I am completely nutty.

As I mentioned last Sunday I’ve just read Of Rhubarb and Roses – The Telegraph Book of the Garden edited by Tim Richardson.

Of Rhubarb and Roses edited by Tim RichardsonThis 450 page, slightly smaller than A4 size book is an anthology of gardening articles that have appeared in that newspaper over past years. They cover a fascinating range of subjects as diverse as How to dig by Fred Whitsey from 1981, through Topiary masterclass by Roy Strong which is undated to Secrets of the magic mollusc by Germaine Greer in 2012.

Unfortunately the articles are not listed and the two content pages only show the 18 sections that they’ve been divided into, which isn’t very helpful when looking for a specific article.

One other minor criticism is that the back outer dust cover shows a black and white photo of two young children carrying large celery stems but there is no caption giving any details about this delightful picture.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book which I’m sure I will take off the shelf fairly often to reread some the articles.  It is, as the dust cover blurb says, the perfect book for an afternoon’s reading in a deckchair as the shadows lengthen across a newly mown lawn.

At £25 it may seem slightly expensive, especially as it has no drawings or pictures, but it’s a book that I would certainly have considered buying for myself had I not won a copy.

As to the title of this post they’re the last few words from the article Get cracking by Ursula Buchan in 2003 – then I will be proud to say that I am completely nutty.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to I am completely nutty.

  1. Jo says:

    I haven’t heard of this book before, but it sounds like something I’d enjoy. I like a book which I can dip in and out of when I have a spare half an hour. The price does seem rather steep though, well done on winning a copy.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo that’s what I’ve been doing, and it’s taken me over two months to read it. Agreed but I have seen it on sale for under £20, which is more reasonable. xx

  2. Joanne says:

    It looks a lovely book for a sunny afternoon in the garden, I’m sure if I peruse long enough I could find it at a cheaper price. I agree it is a bit steep, however it would make a lovely Mothers day gift if I put a word in.

  3. Why not put your points to the publishers and see if you can find out more about the picture of the children.

  4. CJ says:

    It sounds lovely. I like shorter articles to read sometimes, and it’s also nice to maybe discover a writer whose work I enjoy.

  5. Chloris says:

    An interesting review. This sounds like the sort of book I like to read. But it is expensive, probably cheaper on Amazon though.

  6. snowbird says:

    It does sound an interesting read, I’m glad you enjoyed it.xxx

  7. menhir1 says:

    What a shame the book doesn’t contain a few more like it. I’m sure your rhubarb would not be nutty. xx

  8. VP says:

    Looks perfect for lawn lounging Flighty 🙂

    NB it’s a lot cheaper on Wordery (£16.23 including postage). This is a relatively new British online bookshop company which pays its taxes if you’re avoiding Amazon for that reason.

  9. annie_h says:

    I’ve not seen that book before but its sounds just like the sort of book I’d like, I will keep an eye out for it, though maybe if it gets a bit cheaper! Thanks for the review, Lucky you winning it.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie I’m sure that it would appeal to most gardeners. Have a look at the other comments re buying it cheaper. You’re welcome. I certainly was. xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    If nothing else, it makes for a terrific blog title 😉 At 450 pages, I can see why not having articles listed makes it rather challenging!

  11. Glo says:

    I found the article you are referring to by Ursula Buchan here
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/gardening/gardenprojects/3316224/Get-cracking.html
    and enjoyed reading it, and now understand why she would be completely nutty. 😉

  12. wellywoman says:

    Sounds like it could be a great book for holiday reading. x

Leave a Reply

