One way and another…

there have been few reasons to be optimistic of late, thanks mainly to the often appalling weather, however I have been thankful that I’ve been able to smile now and again.

Poppy 'Victoria Cross'It’s always good to receive seeds from fellow bloggers and in the past week Linda kindly sent me a packet of  Poppy Victoria Cross, and Caro some nasturtiums including the variety Empress of India.

It’s good to see that Lucy over on Loose and Leafy is doing the Tree following again this year. I’m going to follow the majestic willow that stands just outside the allotments, as seen here this morning.

The willow, February 2014

I see that Elaine, over at Ramblings from Rosebank, and Janet/Plantaliscious are taking part.

TeddyI spotted this little brown Teddy laying face down in a roadside puddle whilst I was out and about during the week. Since there was nowhere to leave him I bought him home where, after a much needed wash and dry, he’s looking happier.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

And yesterday’s Sofa flying blog post was eReading February 2014.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to One way and another…

  1. elaine says:

    Good to hear you have been having a little smile this week, heaven knows there hasn’t been much to smile about. I can’t decide which tree to follow yet I may go for a walk later (now that the sun has decided to re-appear, hooray) and see what catches my eye. Love the teddy – it must have been his lucky day to find you.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I’ve really thankful as there really hasn’t been much to smile about has there. I look forward to seeing the tree that you choose. I think it must have been. xx

  2. Lovely post Mike and thanks for sharing. Have a good weekend yourself.

  3. That’s a good idea – tree following. I shall go and have a look for one, not sure my eucalyptus will be much good although it’s been great in the recent gales. Bendy as anything!
    Poor little teddy bear. Hope someone little isn’t missing it too much. 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Sophie hello. It is and has been going for a few years now. I look forward to seeing what tree you choose.
      He’s okay now. That was my thought as well. xx

  4. Joanne says:

    Tree following sounds fun, I shall take a further look I have a tree in mind. I will look a total prat for taking a photo of it but never mind. Good luck with your seeds.

  5. A very majestic tree. You are so good to adopt the little teddy, he is lucky.

  6. snowbird says:

    How wonderful to receive the seeds. I love the tree you have chosen and what a sweet little bear! xxx

  7. CJ says:

    What a nice bear, bless you for rescuing him. A lovely tree, it’s quiet splendid. Hope you’re staying warm and dry. CJ xx

  8. Doris says:

    I love your Teddy rescue! Bravo! 🙂

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Cute bear! Snowbird rescues hedgehogs and you rescue teddy bears. Well done 🙂

  10. Wow, love the ted. He will enjoy his new home, and we will enjoy reading Ted’s Tales. Will he travel with you to your allotment in the future? 🙂

  11. Lovely tree choice Flighty, and a lovely selection of seeds to look forward to. And boy do we need things to look forward to at the moment! Thanks for the link, now I just have to pick which tree to follow… Am off to investigate nasturtiums, thanks for your recommendation, I don’t want to be without them but I do want to be able to see the flowers! Lovely job on the teddy rescue, enjoy the company!!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet thanks. We sure do, I’m sitting here again looking out the window at another cold, wet and windy day. You’re welcome, I look forward to seeing your tree. Good luck with the nasturtiums. Thanks again, I will. xx

  12. Jo says:

    I like the look of those nasturtiums, the dark leaves compliment the colour beautifully, I’ll look forward to seeing them once they’re flowering. The willow is such a majestic tree, I’ve enjoyed seeing it on your blog in the past so it will be nice to follow it through the year. I’m always a little sad when I see a lost teddy, I know Eleanor was dreadfully upset when she was little when a much loved toy was lost so it always makes me wonder if there’s a fretting child somewhere. At least Teddy is out of the puddle now and no longer bedraggled.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo me too, and they’re a variety I’ve not grown before. I’ll have to take some closer pictures of it during the year.
      I know just how you feel about the teddy. I think that he’d been there a few days at least and it’s not somewhere where people park or walk much. xx

  13. Mark Willis says:

    Mike, if you want to try to re-unite the bear with its owner, there is a Twitter page for this – https://twitter.com/lostteddybear
    and a Facebook page –
    https://www.facebook.com/TeddyBearLostAndFound

    • Flighty says:

      Mark many thanks for these. I knew there was the Twitter one, but I couldn’t find it. I’ll put the details on both over the weekend. It would be nice if he was reunited with his owner. Cheers.

  14. Chloris says:

    The great thing about willows is that the buds plump up and start to show green quite early in the year, so you will soon see things starting to happen.
    I love that poppy.

  15. menhir1 says:

    What a lovely new friend you have. The tree is magnificent. Let’s hope it retains is water, there should be enough around for it at the present time.

    I heard that Watford has had its waterlogged moments. Where you are, should be less prone to the vagaries of the tidal River Thames I would have thought, and truly hope. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir he sure is. It is indeed. The ground around it on the allotment side is always damp, which is probably why it’s grown so well.
      Parts of the Watford area do suffer waterlogging, but hereabouts there’s generally no problem thankfully. xx

  16. Thank you for both the seeds and the link, Flighty! Enjoy your nasturtiums, Empress is a lovely variety with beautiful true red flowers – I’ll look forward to seeing your spread of flowers in the summer! Thanks also for highlighting Lucy’s tree following – It’s a lovely idea and one that I’m going to join in on.

    • Flighty says:

      Caro apologies I’ve only just noticed that I never replied to this comment.
      As you’ll have seen the nasturtiums did well last year. You’re welcome, tree following is such a good idea. xx

  17. Liz says:

    The teddy bear looks darling, cleaned up and settled in.
    What a lovely willow tree, and convenient to follow.

Leave a Reply

