I’ve been given…

Liebster award, discover new blogs!a Liebster award over on Linda’s wildlife garden. My thanks to Linda for this, and as usual it’s taken me a couple of weeks to do a post about it. I’m also cheating a bit as I always do with these posts.

Here are her questions and my answers –

1…What new seed are you trying that you’ve never tried before?   I try a new annual flower seed most years but something a bit different this year will be Common Cress!  I’ll be doing a post about this once I’ve hopefully grown and eaten some in an egg and cress sandwich. 

2…What new food or drink would you try?  I’d like to try something like chayote.

3…If could take only one book with you to a remote island what would it be?  A good dictionary which I would read from A to Z and also pick a random word every day.

Snow leopard4…What’s your favourite animal and why?  The magnificent snow leopard as I’ve always liked cats of all sizes.

5…What’s your favourite TV or radio programme? One of my all time favourite TV series was the comedy Porridge.

6…If you could have just one fruit tree in the garden what would it be?  A peach tree as there’s nothing nicer than a freshly picked, slightly warm and juicy peach.

7…If you could have a famous garden helper for a day who would it be?  It would have to have been Geoff Hamilton for his down-to-earth outlook and sheer enthusiasm.

Pot marigold 18-138…If you could save one seed what would it be and why?  It’s really impossible to pick just one so I’ll have to choose a pot marigold like this simply because it’s a Flighty’s favourite!

9…Who would like to have stay for the weekend and why?  It would have to be  David Attenborough  simply because of who he is and what he’s done during his lifetime.

10…What would you cook for a dinner date?  It would be during the summer when all I’d need cook is some sweetcorn cobs and new potatoes to go with a salad including cucumber, lettuce and tomatoes all straight from the plot. And for dessert freshly picked raspberries and cream. 

I’m not nominating anyone to give this award to but if you want to do a post answering the above questions then please do, and feel free to say that I gave you the award.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to I’ve been given…

  1. Joanne says:

    I was replying to my comments when your new post popped up in my side bar. I hurried through as I was rather intrigued. Congrats & what a lovely set of questions to be asked.

  2. Great answers to great questions, Flighty. It is hard to pick one thing of many. Books, flowers and animals, too many choices, but you have chosen well. I have a wonderful book called Sanders’ Encyclopaedia which I would take to the island with me. The book dated from the 1950, but what I like about it is that it tells you when the plants were first introduced into this country i.e. Bellium (false daisy) Ord. Compositae. hardy annuals & perennials. first introduced 1772. Though there isn’t any pictures in the book of what the plants look like I would just enjoy sitting and studying it while trying to imagine what they are like as I waited to be rescued.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula thanks. It is indeed. That’s nice to know. That sounds like the kind of book that I would like to read as I’ve got a 1948 edition of the The New Illustrated Gardening Encyclopaedia which I enjoy looking at. xx

  3. Awesome post and reply’s have a blessed Sunday

  4. Jo says:

    Congratulations on the award, well deserved. Cress is one of those things that we all must have grown as children, but doesn’t really get a look in now. I’m sure I’ve got some seeds somewhere that were given free with a gardening magazine, I’ll have to look them out. I’m quite partial to an egg and cress sandwich.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks. It was Glo (Porcelain Rose) who asked me about cress recently so I got us both some seeds. I used to like egg and cress sandwiches, and hope that I still do. xx

  5. I’d find it hard to answer most of these – and now I’m torn – would I choose an apple or a walnut tree? Maybe I could find a hybrid that woukd produce both? Some hope!

  6. CJ says:

    Posts like this are always so interesting. Yay for David Attenborough and raspberries and cream. Hard to pick a gardener, but I’m a huge fan of Alys Fowler. A peach tree would be lovely, or maybe a mulberry. Decisions, decisions.

  7. snowbird says:

    Congrats on your award Flighty, some wonderful answers there, especially the snow leopard.xxx

  8. elaine says:

    Nice to find out a little more about you – Geoff Hamilton would be my choice too.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Ooh, what a fun post 🙂 Chayote is a great vegetable to try — maybe you’ll get to someday. I like your choice of the desert island book. Lots of room for scope!

  10. I’m with you on peaches Flighty, and your dinner sounds perfect.

  11. I think it would have to be a walnut tree, but I still need to perfect the art of getting the crop. We have one and I seem to alternate between taking the nuts green and getting my hands stained black in getting the nuts out of the shells and leaving the nuts a bit longer only to find the squirrels have beaten me to it!

    • Flighty says:

      Elizabeth hello, and welcome. If I had a garden I’d certainly grow a walnut tree, and like you I’m sure that I’d also have problems with squirrels. xx

  12. Liz says:

    Congrats on the award!
    The egg and cress sandwiches take me back many years! They were good. (I also came across watercress in the supermarket last week and was tempted to buy a bunch, and it would probably have made a good salad, but I wanted a sandwich and didn’t have any Marmite.)
    We put two Carpathian walnuts in the garden here, over 30 years ago. One was destroyed in an ice storm in 2003. There are always nuts, but the squirrels get every last one.
    All that fresh produce makes me think, “summer, come quickly!”

    • Flighty says:

      Thanks. I never did get round to growing any cress but will this year. Takes me back as well. I don’t like Marmite!
      That’s a shame about the squirrels. I like walnuts but if I ever grew one I’d have the same problem.
      Let’s have a Spring first as it’s a lovely season! xx

      • Liz says:

        You don’t like Marmite?!
        Quite correct. Let’s not rush through the seasons. I’ll be grumbling about the hot weather come July, so will slow down!

        • Flighty says:

          Liz no, and I never have!
          We’re gardeners so we’re always grumbling about the weather as it’s nearly always ‘too cold, hot, dry, wet or windy’! xx

Leave a Reply

