O and P (part 1of 2)…

continues the Plot A to Z series of posts and features just onions and potatoes.

I grow both every year and generally do well with them.  I buy my onion sets and seed potatoes early in the new year at the horticultural society trading shed, which sells them loose so they can be bought by quantity or weight.

Onion sets 'Red Baron'This year there were the usual onion sets Sturon which I always buy and growalong with the red variety Red Baron which I’ve not grown before so I’m trying a few for the first time. 

Onions 'Sturon'I like my onions to be no bigger than tennis ball size like these two Sturon, which are among the few that I’ve still got in store to use.

I grew plenty as I use them with cheese in sandwiches, fried with sausages and mash and to make onion soup.

Seed potatoes 'Vales Emerald'I eat potatoes most days so grow four varieties which keep me going from August until at least March. The past couple of years I’ve grown the same ones and will be doing so again this year.  They’re first earlies Vales Emerald, second earlies Charlotte and Kestrel, and main crop Desiree.  At the moment they’re in the spare room chitting and, soil conditions and weather permitting, I hope to plant them out between late March and mid April.  

Potatoes 'Charlotte'Of these Charlottes are my favourites and I’m just about to use the last of them, leaving me with about a month’s worth of Desiree still in store.  I mostly boil and mash my potatoes as it’s quick and easy, but I do also enjoy them baked, chipped and roasted.

I rotate growing both these vegetables through three areas year to year as recommended, which I’m sure helps to avoid problems.

I’ll be doing O and P (part 2 of 2) in a couple of weeks, which will mention parsnips, poppies and other things.

Edited to include this terrific O and P award with thanks to Glo (Porcelain Rose) –

O and P award

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to O and P (part 1of 2)…

  1. Chloris says:

    I love Char!otte potatoes, they are great for potato salad too. I have grown red onions because I love them. They did not do as well as Sturon though. I’ll be interested to hear how you get on with them.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris good for you, they are indeed. I’ve seen various comments that red onions don’t do as well as the white varieties so it’ll be interesting to see how I do with them. xx

  2. Lovely post and first time for me growing any potato or onions I have in the past tried supermarket ones that have rooted roots but this is my first of growing any seed ones

  3. I’ve just brought my onion sets too. I’m trying ‘Stuttgarter’. On Saturday we going to buy my compost to grow my potatoes, as I grow my in large containers. I shall post my pictures up on my blog once I get started in my garden.

  4. snowbird says:

    Wow, how good to still have your own onions and potatoes. I have the Red Baron this year and have decided to grow them in the herb garden as they never do much in the veggie patch, but now the large tree is down things may be different as there is so much more light. I love picking potatoes, it’s just so rewarding isn’t it…xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I normally still have plenty of onions and using the last potatoes at this time of year but this time it’s the other way round. It’ll be interesting to see how we do with these red onions. Picking as in firkling or furtling is great fun! xx

  5. Joanne says:

    I have some Charlotte potatoes too, I’ve also got some Winston potatoes too this year, they are meant to be good for some early bakers.

  6. There’s a lot of love and life in this short post.

  7. CJ says:

    I’ve got potatoes chitting on the windowsill and onion sets in the garage waiting to be planted. I just meant to try just a few potatoes this year, but somehow there seem to be quite a lot there. It’s odd how often that kind of thing happens.

  8. Carrie says:

    Oh dear me – an intolerance to onion and a general dislike of spuds, but I still liked your post xxx
    Poppies and parsnips now you’re talking my language! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE 🙂

  9. Jo says:

    It’s great that your onions and potatoes are still lasting. I’m trying Red Baron again this year. I’ve never had any luck with red onions but I keep trying. I shall be collecting the potatoes I ordered from the allotment shed on Saturday.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’ve normally just about run out of potatoes by now but still have plenty of onions. I’m not sure why it’s the reverse this time. Fingers crossed that we both do well with the red onions this year, especially yourself in view of past failures. xx

  10. I grew Red Baron a couple of years ago and was very pleased with them. I only have room to give one bed over to onions though so this year I’m growing either white onions or shallots as they seem to be more expensive than the others in the shops. I’m off to the London Potato Days at the RHS show in Westminster tomorrow and will be hoping for Pink Fir and Arran Victory to chit. Well done for keeping your spuds going for so long – mine are all long gone!

  11. elaine says:

    I will only be growing shallots this year (due to lack of space) and two varieties of potato which will be grown in buckets (due to lack of space).

  12. Sharon says:

    Great post. Those varieties are all new to me except for the desiree potatoes, Mine didnt do too well this year a combination, of getting flooded soon after planting – blight! and second crop the weather has been too hot! better luck next year!

    • Flighty says:

      Sharon thanks. Charlotte is a favourite salad potato here. I sympathise, and know what it’s like as the year before last here I did poorly. Fingers crossed for next year. xx

  13. I had to use a different tree as could not get the image url to work from Lucy’s blog

  14. nikkipolani says:

    I enjoyed learning about your potato process, Flighty. Cheese and onion sandwich – mmmm good!

  15. I do love a good potato, in fact we had home made chips (shop bought Maris Pipers) this evening! You’ll be amused to know that I have succumbed to temptation this year and have ordered some First Earlies – a French variety called ‘Cherie’. I may have to grow them in pots! Beautiful looking onions. One of my favourite veg, so versatile. I am having a go at shallots from seed again this year, but no signs of germination yet, I may have left it too late. We’ll see! Looking forward to the poppies.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet me too. I’ve seen French varieties mentioned a couple of times recently but not this particular one.
      Thanks, I like onions but I’m not fussed about shallots so don’t grow them. Me too. xx

  16. Glo says:

    I’m still gallivanting up and down the island in between snow storms, so just to let you know that I have read this o-p post, part 1! Kind of funny that you like an onion to be no larger than the size of a tennis ball ~ maybe you have something in common with Spud the dog 😉 Hey, Spud is a potato, too!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I don’t mind gallivanting but would be happier doing it without the snowstorms. It’s just that I find that’s the ideal size to use, but of course lots of them are bigger or smaller. Perhaps I do have something in common with Spud… xx

  17. Glo says:

    Congratulations on your award, Flighty!

  18. Have tried for years to grow red onions. Most specifically Red Baron and electric. Not had much luck at all, tend to be no bigger than slightly overweight spring onions.

  19. Liz says:

    Interesting to read about the different varieties of onions and potatoes you grow. I am unfamiliar with the names. I have yet to eat a red onion that is not very strong and sometimes bitter, so want to hear how yours turn out.
    Glo’s warning to not store onions and potatoes close to each other is a lesson I have learned to my cost!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz the Sturon white onions are one of the popular varieties here. I only grew a few red onions and didn’t find them much different to the white ones. The potatoes I mention are all popular varieties.
      I tend to store everything separately so have been okay. I also check them all regularly. xx

Leave a Reply

