ladybirds around so am hoping it’s a good sign !

  13. Glo says:

    What a bright and cheerful array of crocuses. Great that you have been able to do some maintenance gardening in preparation for Spring…

  14. Doris says:

    It is so wonderful to see those lovely Crocuses!

  15. nikkipolani says:

    Perhaps all those clouds of yours have finally made their way to us 🙂 And good timing, as your spring blooms look cheery indeed. I have some volunteer pot marigolds here and there, too. We’ll see how they do this year.

  16. Chloris says:

    Great to have some sunny weather at last and to be able to get on outside. Your lovely crocuses are obviously enjoying the sun.

  17. wellywoman says:

    Hi Flighty. I’m impressed with your strawberry bed. I spotted the weeds have started to appear on the allotment but I haven’t had a chance to get up there yet and do any work. I’m hoping the ground is a little drier now, although we have had more rain. Your crocuses look glorious in the sunshine. Have a lovely weekend. x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ hello. Thanks, so am I! The weeds never seem to stop do they. I hope that you find your plot has got drier. I’m glad to have seen them in the sun. Thanks, and you too. xx

  18. My blue crocus never grew which was a disappointment.

  19. Susie Dixon says:

    Your crocus look wonderful. I am a novice gardener, I get so much inspiration from you.
    I am growing potatoes for the first time this year. Which ones do you recommend?
    Have a good weekend and thank you.
    Love Susie in Cheshire

    • Flighty says:

      Susie don’t they just. That’s nice to know.
      Good for you. My favourite potato is the popular salad variety Charlotte, with the excellent all rounder Kestrel a close second. Both grow to a good size and store well.
      You too, and you’re welcome. xx

      • Susie Dixon says:

        Thankyou for your help.
        Had a lovely day in garden pottering and tidying up.
        Susie x

        • Flighty says:

          Susie you’re welcome. I’m always happy to give advice and help if I can.
          Lucky you I was otherwise occupied yesterday, and it’s been raining here overnight so it’s to wet to do any plotting today. xx

  20. Caro says:

    No ladybirds seen here yet although I did find a caterpillar on Thursday! All bulbs are up here as well, plenty of weeds too, so my next job will be to weed and cover the soil until needed. Meanwhile, indoor sowing … Lovely to have a couple of bright days outdoors after recent gales! Have a good week!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro it’s always good to see insects at this time of year. The bulbs are welcome, but not the weeds. I must sort out what I’m going to sow indoors. It is indeed, let’s hope we have plenty more days like it. thanks, and you too. xx

Leave a Reply

